LibGuides: Criminal Justice Studies: CRIM 455

Searching for Case Law

Law Library of Congress
The Oyez Project
Oyez (pronounced OH-yay)—a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs
This research guide from the Law Library of Congress provides guidance on how to how to find briefs, oral argument transcripts, and docket information for cases considered by the Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS).
Virginia Court Opinions
Supreme Court of Virginia and Court of Appeals of Virginia Opinions
Search opinions from the Supreme Court of Virginia (6/9/95 – present) and the Court of Appeals of Virginia (published opinions from 5/2/95 – present, and unpublished opinions from 3/5/02 – present)

Legal Collection (Coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of scholarly law journals covering topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, labor and human resource law, the environment and much more.

Bluebook Citation for Legal Materials
The Bluebook style guide is used in the American legal profession for citation of all relevant sources. In APA Style, most legal materials are cited in this standard style.
Georgetown Law Library's Bluebook Guide
The purpose of this guide is to introduce The Bluebook and basic concepts of legal citation to new law students.

Congress.gov
A mobile-friendly, faceted search for U.S. legislative information.
Constitution Annotated
The Constitution Annotated provides a comprehensive overview of how the Constitution has been interpreted over time.

Executive Orders
SCOTUSblog (Supreme Court of the United States)
Provides updates on all aspects of the Supreme Court including daily activities, decisions, upcoming events, major cases, oral arguments, and archives of merit cases.
Supreme Court Decision Collection
A service of the Legal Information Institute (LII) of The Cornell University Law School
Supreme Court of the United States
View Supreme Court documents, recent decisions, and information about the Supreme Court.
United States Code
A consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.