Political Science: Start Here

HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.

Contains full text of scholarly law journals covering topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, labor and human resource law, the environment and much more.

Provides coverage of global political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Designed specifically for students, researchers and government institutions, Political Science Complete covers top-ranked scholarly journals, some of which are unique to this database.

Coverage of all presidential and many regional political campaigns from the Early National Era through Reconstruction (1790s-1870s). Provides detailed primary-source documentation of the issues, arguments and opposing viewpoints that shaped 19th-century U.S. political history.

American Politics and Society consists of a wide range of 19th and 20th century material organized chronologically.

Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public- presented by the Library of Congress (LOC).

This 2014 online edition of CQ's comprehensive print reference resource offers definitive source information on members of the U.S. Congress and their districts.

Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

Statista is a statistics portal that provides data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources. The content is purely aggregated statistics, and it is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current awareness, not historical statistics. Easy to use infographics and tables are created on a regular basis, and all graphics are available for download as images to insert into presentations.