Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where do I start my research?
Recommended Nursing Databases
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
On the main search page, scroll through the Search Options. You can select "Peer Reviewed," "Evidence- Based Practice," or scroll through the Publication Type menu to choose between "Case Study," "Clinical Trial," and more!
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
On the main search page, scroll through the Search Options. You can select "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" and more.
Medline (1966-present) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers, as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
Recommended Nursing Journals
New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is the world’s leading medical journal and website. Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, and the global medical community.
Advances in Nursing Science
Consistently ranked as one of the most-read and most assigned journals by faculties of doctoral programs in nursing, Advances in Nursing Science (ANS) is the most stimulating publication in nursing science and education today. ANS is intellectually challenging, yet readable; innovative, yet scientifically sound; reliable research without the tedious, traditional hard science approach found in so many other journals. Each issue features a single timely research topic with exciting implications for patient care. Articles in ANS are peer-reviewed and chosen for their pioneering approaches and perspectives, which set the direction for nursing practice today.
Professional Nursing Organizations
Subjects: Business & Economics
, Cyber Security and Forensics
, Education, Special Education, and Liberal Studies
, Health, Athletic Training, Recreation & Kinesiology (HARK)
, Mathematics and Computer Science
, Reference and Research