LibGuides: Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Start Here

Below are some of our most useful resources for this topic. You will find a complete list of resources useful in Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies on our Databases & Resources A-Z list.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Women's Studies International (1972-present)
Provides citations (and some full-text) for journals, newspapers, books, and other feminist scholarship in areas such as sociology, history, political science, public policy, international relations, art, business and education.

Carrie Chapman Catt Collection
The Library of Congress has digitized their collection of papers from suffragist and political strategist Carrie Chapman Catt. The collection contains approximately 9,500 items, from 1890-1920,

Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (1543-1945)
The Gerritsen curators gathered more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. In the late 1800's, Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. By the time their successors finished their work in 1945,
The Gerritsen curators gathered publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.

The broad scope of the collection allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.
Witchcraft in Europe and America (1500-1930)
Includes classic texts, anti-persecution writings, legal and church documents, transcripts of trials and exorcisms and other documents, primarily in English, Latin or German.
(This collection is found in Gale's Archives Unbound database.)

Films on Demand (Coverage varies)
Provides streaming videos from the Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational and many others and includes a comprehensive coverage of major fields of knowledge.
Polling the Nations (1986-present)
Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.
Statista
Statista is a statistics portal that provides data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources. The content is purely aggregated statistics, and it is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current awareness, not historical statistics. Easy to use infographics and tables are created on a regular basis, and all graphics are available for download as images to insert into presentations.