Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art focuses on the expression and application of human creation. This guide will help you find books, articles, images and other resources for your art, graphic design and or animation topic. Please ask if you need help finding resources!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a searchable database for the backfiles of hundreds of full text journals across a wide variety of disciplines. (Backfiles start in the 1800s and end 3-5 years prior to current date.)
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. The Premium package contains the foundational "Quick Reference" plus a selection of in-depth, single-volume works from "Reference Library," many of them being "Oxford Companions."
Project MUSE - Standard Collection (Coverage varies by journal) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from of nearly 200 journal titles in the humanities and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Narrow your search by adding a country, group, or movement: "photography and United States" or "painting and fauvism".
Add a keyword like criticism if you are looking for a particular type of article.
For historical research, you may need to use keywords that are outdated or distasteful to contemporary researchers. For example, searching for "African American and art" in some newspaper databases may not turn up much material, but searching for "Negro and art" will, simply because of the language that is used in the article.
Browse for Books
In the Library, if you want to browse, here are some shelf ranges that might be appropriate. If you need help, ask us!
Class N – Fine Arts
- Subclass N – Visual arts
- Subclass NB – Sculpture
- Subclass NC – Drawing. Design. Illustration. Graphic Design.
- Subclass ND – Painting
- Subclass NE – Print media
- Subclass NX – Arts in general
Class T - Technology
What Is Art History? by The author has written a new introduction to his book. In it he defines the scope, high degree of skill and professional discipline coupled with increasing scientific methods utilized by today's art historian in order to establish criteria and to develop aesthetic perception.
Call Number: N380 .R67 1989
Publication Date: 1989-06-01
Graphic Design History by A Fresh Look at the History of Graphic Design Graphic Design History, 2nd edition is a critical approach to the history of graphic design. Organized chronologically, the book demonstrates the connection to the current practices of graphic arts, visual expression, and design with its engaging narrative and special features. With new images, chapter revisions, and features like Tools of the Trade, the authors stay true to connecting what designers do every day to a history of innovative graphic forms and effects. The MySearchLab with eText provides students and professors a new and exciting way to view Graphic Design History. Instructor PowerPoints featuring nearly all of the images from the text make class preparation easier than ever with this new edition. A better teaching and learning experience This program will provide a better teaching and learning experience- for you and your students. Here's how: Personalize Learning -- The new MySearchLab delivers proven results in helping students succeed, provides engaging experiences that personalize learning, and comes from a trusted partner with educational expertise and a deep commitment to helping students and instructors achieve their goals. Improve Critical Thinking -- Chapters are framed by critical issues and historical themes so that students can fully grasp an understanding of the history of graphic design. Engage Students -- Timelines and images with detailed captions easily highlight relevant information for students. Support Instructors -- New MySearchLab with eText and high resolution PowerPoint are available for this text. Note: MySearchLab with eText does not come automatically packaged with this text. To purchase MySearchLab with eText, please visit www.mysearchlab.com or you can purchase a ValuePack of the text + MySearchLab with eText (at no additional cost). ValuePack ISBN-10: 0205867715 / ValuePack ISBN-13: 9780205867714
Call Number: NC998 .D78 2013
Publication Date: 2012-03-02
The Animator's Survival Kit by The definitive book on animation, from the Academy Award-winning animator behind Who Framed Roger Rabbit? Animation is one of the hottest areas of filmmaking today--and the master animator who bridges the old generation and the new is Richard Williams. During his fifty years in the business, Williams has been one of the true innovators, winning three Academy Awards and serving as the link between Disney's golden age of animation by hand and the new computer animation exemplified by Toy Story. Perhaps even more important, though, has been his dedication in passing along his knowledge to a new generation of animators so that they in turn could push the medium in new directions. In this book, based on his sold-out master classes in the United States and across Europe, Williams provides the underlying principles of animation that every animator--from beginner to expert, classic animator to computer animation whiz --needs. Urging his readers to "invent but be believable," he illustrates his points with hundreds of drawings, distilling the secrets of the masters into a working system in order to create a book that will become the standard work on all forms of animation for professionals, students, and fans.
Call Number: TR897.5 .W54 2009
Publication Date: 2012-09-25
The New York Times Magazine Photographs by For over thirty years, the New York Times Magazine has presented the myriad possibilities and applications of photography. Aperture is pleased to present the upcoming publication and exhibition The New York Times Magazine Photographs, which reflects upon and interrogates the very nature of both photography and print magazines at this pivotal moment in their history and evolution. Edited by Kathy Ryan, long-time photo editor of the magazine, and with a preface by former editorial director Gerald Marzorati, this volume presents some of the finest commissioned photographs worldwide in four sections: reportage, portraiture, style, and conceptual photography, including photo illustration. Diverse in content and sensibility, and consistent in virtuosity, the photographs are accompanied by reproduced tear sheets to allow for the examination of sequencing and the interplay between text and image, simultaneously presenting the work while illuminating its distillation to magazine form. This process is explored further through texts offering behind-the-scenes perspective and anecdotes by the many photographers, writers, editors, and other collaborators whose voices have been a part of the magazine over the years. David Campany contributes a critical essay that provides an in-depth history of the magazines relationship to photography, contextualizing its contributions within the larger world of magazine work. Also addressed are issues of documentary photography in relation to more conceptual photography; the efficacy of story-telling; and what makes an image evidentiary, objective, subjective, truthful, or a tool for advocacy; as well as thoughts on whether these matters are currently moot, or more critical than ever. As such, The New York Times Magazine Photographs aims to serve as a springboard for a rigorous, necessary, and revitalized examination of photography as presented within a modern journalistic context.
Call Number: TR820.5 .N49 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-30