To view all policies at once, please click Expand All. If you wish to close all sections, please click Close All.
Greenwood Library is open to Longwood students, faculty, and staff as well as to visitors. A current Lancer Card is required to enter the library after 9:00 pm. Children under the age of 14 must be accompanied by a responsible adult.
The library is committed to maintaining a quiet and safe environment conducive to research, collaboration, and study. To meet this end, all library users are expected to conduct themselves in a responsible manner in accordance with all applicable Longwood University policies and local, state, and federal law.
Users are responsible for abiding by all polices set forth in this guide. This includes returning or renewing all materials borrowed with their library card by their due date and time. Users are prohibited by library policy to lend their library card to others. Lost or stolen cards should be reported immediately. Users are responsible for notifying the library of any change in name, address, phone number, and/or status from non-student to student.
Desk personnel will assist as time and staff permits. If you are doing research, we highly recommend setting up an appointment with a librarian so we can best help you. The Office of Accessibility Resources assists any student who requests and qualifies for support.
All users agree to abide by applicable University and Library policies, including the University Code of Ethics and the Acceptable Use of Information Technology Resources and Systems.
| Patron Type | WiFi | Library Commons Computer Lab |
|---|---|---|
| Longwood students, faculty & staff |
|
|
| Visitors |
|
|
Greenwood Library supports free and open access to all forms of information and does not attempt to filter or censor the use of any of these resources. In support of our users’ First Amendment right to freely seek and examine a broad range of opinions and ideas, the Library adheres to the following American Library Association (ALA) statements on access to information:
All users of University computing resources must comply with all federal, Virginia, and other applicable law; all generally applicable University rules and policies; and all applicable contracts and licenses. Examples of such laws, rules, policies, contracts, and licenses include the laws of libel, privacy, copyright, trademark, obscenity, and child pornography; the Electronic Communications Privacy Act and the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act, which prohibit “hacking,” “cracking,” and similar activities; the University’s policy for Acceptable Use of Information Technology Resources and Systems, the University’s judicial Code of Conduct standards; the University’s Sexual Misconduct Policy and racial discrimination policies; the University’s personnel policies; and all applicable software licenses. Users who engage in communications with persons in other states or countries or on other systems or networks should be aware that they may also be subject to the laws of those other states and countries and the rules and policies of other systems and networks. Users are responsible for ascertaining, understanding and complying with the laws, rules, policies, contracts and licenses applicable to their particular uses.
Violators of this policy are subject to disciplinary action as prescribed in the University honor code, the student handbook and employee handbooks, in addition to possible cancelation of information technology resources and systems access privileges. Violations will be handled through the University disciplinary procedures applicable to the relevant user. Policy violations by University employees, including faculty, will be handled in accordance with the Longwood University personnel policies and rules for classified employees, the Faculty Handbook and other applicable administrative policies and procedures. The University may also refer suspected violations of applicable law to appropriate law enforcement agencies. Users of information technology systems and resources at Longwood University are subject to all applicable university, local, state and federal statutes. It should be understood that this policy does not preclude prosecution of criminal and civil cases under the laws and regulations of the Town of Farmville, the Commonwealth of Virginia and the United States of America.
Greenwood Library at Longwood University serves as a resource for materials not usually available in local school libraries.
Greenwood Library welcomes tours and class visits from local schools. A teacher or library media specialist must accompany and remain with the group. Tours and class visits are available by appointment and will consist of a general introduction to Library facilities and services.
To make an appointment for a tour or class visit, please contact Cindy Elliott, by e-mail at elliottcb@longwood.edu or by phone at (434) 395-2440. Please include your name, telephone number, and when your group would like to visit the Library. You will be contacted by e-mail within three business days. If there are any questions, please call (434) 395-2440.
Tours or class visits should be scheduled at least two weeks in advance.
During the tour or class visit, computers may be used in accordance with the Library’s Visitor Policy for Library Workstations.
Library materials may be used while in the Library. We do not issue Library cards during or in advance for tours or class visits. Visitors with established accounts may check out items using their Greenwood Library card in accordance with the Library’s policies for visitors.
Longwood University students, faculty and staff use their Lancer Card as a library card.
Visitor library cards can be issued to all Virginia residents, including alumni. To obtain a visitor library card, you must present a valid Virginia’s Driver’s license. Users under the age of 18 must provide a signature and identification of a parent or guardian.
Longwood undergraduates and Longwood graduate students may check out books for 90 days.
Faculty and staff, including retired Longwood faculty and staff, may check out books for 365 days.
To keep a book for another borrowing period, you can renew most items online by accessing your Library account or via Chat. You can also request renewals in person at The Desk or via phone (434) 395-2433.
