LibGuides: Social Justice Heritage Monthly Guide: LGBT History Month (October 2019)

2019 Icons

Retrieved from: https://lgbthistorymonth.com/

Selected LGBT Books

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004
ISBN: 0684312611
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Finding Out by Jonathan F. Alexander; Deborah T. Meem; Michelle A. Gibson
Call Number: HQ 76.25 .M45 2010
ISBN: 9781412938648
Publication Date: 2009-01-28

Selected Resources for the 2019 Icons

Kate Bornstein

Gender Outlaw by Kate Bornstein
Call Number: HQ77.9 .B67 1994

Lillian Faderman

To Believe in Women by Lillian Faderman
Call Number: HQ75.6.U5 F35 1999

Lillian Wald

The House on Henry Street by Lillian D. Wald
Call Number: HV4196.N6 H5

Web Resources

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete (1887-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
Humanities International Complete (1925-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains all data from Humanities International Index as well as full text journals, books and other published sources from around the world related to literature, history, philosophy, the fine arts and more.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection (Coverage varies by journal) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from of nearly 200 journal titles in the humanities and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (1930-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to more than 530 full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Includes PDF backfiles for many key journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
In addition, it also provides data mined from nearly 420 "priority" coverage journals and over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and others.
Women's Studies International (1972-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations (and some full-text) for journals, newspapers, books, and other feminist scholarship in areas such as sociology, history, political science, public policy, international relations, art, business and education.