It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History: Start Here
The purpose of this guide is to help you get the most out of Greenwood Library's resources for research in history.
Comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Compiled by the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Subject areas include: advertising, agriculture, health, women's issues, science, medicine, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, entertainment, and more.
Series 1 (1684-1820) ; Series 2 (1821-1837) ; Series 3 (1838-1852) ; Series 4 (1853-1865) ; Series 5 (1866-1877).
With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more!
Contains most books, pamphlets and broadsides published in America during the colonial and Federal periods in America (1639 - 1800), including more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages. The collection covers a wide range of subjects and original formats.
Contains primary sources documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. You can also search the University of Michigan's Making of America Collection: https://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/
ProQuest History Vault's coverage of the Black Freedom Struggle offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history.
This consists of the NAACP Papers and federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.
Includes the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, including newspapers, pamphlets, addresses, broadsides, and proclamations gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
Access to approximately 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes multidisciplinary coverage of historical local, regional, and national news.
Provides more than 7,000 streaming video and searchable transcripts of documentaries from Biography, The History Channel, A&E, PBS, Bullfrog Films and more, as well as United News and Universal newsreels.
Provides streaming videos from the Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational and many others and includes a comprehensive coverage of major fields of knowledge.
Browse for Books
Depending on your topic, you may need to look in multiple sections of the Library collection. In the Library, if you want to browse, here are some shelf ranges that might be appropriate. If you need help, ask us!
C – Auxiliary Sciences of History (General)
Subclass CB – History of Civilization
Subclass CC – Archaeology
Subclass CR – Heraldry
Subclass CS – Genealogy
Subclass CT – Biography
D – World History (except American History)
E – American History
F – Local History of the United States and British, Dutch, French, and Latin America
And, you may also find useful books in:
B – Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
G – Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
A few books you might try:
America, Empire of Liberty by David ReynoldsIt was Thomas Jefferson who envisioned the United States as a great #147;empire of liberty.” This paradoxical phrase may be the key to the American saga: How could the anti-empire of 1776 became the world’s greatest superpower? And how did the country that offered unmatched liberty nevertheless found its prosperity on slavery and the dispossession of Native Americans? In this new single-volume history spanning the entire course of US history#151;from 1776 through the election of Barack Obama#151;prize-winning historian David Reynolds explains how tensions between empire and liberty have often been resolved by faith#151;both the evangelical Protestantism that has energized American politics for centuries and the larger faith in American righteousness that has driven the country’s expansion. Written with verve and insight, Empire of Liberty brilliantly depicts America in all of its many contradictions.
Call Number: E178 .R469 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-13
Becoming Historians by James M. Banner; John R. GillisIn this unique collection, the memoirs of eleven historians provide a fascinating portrait of a formative generation of scholars. Born around the time of World War II, these influential historians came of age just before the upheavals of the 1960s and OCO70s and helped to transform both their discipline and the broader world of American higher education. The self-inventions they thoughtfully chronicle led, in many cases, to the invention of new fieldsOCoincluding womenOCOs and gender history, social history, and public historyOCothat cleared paths in the academy and made the study of the past more capacious and broadly relevant. In these storiesOCoskillfully compiled and introduced by James Banner and John GillisOCoaspiring historians will find inspiration and guidance, experienced scholars will see reflections of their own dilemmas and struggles, and all readers will discover a rare account of how todayOCOs seasoned historians embarked on their intellectual journeys.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Inventing American History by William HogelandAmerican public history--in magazines and books, television documentaries, and museums--tends to celebrate its subject at all costs, even to the point of denial and distortion. This does us a great disservice, argues William Hogeland in Inventing American History. Looking at details glossed over in three examples of public history--the Alexander Hamilton revival, tributes to Pete Seeger and William F. Buckley, and the Constitution Center in Philadelphia--Hogeland considers what we lose when history is written to conform to political aims. Questioning the resurrection, by both neocons and the left, of Alexander Hamilton as the founder of the American financial system--if not of the American dream itself--Hogeland delves deeply into Hamilton's brutal treatment of working-class entrepreneurs. And debunking recent hagiographies of Pete Seeger and William F. Buckley, Hogeland deftly parses Seeger's embrace of communism and Buckley's unreconstructed views on race. Hogeland then turns his attention to the U.S. Constitution Center in Philadelphia (the location of Barack Obama's speech on race), comparing its one-note celebration of the document to the National Park Service tours of nearby Independence Hall. The Park Service tours don't advance any particular point of view, but by being almost purely informative with a kind of hands-on detail, they make the past come to life, available for both celebration and criticism. We should be able to respect the Constitution without being forced to our knees before it, Hogeland argues; we can handle the truth about the Framers' intense politicking and compromises.. Only when we can ground our public history in the gritty events of the day, embracing its contradictions and difficulties, will we be able to learn from it.