Remember:
You can “Request” a book currently checked out by another user. Requests merely secure the book for you when it is returned by the current user. You can request a book:
Please keep in mind that other users may also have a request on the same book. Requests for books will be accommodated based on the date of the request, with priority given to the earliest request date.
Materials may be returned at The Desk. The Library also has a book drop for after-hours returns. However, please return any audiovisual, equipment, fragile, or loose-leaf items to the desk, to prevent damage.
You are responsible for returning or renewing all materials borrowed with your library card by the due date.
When materials becomes overdue, borrowing priviledges will be blocked until it is returned.
Lost or damaged materials and lost ID or library cards should be reported as soon as possible to the Desk.
A bill for replacement cost and processing fee is sent immediately upon the Library learning the material is lost. Damaged material is evaluated to determine if the material can be repaired or if it needs to be replaced.
Library notices are sent via your Longwood e-mail account using the schedule below:
| Item | Courtesy Notice | First Overdue | Second Overdue | Third Overdue | Billing Notice |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Books | 48 hours before due date | 24 hours overdue | 72 hours overdue | 7 days overdue | 30 days overdue |
| Equipment (laptops, cameras, etc.) | 48 hours before due date | 24 hours overdue | 72 hours overdue | N/A | 7 days overdue |
| DVDs | 48 hours before due date | 24 hours overdue | 72 hours overdue | N/A | 5 days overdue |
| Course Reserves | N/A | 24 hours overdue | 72 hours overdue | N/A | 7 days overdue |
Replacement Fees can be paid in the Library with Lancer Cash or with cash or check in the Cashiering Office located in Lancaster, Room 201. Replacement Fees are based upon the current market price of the material and will be billed with a $25.00 processing fee assessed. The processing fee covers the cost of ordering, receiving, and preparing the material for the shelf. Individuals who wish to purchase replacement material should contact the Head of Collections & Information Services by email, hinestm@longwood.edu, to request instructions. Replacement fees will be waived if pre-approved replacement material is provided. Accounts delinquent over 30 days may be placed with the Virginia Department of Taxation and/or a collection agency for debt collection. Listing with the Virginia Department of Taxation may result in the seizure of funds from a tax refund, any refund from another state agency, and/or a lottery claim. Unpaid fees will result in registration or transcript blocks for students as well as suspension of borrowing privileges. Faculty and staff borrowing privileges will be suspended for users who have long-overdue items. To find out if you have any fees, you can request a list of your fees in person at the Desk, via chat or via phone 434.395.2433. You may also view your fees online through your Library account; however, there are some limitations to this feature of the service.
Users have the right to appeal Library fees. Users have 30 days within which to initiate an appeal and are advised to come forward as soon as possible so that information regarding the appeal will be readily available. Past 30 days, fees will be sent for collection and cannot be appealed.
Appeal decisions are based on a clear and concise statement provided by the user, in addition to the user’s Library record, previous appeals made by the user, the total amount due on the account, and any other information relevant to the appeal.
All reasonable concerns related to Library fees will be considered; however, the following are NOT considered valid reasons on which an appeal can be based:
Most fee appeals can be resolved by consulting with a Desk staff member. If a user disagrees with the outcome of this consultation, the individual may complete and submit the form below to the Information Services Manager. If no resolution is attained, the next level of appeal is the Head of Collections & Information Services. The user should arrange for an appointment to meet with the Head of Collections & Information Services to explain the reason for the appeal. The decision made between the user and the Library is final and binding.
Library holds on student accounts will remain while the appeal is being reviewed. Holds will prevent students from registering, receiving grades, and acquiring transcripts. You will be notified of the outcome of your appeal within 7-10 working days via e-mail.
Longwood University’s Greenwood Library welcomes visitors! Greenwood Library extends borrowing and computer privileges to visitors. A current Lancer Card is required to enter the library after 9 p.m.
These policies apply to all Virginia residents who are not currently enrolled or employed at Longwood University. Alumni and family members of Longwood faculty, staff or students are considered visitors.
Visitor library cards can be issued to all Virginia residents, including alumni. To obtain a visitor library card, you must present a valid Virginia’s Driver’s license. Visitors under the age of 18 must provide a signature and identification of a parent or guardian.
Visitor Borrowing Privileges
Visitor borrowing privileges are issued for one year. Privileges may be renewed.
Visitors are responsible for:
The Barbara Rose Jones Farmville-Prince Edward Community Library can assist with interlibrary loan requests.
Visitors may obtain login information at the Desk to use the computers. Wifi is available for visitors via the LancerNet Visitor wireless network.
