LibGuides: Social Justice Heritage Monthly Guide: Native American/First Nation Heritage Month (November)

Web Resources

Native American Heritage Month
This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
National Congress of American Indians
The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.
Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
Virtual Library on American Indians
Native American Tribes of Virginia
Information on the Native American tribes of Virginia, with maps, reservation addresses, classroom activities and recommended history books.
Virginia Heritage
Database of finding aids to manuscript and archival collections, provides information about historical materials that document Virginia History and culture from 1607 to the present.
Virginia Indians
From the Virginia is for Lovers website; contains information on the 11 recognized tribes in the state.
U. S. Census Bureau American Indian and Alaska Native Data and Links
Census Information on American Indians

Selected Library Databases

America: History & Life (EBSCO) (1964-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full-text available, some linked full-text available. Mostly indexes journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
American History in Video (1492-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 7,000 streaming video and searchable transcripts of documentaries from Biography, The History Channel, A&E, PBS, Bullfrog Films and more, as well as United News and Universal newsreels.
Encyclopedia Virginia This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Virginia (EV) is an authoritative and user-friendly resource on the history and culture of Virginia. EV publishes topical and biographical entries written by scholars, edited to be accessible to a general audience, and vigorously fact checked. Entries are accompanied by primary documents and media objects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a searchable database for the backfiles of hundreds of full text journals across a wide variety of disciplines. (Backfiles start in the 1800s and end 3-5 years prior to current date.)
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia (1700-1950) This link opens in a new window
Contains diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers about Appalachia.
(This collection is found in Gale's Archives Unbound database.)
Archival Resources of the Virginias This link opens in a new window
Archival Resources of the Virginias (formerly Virginia Heritage) is a consolidated database of finding aids that provide information about the vast array of manuscripts and archival materials housed in Virginia and West Virginia
Virginia Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to over 70 Virginia newspapers from as early as 1750. Date ranges for each title vary.

Selected DVDs and Streaming Video

We Shall Remain: America Through Native Eyes
Call Number: E77 .W47 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Up Heartbreak Hill
Call Number: Streaming through Films on Demand
Publication Date: 2012
Navajo Code Talkers
Call Number: streaming through American History in Video
Publication Date: 1998