LibGuides: Communication Studies: Start Here

Your Personal Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Greenwood Library, Office 131

434-395-2447

Subjects: Business & Economics, Communication Studies, Health, Recreation & Kinesiology (HRK), Library Tips and Tools, Newspapers, Nursing, Psychology, Reference and Research

Featured Databases

Academic Search Complete (1887-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Provides over 200 full-text journals in communications studies, mass media and communication disorders, as well as indexing of major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias and communications studies handbooks.
Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
New York Times (current) This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to the NYTimes.com web site and apps. Includes NYT archives from 1851- present (limited access from 1923-1980). Register for a FREE account.
---
Register once at accessnyt.com for direct access to nytimes.com.
Once registered, your online access will remain active for 52 weeks (364 days).
Here are the instructions for renewing your New York Times institutional pass when the pass expires:
1. Go to the following link: https://myaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/access
2. Go to section that indicates "already have account log in here"
3. Enter email address and password
4. This process when complete should bring the user to the nytimes.com site to start reading articles after the pass is pulled.
Here are the instructions for renewing your New York Times institutional pass when the pass expires:
1. Go to the following link: https://myaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/access
2. Go to section that indicates "already have account log in here"
3. Enter email address and password
4. This process when complete should bring the user to the nytimes.com site to start reading articles after the pass is pulled.
Polling the Nations (1986-present) This link opens in a new window
Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

Related Guides

Research Appointment

Need Help from a Librarian?

If the appointment times available do not work for you, please email us. We'll do our best to work with your schedule!