When individuals come to Greenwood Library or use Longwood's LancerNet Visitor wifi, they have access to our databases/e-resources.
For access research databases from home, Virginia residents can register for an online account with the Library of Virginia: https://www.lva.virginia.gov/about/policies/register_va.htm. This allows users to access not only the Library’s catalog, but many digital resources, including things like JSTOR, NexisUni, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. If alumni move out of Virginia, most state libraries have similar offerings for all state residents.
Some database access is available through the Central Virginia Regional Library in Farmville, and the same goes for most public libraries. Residents of Prince Edward County and surrounding counties can get a library card there.
To print, visitors may purchase a “Guest Card” for $1 at the Add Value Station in the Library. Funds will need to be added to this card for printing. Black and white printing costs $.09 cents per page and color printing costs $1.00 per page.
Visitors may scan documents or other items. Scanning is free but visitors must use their own USB drives, cloud storage, or email accounts to save scanned images.
The primary focus in the development and maintenance of the collections is to support learning, teaching and research at Longwood University. It also takes into account the mission and goals of the University while being responsive to the changing needs of a dynamic institution.
The Library’s collections consist of over 236000 volumes, nearly 3000 print and online serials, and 50,000 audiovisual items, including DVDs, CDs, and streaming videos. The Library has acquired a number of online materials, including some 180,000 electronic book titles. The Library has access to almost 400 databases (more than half of which are provided by VIVA, the state supported consortium of higher education institutions in Virginia). In addition, the Library can obtain resources not available in its collections from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
The Janet D. Greenwood Library adheres to the American Library Association's Bill of Rights,Freedom to Read Statement, the Intellection Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries, American Film and Video Association's Freedom to View Statement and the Society of American Archives Code of Ethics for Archivisits
Library funds are used for current and retrospective purchases to build a balanced collection that supports the academic mission of the University. Given the size of the University and the finite resources allocated to the library, it is impossible to provide all the materials that may be necessary or desirable. Therefore, in selecting materials, the following priorities apply (in descending order):
Generally, the following considerations are made for all materials selected for inclusion in the Library collections:
The following considerations are made for materials selected for inclusion in Archives and Special Collections:
In addition, the Library
Collection management refers to the systematic evaluation of the resources contained in both the print collection and in non-print formats. Ongoing review of library materials is necessary as a means of ensuring that the collection meets the current needs and interests of users. No more than one copy of each item is retained, unless a subject specialist in that area indicates a need for multiple copies.
Materials withdrawn from the library collection are processed by:
Liaison Librarians are responsible for developing and evaluating collections in assigned subject areas. Faculty are strongly encouraged to share in the selection of materials by recommending materials in their subject area. Although they may concentrate on those areas of the collection which corresponds to their liaison assignments, librarians may select or withdraw in all areas since they are able to observe the overall quality and balance in the collection and are regularly faced with patron needs. The Dean of the Library has final authority on the selection, development, and maintenance of the collections.
This policy will be reviewed every five years.
In supporting teaching, learning, and research, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) supports the missions of both Greenwood Library and Longwood University. Greenwood Library provides ILL services for Longwood University faculty (current and retired), staff, and currently enrolled students who are in good standing with the Library, to enable them to request materials not available in the Library collections.
Greenwood Library adheres to the guidelines of the American Library Association’s Interlibrary Loan Code for the United States (2015) and to the guidelines for international lending. Greenwood Library complies with all provisions of the U.S. Copyright Law.
The following applies to on-campus, online and distance education students and faculty, as well as to current Longwood University employees. See Interlibrary Loan for information about how to place a request.
In supporting teaching, learning, and research, Document Delivery supports the missions of both Greenwood Library and Longwood University. Greenwood Library provides Document Delivery services through the Library’s Interlibrary Loan Office (ILL) for Longwood University faculty, staff and currently enrolled students who are in good standing with the Library, to enable them to request delivery of Greenwood Library materials as well as needed resources not owned by the Library.
Students and Faculty may request delivery of materials owned by Greenwood Library through ILLiad, the online interlibrary loan system.
For mutual educational benefit, the Libraries of Hampden-Sydney and Longwood will make books and other media available to students, faculty, and staff at the other campus on a basis comparable to that accorded to its own students, faculty, and staff.
This special provision will be reviewed, altered when necessary, and affirmed annually on July 1.
December 6, 2001
Hampden-Sydney College and Longwood University
Current students, faculty and staff of Longwood University may borrow multimedia equipment from Greenwood Library.
