LibGuides: Social Justice Heritage Monthly Guide: National Disability Employment Awareness Month (October)

Health, Psychology, & Sociology Databases

Academic Search Complete (1887-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
Consumer Health Complete (Coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains patient-oriented reports, fact sheets, images and video on all areas of health and wellness, including complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
ERIC (1966-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full text and some abstracts of education-related literature in some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (Coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text consumer health magazines, pamphlets, reference books, and generic drug patient education sheets.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in many medical fields, especially nursing and allied health, as well as generic drug patient education sheets.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
In addition, it also provides data mined from nearly 420 "priority" coverage journals and over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and others.

Law, Government, & Political Science Databases

Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public- presented by the Library of Congress (LOC).
Uses data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service. Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.
Legal Collection (Coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of scholarly law journals covering topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, labor and human resource law, the environment and much more.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of global political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Designed specifically for students, researchers and government institutions, Political Science Complete covers top-ranked scholarly journals, some of which are unique to this database.

Searching in the Library

Try using these keywords in the library's databases and catalog:

disability AND jobs

disability AND employment

disability awareness

For 2019's theme,THE RIGHT TALENT, RIGHT NOW, try these keywords:

disability AND talent

disability AND "economic success"

Selected Books at Greenwood Library

Perspectives on Disability, Discrimination, Accommodations, and Law by Wayne Thomas Oakes
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005
The Disability Rights Movement by Doris Z. Fleischer; Freida Zames
Call Number: HV1553 .F58 2001
Publication Date: 2000

Social Justice Heritage Monthly Guide: National Disability Employment Awareness Month (October)

National Disability Employment Awareness Month (NDEAM)

Health, Psychology, & Sociology Databases

Law, Government, & Political Science Databases

Searching in the Library

Selected Books at Greenwood Library

Web Resources