LibGuides: Music: Conducting Research

Databases for Research

Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.

Topical Guides to Grove Music
Each of these guides contains lists of editorially selected Grove Music Online articles associated with a particular time period or genre. They are an excellent way to familiarize yourself with the key composers, performers, styles, and geographical centers of music in each of these areas of Western Art Music history.

Naxos Music Library (Current) This link opens in a new window

Naxos Resources
Check out the Dictionary for encyclopedia-style entries on a variety of musical terms and topics. Explore different eras of musical production through the guided tours. Study up on forms and general music topics in the study guides.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of full text journals. Introductions and conclusions may have relevant background information.

Finding Books in the Library

The main area for music books is on the second floor, group study side of Greenwood Library. Below you'll find some areas of interest, including scores, history, biography, and musical study.

M Music

M5-1480 Instrumental Music
M1495-2199 Vocal Music
- M1497-1998 Secular vocal music
- M1999-2199 Sacred vocal music

ML Literature on music

ML159-3785 History and criticism
- ML385-429 Biography
ML3800-3923 Philosophical and societal aspects of music. Physics and acoustics of music. Physiological aspects of music

MT Instruction and study

MT40-67 Composition. Elements and techniques of music
MT85 Conducting. Score reading and playing
MT90-146 Analysis and appreciation of musical works
MT170-810 Instrumental techniques
MT820-915 Singing and vocal technique

Evaluating Resources

Evaluate for Relevancy

How current is the information? Can you find a date that shows when the information was published or updated?
Does it give information that is relevant to your needs? Does it give you information that will help you better understand the composer, their work, and the musical background of their time period and genre/form?

Evaluate for Credibility

Who wrote the information? What are their credentials? Is an author listed?
Who published the information? What other information can you find on the website?
Does the information have citations or references? How thorough is the research?
What bias does the information have?

Questions? Ask Me!

Sarah Reynolds

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Greenwood Library - 130

434-395-2437

Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Graphic and Animation Design, Chemistry, Criminal Justice, Mathematics and Computer Science, Music, Physics, Reference and Research, Religion and Spirituality, Sociology, Theatre

Databases for Streaming

Naxos Music Library (Current) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 75,000 digital recordings of classical music, opera, jazz and folk music, plus full-text music notes, composer biographies and other educational content. Maximum 10 users.
Kanopy Streaming Media Collection This link opens in a new window
Great place to find videos about music, like Great Courses overviews on The Great Works of Sacred Music, Music as a Mirror of History, Great Music of the 20th Century, Music and the Brain, and more.
Films on Demand (Coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Another streaming video site where you can find documentaries exploring music appreciation, like "Discover Dvorak's 'New World,'" and music history, like "Great Performances: Now Hear This."