Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Longwood University Logo
Greenwood Library, Celebrate Curiosity logo with link to homepage

Greenwood Library: Spaces & Rooms

Greenwood Library Website, 2022
Under Construction! This page is undergoing changes, we appreciate your patience.

PDF

Assistive Technology

For patrons who might need access to assistive software, the Library has provided ZoomText and Kurzweil 3000 on all library computers in the Learning Commons and Computer Lab 201. If you need assistance, please see The Desk, or the Accesibility Resources Office at 434-395-2391.

 

Room Equipment

Map

The Atrium

A study space with flexible furniture and a limited number of floor outlets.  It also contains a self-check machine, the recreational reading collection, and the new book shelves

Atrium Features

The Learning Commons

The Learning Commons contains:

  • Desktop computers (both PC and Mac)
  • The Printing station, LancerCa$h machine, and recycling
  • Charging stations (with MicroUSB, USB C, Apple Lightning, and other cords available), 
  • Book scanner (patrons save their scans to a flash drive)
  • Vera Scan (large scanner for maps, posters, etc) 
  • A variety of furniture including individual study desks (with power), comfortable seating, or large group tables (with power)
  • Reference, Newspapers and Magazines collections
  • Mobile study tools including whiteboards and Mediascapes (screens with HDMI connections) 

Learning Commons Features

Group Study Rooms- 142, 152, 153, 155

Each room has a flat screen monitor with Crestron Air Media (for wireless screen sharing via laptop, tablet and phone). Available on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Library Instruction Rooms- 147, 148, 149

The classrooms are used primarily for Library Instruction.  They are equipped with large flat screen monitors and whiteboard tables.  

Group Study Area

Equipped with large tables and power sources, the Group Study Area contains the call numbers HD100- Z (Library of Congress classification system) in the main print collection.  Though the area does not have a noise restriction, please respect other students and groups.   

Quiet Study Area

Equipped with individual carrels and power sources, the Quiet Study Area contains call numbers A-HD99 (Library of Congress classification system) in the main print collection.  The Quiet Study Area is designated for students who would like a quiet study experience. 

Classroom- 209 A, 209 B

The classroom is often reserved for classes, library instruction, and club meetings.  When not in use, students are welcome to use the technology and space. The classroom is available for reservation via 25Live.

Humanities Reading Room/Graduate Student Gathering Space- 210

Located in the Group Study Area, the space is reservable by graduate students.  Contact Cindy Elliott to reserve the room.  When not reserved, it is available on a first-come, first-serve basis for all students.  Crestron Air Media screen available for use either wirelessly or through HDMI cable (provided).

Study Rooms

Study Rooms are available on the back walls of the Group Study Area and the Quiet Study Area.  Each room is equipped with a table, a single chair, and a mounted whiteboard.  Room 213-221 on the Group Study Area are available for reservation, online or by scanning the QR code outside each room.  All other study rooms are available on first-come, first serve basis.

Children's Literature Room

The Children's Literature room contains the juvenile fiction and nonfiction collections, reading aids, big books, and the K-12 textbook repository.  There is group study area with whiteboard tables with portable power requiring a battery that can be checked out at the Desk.  

Computer Lab- 201

The computer lab, located in the Children’s Literature Room, has 10 desktop computers (all PC) stations.  This room is reserved for student, staff, & faculty use and requires a LancerCard for entrance.