LibGuides: Counselor Education &amp; School Counseling: Databases

Counseling Databases

PsycArticles
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (1930-present)
This database provides access to more than 530 full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Includes PDF backfiles for many key journals.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Contains references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
Medline (1966-present)
Indexes and abstracts a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (1985-present)
Contains the most recent descriptions and reviews of over 2,200 personality, developmental, educational, speech and hearing, sensory motor, and other commercially-available tests. Maximum 4 users.
PTSDpubs (1871-present)
Formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. More information:
https://www.ptsd.va.gov/ptsdpubs/search_ptsdpubs.asp

Multi-subject (includes both education and counseling)

Academic Search Complete (1887-present)
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
Education Research Complete (1880-present)
Provides access to scholarly journals, conference papers and books for all levels of education in curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC (1966-present)
Some full text and some abstracts of education-related literature in some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education.
JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
ProQuest.com
A digital resource platform for searching multiple databases containing scholarly journals, books, videos & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more.
PsycInfo
American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Dissertations & Theses Full Text (1891-present)
Provides abstracts for 2.7 million dissertations and theses from around the world, with over 1 million full-text dissertations available for download in PDF format.
SocINDEX with Full Text
In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.

In addition, it also provides data mined from nearly 420 "priority" coverage journals and over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and others.