Skip to main content

WFLO Song Request Postcards: Home

 

WFLO Song Request Postcard Collection
HS-005

Information about the Collection

WFLO is a Farmville, Virginia radio station that was started on August 12, 1947 and has operated continuously since then. The station initially broadcast at 870 AM under the ownership of Carla Keys and in 1960 began operating at 95.7 FM. After Mrs. Key’s death in 1972, the ownership of the station was transferred to a small corporation composed of senior employees.

Provenance

The postcards in this collection were donated to the historical society archives in September 2018 by Chris Brochon, a longtime employee of WFLO.

Scope and Content

The postcards in this collection date from the mid-1950s and 1965 and were mailed to WFLO to request that specific songs be played and/or dedicated to specific people or that announcements be made on air regarding community events. The majority of the cards are addressed to specific programs on WFLO such as: Rhythm & Blues, Musical Clock, The Cliff Board, or the Trading Post. Several cards are addressed to then WFLO Station Manager John Wilson. The three cards from 1965 all pertain to the broadcast of Baltimore Orioles baseball games.

Size

The 46 postcards in this collection are stored in polypropylene sleeves housed in an acid-free binder.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for archival purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Postcards

Located in Binder 1:

005.001 – February 18, 1954. Dillwyn, VA. Requesting “I’ll Be True To You.”

005.002 – March 10, 1954. Enonville, VA. Requesting “You So Fine.”

005.003 – March 11, 1954. Illegible. Requesting “The Things I Used to Do.”

005.004 – March 10, 1954. Farmville, VA. Requesting “Begging my Baby.”

005.005 – June 14, 1954. Buckingham, VA. Requesting “Hold me Baby.”

005.006 – June 15, 1954. Dillwyn, VA. Requesting “Oh Baby.”

005.007 – June 24, 1954. Monroe, VA. Requesting “Honey Hush.”

005.008 – July 21, 1954. Dillwyn, VA. Requesting “Where Did You Stay.”

005.009 – August 25, 1954. Cullen, VA. Requesting “It Hurt Me to My Heart.”

005.010 – August 25, 1954. Red Oak, VA. Requesting “I Want to Make Love to You.”

005.011 – August 31, 1954. Arvonia, VA. Requesting “Baby Please Don’t Go.”

005.012 – September 9, 1954. Chase City, VA. Requesting “Where Did You Stay.”

005.013 – September 15, 1954. Sheppards, VA. Requesting “Sexy Ways.”

005.014 – October 14, 1954. Buckingham, VA. Requesting “Honey Love.”

005.015 – October 14, 1954. Farmville, VA. Requesting illegible.

005.016 – October 14, 1954. Covesville, VA. Requesting “What a Dream.”

005.017 – October 21, 1954. Gladstone, VA. Requesting “Oh Yes.”

005.018 – October 21, 1954. Gladstone, VA. Requesting “Oh Yes.”

005.019 – October 21, 1954. Gladstone, VA. Requesting “Better Watch Yourself.”

005.020 – October 21, 1954. Gladstone, VA. Requesting “Rattle and Run Around.”

005.021 – May 7, 1955. Dillwyn, VA. Requesting “Come Back Baby.”

005.022 – June 12, 1955. Charlottesville, VA. Requesting “Hearts Made of Stone.”

005.023 – June 25, 1955. Pamplin, VA. Requesting “Don’t Be Angry.”

005.024 – June 28, 1955. Farmville, VA. Requesting “Pledging my Love.”

005.025 – August 16, 1955. Charlotte Court House, VA. Requesting announcement be made regarding a visiting preacher at Hope Presbyterian Church.

005.026 – August 16, 1955. Keysville, VA. Requesting “Don’t Take it Hard.”

005.027 – August 18, 1955. Richmond, VA. Requesting marriage announcement be made on air.

005.028 – August 25, 1955. Rice, VA. Requesting “It’s Love Baby.”

005.029 – August 29, 1955. Gladstone, VA. Requesting “Darling Listen to this Song.”

005.030 – August 29, 1955. Gladstone, VA. Requesting “It’s Love Baby.”

005.031 – June 29, 1955. Cullen, VA. Requesting “I’ve Got a Woman.”

005.032 – June 30, 1955. Keysville, VA. Requesting “I Can See Everybody’s Baby.”

005.033 – August 7, 1955. Wingina, VA. Requesting “Mama Talk to Your Daughter.”

005.034 – August 10, 1955. Prospect, VA. Requesting announcement: “Wanted, Girl’s Bicycle.”

005.035 – August 10, 1955. Dillwyn, VA. Requesting “It’s Love Baby.”

005.036 – August 11, 1955. Howardsville, VA. Requesting “I Can See Everybody’s Baby.”

005.037 – August 29, 1955. Gladstone, VA. Requesting “Darling Listen to this Song.”

005.038 – September 6, 1955. Gladstone, VA. Requesting “All by Myself.”

005.039 – September 8, 1955. Amherst, VA. Requesting “This is my Story.”

005.040-005.041 – July 20, 1965. Unknown. Requesting Orioles baseball games to stay on the air.

005.042 – July 30, 1965. Bedford, VA. Requesting Orioles baseball games to stay on the air.

005.043 – August 11, unknown. Pamplin, VA. Requesting “What a Dream.”

005.044 – unknown. Unknown. Requesting “You’re Still my Baby.”

005.045 – unknown. Unknown. Requesting “It’s Really You.”

005.046 – unknown. Unknown. Requesting “It’s Really You.”

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives