LibGuides: Music: Find Articles

Research Journals

Music Education Research
Publishes research on all areas of music education, including research issues from the viewpoint of philosophy, sociology, psychology and comparative studies.
Journal of Research in Music Education
A quarterly, peer-reviewed journal comprising reports of original research related to music teaching and learning. The wide range of topics includes various aspects of music pedagogy, history, and philosophy, and addresses vocal, instrumental, and general music at all levels, from early childhood through adult.
Music Perception: An Interdisciplinary Journal
Publishes theory driven, basic and applied science, empirical reports, theoretical papers, and reviews. The journal’s scope concerns the perception and cognition of music in composing, improvising, playing, performing, recalling, recognizing, teaching, learning and responding to music through single or multiple modalities.
Journal of New Music Research
Publishes systematic, scientific and technological research on music, musical processes and musical behaviors, including popular, cultural and canon music.
Music Therapy Perspectives
Seeks to promote the development of music therapy clinical practice through the dissemination of scholarly work. Focusing on clinical benefits of music therapy, the journal strives to serve as a resource and forum for music therapists, music therapy students and educators, and those in related professions.

Journal of Band Research
The premiere scholarly publication in the world devoted to band music, band history, and band methodology.
Horn Call: Journal of the International Horn Society
Includes membership news, workshop reports, feature articles, a variety of clinics, biographical sketches, music and recording reviews, and advertisements for horn-related products and services.
Pan: The Journal of the British Flute Society
An entertaining and authoritative guide to all aspects of the flute and flute playing - from the latest news, events and music & book reviews, to articles by the world's most knowledgeable writers on the flute’s history, music & players.
ITA Journal
Includes scholarly articles, trombone news, job announcements, and literature and record reviews.
Piano Magazine: Clavier Companion
The only publication devoted exclusively to piano teaching, learning and performing. The leading source for the highest quality, curated articles on piano education at all levels.
Strad
An indispensable guide for string players, teachers and instrument makers alike, featuring expert advice and practical guidance each month from celebrated luthiers working with traditional techniques and the latest technological advances.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a searchable database for the backfiles of hundreds of full text journals across a wide variety of disciplines. (Backfiles start in the 1800s and end 3-5 years prior to current date.)
Project MUSE - Standard Collection (Coverage varies by journal) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from of nearly 200 journal titles in the humanities and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Academic Search Complete (1887-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.