For patrons who might need access to assistive software, the Library has provided ZoomText and Kurzweil 3000 on all library computers in the Learning Commons and Computer Lab 201. If you need assistance, please see The Desk, or the Accesibility Resources Office at 434-395-2391.
In Rooms 142, 151, 152,153, and 210, there are Crestron monitors available for use. Connect wirelessly or via a HDMI cable (attached to TV). Consult the instructions below to connect wirelessly.
The Atrium
A study space with flexible furniture and a limited number of floor outlets. It also contains a self-check machine, the recreational reading collection, and the new book shelves
The Desk – just to your right as you enter the front doors. This is your first stop for ANY question. On the same side of the Atrium is all the Librarian offices -- each librarian has their subjects and QR codes for scheduling an appointment next to their doors.
Come hang out in our lounge area while you wait for your study group or sit down and read a book from one of our displays, new books, or recreational reading.
Check out our displays curated by themes and are available for checkout!
Explore new books
Need a break from studying and reading books for class? Explore our recreational reading collection which has books of all kinds including best sellers and other popular titles.
Check out your books or DVDs at our self-checkout at your own pace. You will need your Lancer ID.
The Learning Commons
The Learning Commons contains:
We've got so many options for seating -- come explore and find your favorite today!
We've got desks of all kinds -- tall, short, single or large for groups!
We've got Dell and Mac computers.
The majority of entertainment DVDs and BluRays are located in the back of the Learning Commons. If you need help finding a DVD, ask at the Desk.
Need to copy some notes? Need to get a chapter out of a book? Use one of our many scanners to either email or scan to a USB. Come to the Desk if you need help!
Chill out for a minute while you charge your mobile device. Charging cables include MicroUSB, USB C, Apple Lightning, and other cords available.
Group Study Rooms- 142, 152, 153, 155
Each room has a flat screen monitor with Crestron Air Media (for wireless screen sharing via laptop, tablet and phone). Available on a first-come, first-serve basis.
Library Instruction Rooms- 147, 148, 149
The classrooms are used primarily for Library Instruction. They are equipped with large flat screen monitors and whiteboard tables.
Group Study Area
Equipped with large tables and power sources, the Group Study Area contains the call numbers HD100- Z (Library of Congress classification system) in the main print collection. Though the area does not have a noise restriction, please respect other students and groups.
Quiet Study Area
Equipped with individual carrels and power sources, the Quiet Study Area contains call numbers A-HD99 (Library of Congress classification system) in the main print collection. The Quiet Study Area is designated for students who would like a quiet study experience.
Classroom- 209 A, 209 B
The classroom is often reserved for classes, library instruction, and club meetings. When not in use, students are welcome to use the technology and space. The classroom is available for reservation via 25Live.
Humanities Reading Room/Graduate Student Gathering Space- 210
Located in the Group Study Area, the space is reservable by graduate students. Contact Cindy Elliott to reserve the room. When not reserved, it is available on a first-come, first-serve basis for all students. Crestron Air Media screen available for use either wirelessly or through HDMI cable (provided).
Study Rooms
Study Rooms are available on the back walls of the Group Study Area and the Quiet Study Area. Each room is equipped with a table, a single chair, and a mounted whiteboard. Room 213-221 on the Group Study Area are available for reservation, online or by scanning the QR code outside each room. All other study rooms are available on first-come, first serve basis.
Children's Literature Room
The Children's Literature room contains the juvenile fiction and nonfiction collections, reading aids, big books, and the K-12 textbook repository. There is group study area with whiteboard tables with portable power requiring a battery that can be checked out at the Desk.
Computer Lab- 201
The computer lab, located in the Children’s Literature Room, has 10 desktop computers (all PC) stations. This room is reserved for student, staff, & faculty use and requires a LancerCard for entrance.
Find places to study, alone or with friends, at tables of varying heights
