JoVE creates videos of scientific experiments from the top laboratories around the globe. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
JoVE also publishes the leading peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity. The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and gold standard protocols in the physical and life sciences.
MLA International Bibliography Full Text contains: 2.8 million detailed bibliographic citations documenting the scholarly record from the early 20th century forward; Access to the MLA Thesaurus and the Directory of Periodicals; along with 1,000 full text journals. Critical scholarship is comprised on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Additional content includes learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, and audio books.
(This represents an expansion of the Safari Technical Books.)
Provides test preparation materials and practice exams for many tests, including NCLEX-RN, PRAXIS, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, and GMAT. Student-created accounts provide immediate scoring, answer explanations and results analysis.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our case coverage extends into the 20th century because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.
The Library of Virginia houses local court records, state records, personal papers, business records, newspapers, special collections, books, journals, etc., that date back to the 1600's. Collectively, these records contain the names of millions of African Americans both enslaved and free. These names are access points to the individual stories of African Americans who lived in Virginia from the establishment of slavery in the 1600s until its demise in 1865. Taken as a whole, these individual stories help to shed light on the narrative of a people that has not been fully told.
The Wall Street Journal is a global news organization that provides leading news, information, commentary and analysis. Building on its heritage as the preeminent source of global business and financial news, the Journal includes coverage of U.S. & world news, politics, arts, culture, lifestyle, sports and health. The Wall Street Journal offers insight into career development, college rankings, politics, technology and the arts, fueling the ambition of its readers with thought-provoking content.
Breaking news and analysis on politics, business, world national news, and entertainment. In-depth DC, Virginia, Maryland news coverage including traffic, weather, crime, education, restaurant reviews and more.
Database Icon Legend
Abstract / Index Only - databases with this icon may not have full-text access; you can search other databases by clicking the button. If you cannot access full-text, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Only Available On-Campus - databases with this icon are only available using the Library computers.