You are responsible for returning all items borrowed with your Longwood ID card by their due date. When an item becomes overdue, borrowing privileges will be blocked until the item is returned. After 7 days, unreturned equipment will be considered stolen or lost. Charges for full replacement value will be imposed. Campus Police will be notified and an investigation may be initiated.
Lost equipment and lost ID cards should be reported as soon as possible to a staff member at the appropriate service desk. As soon as the Library determines that an item is lost, the user will be sent a bill for the cost of replacement. Damaged items are evaluated to determine if the item can be repaired or a new one must be ordered. The user is billed for a damaged item at a fee determined by a librarian.
The Library will not be responsible for damage done to users’ external storage media or non-Library multimedia/computer equipment used with Library equipment.
Attempts to damage and/or alter University equipment or software is a violation of University policy. Violators of this policy are subject to disciplinary action as prescribed in the University honor code, the student handbook and employee handbooks, in addition to possible cancelation of information technology resources and systems access privileges.
A faculty member may place original, Library-owned materials or personal copies of course-related material on reserve for as long as necessary. Photocopied materials must, however, adhere to the copyright guidelines outlined below based on The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17 U. S. Code):
At the request of a faculty member, the Library may place on reserve photocopies of copyrighted works in accordance with guidelines similar to those for multiple copies for classroom use. The Library believes that these guidelines apply to the Library reserve collection to the extent that it functions as an extension of classroom readings or reflects an individual student’s right to photocopy for his/her personal scholastic use under the doctrine of fair use.
The following is an attempt to briefly outline what is allowed and disallowed under the Fair Use Guidelines as they pertain to reserve materials. The guidelines that follow should serve as a guide and should not be viewed as a comprehensive interpretation of the law.
(a) Copyright protection subsists, in accordance with this title, in original works of authorship fixed in any tangible medium of expression, now known or later developed, from which they can be perceived, reproduced, or otherwise communicated, either directly or with the aid of a machine or device. Works of authorship include the following categories:
(b) In no case does copyright protection for an original work of authorship extend to any idea, procedure, process, system, method of operation, concept, principle, or discovery, regardless of the form in which it is described, explained, illustrated, or embodied in such work.
(Pub. L. 94-553, title I, Sec. 101, Oct. 19, 1976, 90 Stat. 2544; Pub. L. 101-650, title VII, Sec. 703, Dec. 1, 1990, 104 Stat. 5133.)
Notwithstanding the provisions of sections § 106 and § 106A, the fair use of a copyrighted work, including such use by reproduction in copies or phonorecords or by any other means specified by that section, for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching (including multiple copies for classroom use), scholarship, or research, is not an infringement of copyright. In determining whether the use made of a work in any particular case is a fair use the factors to be considered shall include:
(Pub. L. 94-553, title I, Sec. 101, Oct. 19, 1976, 90 Stat. 2546; Pub. L. 101-650, title VI, Sec. 607, Dec. 1, 199 0, 104 Stat. 5132; Pub. L. 102-492, Oct. 24, 1992, 106 Stat. 3145.)
Requests for placing photocopied material on reserve should meet the following guidelines:
Brevity
Prose: A complete article, story or essay of less than 2,500 words, or an excerpt from any prose work of not more than 1,000 words or 10% of the work, whichever is less, but in any event a minimum of 500 words.
Poetry: A complete poem if less than 250 words and if printed on not more than two pages, or an excerpt from a longer poem of not more than 250 words.
Illustration: One chart, graph, diagram, drawing, cartoon or picture per book or per periodical issue.
Spontaneity
The copying is at the instance and inspiration of the individual teacher, and The inspiration and decision to use the work and the moment of its use for maximum teaching effectiveness are so close in time that it would be unreasonable to expect a timely reply to a request for permission.
Cumulative Effect
The copying of the material is for only one course in the school in which the copies are made.
Not more than one short poem, article, story, essay, or two excerpts may be copied from the same author, nor more than three from the same collective work or periodical volume during one class.
There shall not be more than nine instances of such multiple copying for one course during one class term.
Additional Criteria
Copying shall not be repeated with respect to the same item by the same teacher from term to term.
Copying shall not be used to create or to substitute for anthologies, compilations or collective works. Such replacement or substitution may occur whether copies of various works or excerpts there from are accumulated or reproduced and used separately.
There shall be no copying of or from works intended to be consumable in the course of study or of teaching. These include workbooks, exercises, standardized tests and test booklets and answer sheets and like consumable material.
Copying shall not substitute for the purchase of books, publishers’ reprints or periodicals.
