LibGuides: Music Education: Find Articles

Selected Journals and Magazines

American Music Teacher
Provides articles, reviews and regular columns that inform, educate and challenge music teachers and foster excellence in the music teaching profession.
Journal of General Music Education (Formerly General Music Today)
A peer-reviewed online journal that publishes articles that describe successful practices, share teaching strategies and/or materials, suggest new ideas, or analyze issues of concern to professionals exploring the influence and impact of general music education across the lifespan.
International Journal of Community Music
Publishes research articles, practical discussions, timely reviews, readers' notes and special issues concerning all aspects of Community Music.
Journal of Music Teacher Education (Full Text to 2016; Indexed to present)
A peer-reviewed online-only professional development journal published twice a year, offers philosophical, historical, descriptive, or methodological articles related to music teacher education. Some issues offer media reviews and "Perspectives," essays that discuss opinions and viewpoints.
Journal of Research in Music Education
A quarterly, peer-reviewed journal comprising reports of original research related to music teaching and learning. The wide range of topics includes various aspects of music pedagogy, history, and philosophy, and addresses vocal, instrumental, and general music at all levels, from early childhood through adult.
Music Educators Journal
Published quarterly, Music Educators Journal offers peer-reviewed scholarly and practical articles on music teaching approaches and philosophies, instructional techniques, current trends and issues in music education in schools and communities and the latest in products and services.
Update: Applications of Research in Music Education (Full text to 2016; Indexed to present)
A peer-reviewed online-only journal brings research in music teaching and learning close to everyday practice to help teachers apply research in their music classrooms and rehearsal halls. The journal presents reviews of the literature and findings of individual studies without research terminology or jargon.

Database Searching

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a searchable database for the backfiles of hundreds of full text journals across a wide variety of disciplines. (Backfiles start in the 1800s and end 3-5 years prior to current date.)
Education Research Complete (1880-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, conference papers and books for all levels of education in curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection (Coverage varies by journal) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from of nearly 200 journal titles in the humanities and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online) This link opens in a new window
The gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Maximum 8 users
Authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.

Keyword Searching

Try a variety of synonyms and related terms to find the most results:

Music

Choir OR Choral

Voice OR Vocal

Band OR Instrumental OR Orchestral

Song OR Singing

Teacher OR Education OR School OR Instruction

Keep your search as simple as you can. Think about what you want to find and pick out a couple of key words or short phrases. Play around with your terms, don't stop just because your first search didn't find anything.

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of an article you may see a button which will search other library databases for the article. If it is still not available, you can request it for free via Interlibrary Loan. Got questions about the process? Just ask!