LibGuides: English Language & Literature: ENGL 350

Recommended Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (1973-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Also covers various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography (1926-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography Full Text contains: 2.8 million detailed bibliographic citations documenting the scholarly record from the early 20th century forward; Access to the MLA Thesaurus and the Directory of Periodicals; along with 1,000 full text journals. Critical scholarship is comprised on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
Tutorial Video What Is the MLA International Bibliography?
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Provides over 200 full-text journals in communications studies, mass media and communication disorders, as well as indexing of major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias and communications studies handbooks.
Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
ERIC (1966-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full text and some abstracts of education-related literature in some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection (Coverage varies by journal) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from of nearly 200 journal titles in the humanities and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a searchable database for the backfiles of hundreds of full text journals across a wide variety of disciplines. (Backfiles start in the 1800s and end 3-5 years prior to current date.)

Other Useful Resources

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The definitive record of the English language, a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Contains the entire text of the 22-volume Oxford English Dictionary, second edition, with quarterly updates of new and revised words. This is a historical dictionary, which includes word history and etymology with citations to first known usage and historical usage.

Linguistics Society of America

Browse the Shelves

You may always go to the second level of the library and browse the non-fiction collection. You may find useful information using the following Library of Congress Classifications:

P101-410 Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar

P118-118.75 Language acquisition

P121-149 Science of language (Linguistics)

P201-299 Comparative grammar

P301-301.5 Style. Composition. Rhetoric

P302-302.87 Discourse analysis

P306-310 Translating and interpreting

P321-324.5 Etymology

P325-325.5 Semantics

P326-326.5 Lexicology

P327-327.5 Lexicography

P375-381 Linguistic geography

English Language & Literature: ENGL 350

Catalog Description

Recommended Databases

Other Useful Resources

Browse the Shelves