Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where do I start my research?
Recommended HARK Databases
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Sports Medicine and Education Index (Full archive) (1970-present) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, bulletins and book reviews on a wide range of physical education topics, including kinesiology, coaching, dance, physical therapy, recreation, sports, and training.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) includes indexing for 3,000 journals, with full text for more than 550 journals. Coverage is from 1981 to the present, and subject coverage is nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Wiley Online Library (Coverage varies by journal) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of over 1,600 journals and 21,000 e-books published by Wiley on a variety of science, social science, business and humanities topics.
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers, as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
Alt HealthWatch (1990-present) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles, pamphlets and reports on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Medline (1966-present) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is the world’s leading medical journal and website. Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, and the global medical community.
Subjects: Business & Economics
, Cyber Security and Forensics
, Education, Special Education, and Liberal Studies
, Health, Athletic Training, Recreation & Kinesiology (HARK)
, Mathematics and Computer Science
, Reference and Research