Electronic databases provided by the Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA) or for which the Greenwood Library pays access fees to vendors are restricted to our primary users. The databases have various licensing constraints; most are explicitly restricted to our primary users. The following policy informs all users of Greenwood Library electronic resources of your responsibilities, procedures and protections in place to ensure adherence to university policies and contracts.
Primary users are all current Longwood University faculty, students and staff, and all walk-in users of the Library.
Other users are all other users of the Library including community users with Greenwood Library cards, those with a Virginia driver’s license or other official Virginia identification, faculty or students of other Virginia or out-of-state institutions of higher education, and Longwood University alumni.
Electronic databases provided through VIVA or for which the Greenwood Library pays a fee to vendors are restricted to our primary users. The databases have various licensing constraints; some are explicitly restricted to our primary users. Access by primary users is governed by Longwood University Administrative Policies and Procedures (see Policy 6002 Acceptable Use of Information Technology Resources and Systems and Policy 6003 Access to Information Technology Resources and Systems). See also the Library’s Internet Usage Policy.
All off-campus access to restricted databases requires authentication on Longwood’s proxy server with a valid Longwood University ID and password. For more information about accessing the Library databases from off campus, see Remote Access. Access is not permitted to other users accessing the Library electronically from off-campus.
Most database licensing contracts prohibit reproducing and/or distributing downloaded data for commercial gain or for anything that is not in accordance with the Copyright Law of the United States. Some also have specific restrictions regarding use of their electronic data in electronic reserves, in coursepacks or in course management software such as Blackboard.
Greenwood Library is grateful for offers of gifts of materials for its collections. The Library welcomes donated books and manuscripts that enhance its collections in support of the University’s teaching and research needs. The Library may decline offers of gifts if they unnecessarily duplicate existing holdings, if the subject matter is outside the scope of its collections, or if there are donor restrictions the Library cannot honor.
Donors should contact the Library to discuss possible gifts of books, journals, or other materials before sending them. If a gift collection is accepted, the Library may sell those items not appropriate for the collection and which cannot be referred to other libraries. Library staff are not permitted to appraise gifts, but the University of Virginia keeps a list of a number of appraisers who can be consulted.
For questions relating to general gift policy matters, contact Tammy Hines, Head of Collections & Information Services.
Partially through the generosity of gifts, both monetary and physical, the Greenwood Library is able to add depth to the academic resources available to our community. Financial contributions to the Friends of the Library, which help support the Library’s services, facilities and collections, can be made through the Longwood University Foundation; please specify “Greenwood Library” under “Designation.”
The following guidelines are offered to assist donors interested in giving gifts-in-kind, such as books, manuscripts, and other research materials. Based upon these criteria, the Library retains the right to accept or decline all potential gifts.
Due to the high cost of managing the gift process, the Library’s goal in accepting gifts is to acquire only materials which are highly relevant to the University's needs. All potential gifts will be evaluated by librarians in accordance with the collection development policy of the Library. Potential gift items will meet one or more of the following criteria:
With the exception of some special collections and archival materials, all gifts added to the collection will be cataloged and listed in the online public catalog.
Since all gift materials that are added to the general collection are shelved in the appropriate subject classification, the Library cannot maintain separate named collections, unless by prior agreement by authority of the Dean of the Library. Items may be returned to the donor only in special circumstances and if arranged in advance.
Some items may be deemed unacceptable to add to our collection because of condition, content or format; items not added may be sold through the Friends of the Library periodic book sales or discarded in accordance with our Collection Development policy. Proceeds from book sales are used to support future library activities or acquisitions for the Library’s research collections.
The Dean of the Library ensures adherence to Longwood University's policy on accepting gifts-in-kind. Donors may be asked to provide a title list and description of any gift before it can be considered. In the absence of such documentation, the Library may require on-site evaluation of the collection by library staff before a determination to accept can be made. These individuals will evaluate potential gifts for appropriateness to the collections. When a gift is accepted, the donor and the Library representative will sign a Deed of Gift; both parties will keep copies for their records.
Gifts delivered without prior arrangement or contact with the Library may not be accepted or acknowledged.
For gifts valued at or over $500, donors will be directed to the Longwood University Foundation Gift Review Committee to ensure all proper IRS forms are filed and that the University is able to accept the gift. The donor should seek independent appraisal to determine the value of the gift(s). For gifts valued at over $5000, the appraisal is required, dated no more than 60 days from the date of transfer. IRS law prohibits librarians and staff from appraising materials or the University paying for or arranging for appraisals. Pertinent information is available in IRS Publication No. 561 "Determining the Value of Donated Property." Because tax laws change frequently, donors are advised to seek professional tax or estate counsel prior to making a gift. If possible, a copy of the appraisal should also be submitted to the Library.