It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English Language & Literature: Start Here
Help for your research in English language and literature.
Contains full text articles, critical essays and author biographies from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Gale literary criticism series. Also includes Scribner Writer Series, Twayne's Author Series, the Literature Resource Center, and Gale Literary Index.
Abstracts all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Also covers various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography Full Text contains: 2.8 million detailed bibliographic citations documenting the scholarly record from the early 20th century forward; Access to the MLA Thesaurus and the Directory of Periodicals; along with 1,000 full text journals. Critical scholarship is comprised on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
The Complete Prose of T.S. Eliot contains in one place the collected, uncollected, and unpublished prose of one of the most prolific writers of the twentieth century. This digital collection is part of Project Muse, by Johns Hopkins University Press. Currently contains two volumes compiling Eliot's prose work from 1905-1918, and 1919-1926, respectively.
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection is now complete and contains 30 filmed performances.
Use The Shakespeare Collection to access and study an extensive collection of authoritative materials supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies. Resources include facsimile copies of the First Folio, key Quartos, and major editions and adaptations from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, as well as other works published during Shakespeare's time, prompt books, the Gordon Crosse Theatrical Diaries, criticism, reviews, images, and contextual reference works
The Shakespeare Collection contextualizes the legacy of this great poet and playwright, containing a selection of over 200 prompt books (annotated working texts of stage managers and company prompters) from the 17th to 20th centuries, the extensive diaries of Shakespeare enthusiast Gordon Crosse documenting 500 UK performances from 1890 to 1953, the First Folio and Quartos, editions and adaptations of Shakespeare’s works from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, more than 80 works Shakespeare is thought to have been familiar with, as well as works composed by Shakespeare's contemporaries.
Provides annotations to books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.