Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where do I start?
Below are some of our most useful resources. You will find the complete list of Philosophy resources in our Databases and Resources A to Z List
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a searchable database for the backfiles of hundreds of full text journals across a wide variety of disciplines. (Backfiles start in the 1800s and end 3-5 years prior to current date.)
Philosopher's Index (1940-present) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles and books on philosophy and related fields, including ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic. Maximum 4 users.
Religion & Philosophy Collection (Early 1900s-present) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text journal articles covering topics such as world religions, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive encyclopedia of philosophy ancient and modern. Not just limited to entries on Aristotle or Cartesian dualism, it includes entries on everything from ambiguity to aesthetics, Zeno to zombies.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable library of ancient Greek and Latin literature: epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; founders of the Christian Church who made reference to pagan culture. Has up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available. Readers can create individual user profiles to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
Subjects: Biological and Environmental Sciences
, English Language and Literature
, Homeland Security
, Library Tips and Tools
, Modern Languages
, Political Science
, Race and Ethnic Studies
, Reference and Research
, Religion and Spirituality
, Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies