LibGuides: Healthcare Information: Find Healthcare Information

Healthcare Departments & Associations

Affordable Care Act
The Affordable Care Act (also known as ACA or Obamacare) is legislation passed in 2010 that changed how Americans enroll in and receive healthcare coverage.
AHRQ
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality invests in research and evidence to make health care safer and improve quality.
APHA: Health Reform Resources
American Public Health Association provides a wealth of information, fact sheets, resources about health reform.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S.
HCUPnet-Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
A free, online query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) through the AHRQ.
National Center for Environmental Health
CDC's National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH) plans, directs, and coordinates a national program to maintain and improve the health of the American people by promoting a healthy environment and by preventing premature death and avoidable illness and disability caused by non-infectious, non-occupational environmental and related factors.
National Institute of Health
A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
It is the mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. That mission is fulfilled by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services.

Library Databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) includes indexing for 3,000 journals, with full text for more than 550 journals. Coverage is from 1981 to the present, and subject coverage is nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in many medical fields, especially nursing and allied health, as well as generic drug patient education sheets.
Consumer Health Complete (Coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains patient-oriented reports, fact sheets, images and video on all areas of health and wellness, including complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Medline (1966-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Web of Science (1992-present) This link opens in a new window
The Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, with all cited references captured.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal that provides data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources. The content is purely aggregated statistics, and it is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current awareness, not historical statistics. Easy to use infographics and tables are created on a regular basis, and all graphics are available for download as images to insert into presentations.

Selected Healthcare Journals

Use the Journal Search button on the library's homepage to search for more Healthcare journals.

Your Librarian

Natalie Browning

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Greenwood Library, Office 131

434-395-2447

Subjects: Business & Economics, Communication Studies, Health, Recreation & Kinesiology (HRK), Library Tips and Tools, Newspapers, Nursing, Psychology, Reference and Research

Related Guides

Health, Recreation, and Kinesiology
by Natalie Browning Last Updated Oct 29, 2024 50 views this year
Nursing
by Natalie Browning Last Updated Jan 5, 2023 78 views this year