LibGuides: Business &amp; Economics: Data & Statistics Resources

United States Data & Statistics

Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
Free, public access to datasets in many areas of interest.
American Economics Association: Data Sources
There is an incredible wealth of economics data available online – but finding the right source can be tricky. This page includes some links to some of the most useful and popular economics data sources, categorized by data type.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. Provides an overview the nation's economic progress using narrative essays and extensive data appendices.
Survey of Current Business Online
Definitive source of information about the nation's economic accounts. Articles present the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates.
Open Access Datasets by Discipline
Open data repositories from multiple academic disciplines.

Census Data

Census Bureau Data
The Census Bureau's primary vehicle for distributing recent Census data. Data from the 2000 and 2010 Census, economic censuses since 2002, and the American Community Survey are also available here.
American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.

International Sources

World Fact Book
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
UN Data
Numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Find Financial Ratios

Factiva from Dow Jones (1979-present)
On the top bar click on "Companies/Market" tab and search for your company. When the snapshot appears, choose "Financial Results" > Report type: Key Ratios or choose Reports and create a Company Report (PDF) that will display company information.

Related Research Guides

Finding Raw Data
Research Guide from Georgia State University
How to Cite Data & Statistics
Research Guide from NYU

Library Statistics Databases

Statista
Statista is a statistics portal that provides data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources. The content is purely aggregated statistics, and it is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current awareness, not historical statistics. Easy to use infographics and tables are created on a regular basis, and all graphics are available for download as images to insert into presentations.
Mergent Online (Now Market Atlas)
Offers a wealth of detail on company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. Powerful and intuitive search capabilities combined with an easy to learn and use interface provide quick access to a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports.
Factiva from Dow Jones (1979-present)
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering many subjects. Includes the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, Richmond Times, Roanoke Times, and Virginian-Pilot.
Historical Statistics of the United States [reference] (2006 edition)
Provides essays and statistical data from over 1,000 sources covering population, labor, economics, and government of the U.S. from colonial times to 2000. This is the full-text online version of the 5-volume 2006 print edition.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (1965-present)
Provides access to scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism, including demographics and statistics, development and investment, market trends, technology and more.
Polling the Nations (1986-present)
Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.