Where do I start my research?
Recommended Resources for Psychology Articles:
This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
This link opens in a new windowTips for Searching PsycInfo & PsycArticles:
PsycINFO is an index. This means that not everything in the database will be available as full text, but there is a Find It button to link to other databases or allow the option to request through interlibrary loan.
PsycArticles does include some Full Text, but also has options to request through interlibrary loan.
Spelling matters. If you misspell a keyword, the search will return either fewer or no results.
On the search page, click the box for "Peer-Reviewed."
Use the Search Options menu, to search by Age Group. Example: use this to select "Young Adulthood" instead of using "college students" as a search term. Or, use the filters to search by Methodology (i.e. empirical studies).
Use the APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms at the top of the page. This will help you find other keywords for your search.
Resources for Psychological Tests
More Recommended Psychology Resources
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of over 1,600 journals and 21,000 e-books published by Wiley on a variety of science, social science, business and humanities topics.
The Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, with all cited references captured.
This link opens in a new window