LibGuides: Physics: Start Here

Where Do I Start?

Below are some of our most useful resources. You will find a complete list of resources useful in Physics on our Databases & Resources A-Z list.

Scholarly Articles

Engineering E-Books (ENGnetBASE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Engineering Collection includes over 2310 cutting-edge and bestselling references, with access to the latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering.
Institute of Physics Journal + Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to current as well as archived journals from the Institute of Physics (IOP).
Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world. The Science family of journals is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s oldest and largest general science organization.

Includes access to: Science; Science Advances; Science Translational Medicine; Science Signaling; Science Immunology; Science Robotics.
Includes access to: Science; Science Advances; Science Translational Medicine; Science Signaling; Science Immunology; Science Robotics.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution on natural sciences, engineering and technology.
Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences.
Web of Science (1992-present) This link opens in a new window
The Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, with all cited references captured.

Websites for further research

American Institute of Physics
The mission of the Institute to serve the sciences of physics and astronomy by serving its member societies, by serving individual scientists, and by serving students and the general public.
National Institute for Standards and Technology Physical Reference Data
Gateway to sources for physical constants and other info.
PhysLink.com
Good source for reference, educational, and directory information for physics and astronomy.
Science Daily
A great way to keep up with recent developments in the sciences.

Department Link

Longwood Physics Department

Librarian

Sarah Reynolds

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Greenwood Library - 130

434-395-2437

Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Graphic and Animation Design, Chemistry, Criminal Justice, Library Tips and Tools, Mathematics and Computer Science, Music, Newspapers, Physics, Reference and Research, Religion and Spirituality, Sociology, Theatre