Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Longwood University Logo
Greenwood Library, Celebrate Curiosity logo with link to homepage

Owen Family Bible: Home

 

Owen Family Bible
HS-020

Biographical Information

Born July 28, 1831, in Prince Edward County, Virginia, Henry Thweatt Owen entered the Confederate Army as a Captain of Company C, 18th Virginia Infantry Regiment on April 23, 1861 in Burkeville, Virginia. He was arrested on June 5, 1861, but by order of court martial was restored to command on July 1, 1861. He was again placed under arrest, this time for disobeying orders in regard to some sick men in his company, on September 11, 1861, by order of Colonel R. E. Withers, his commanding officer, and was cashiered on November 22, 1861. However, his order of cashier was vacated, and he was elected Captain by his company on April 26, 1862. He was reported absent from the lines in Chesterfield County, Virginia, on December 28, 1864, by reason of his being under arrest and imprisoned in Castle Thunder.

Following the war, he served for a time as Postmaster in Green Bay, Virginia and later as a clerk in the Second Auditor's Office in Richmond. He devoted his spare time to investigating the Land Office records for genealogical information, and compiled preliminary maps showing plats of land grants in Prince Edward County. His wife was named Harriet, who bore him twelve children: Elizabeth Mildred (1852-1867), Henry Clay (1853-1883), Michael Melancthon (1856-1949), Harriet Louisa (b. 1860), Jacqueline Rosa (b. 1865), William Temple (1867-1879), Herman S. (b. 1868), Benjamin Hilton (1868-1896), Sallie Marshall (b. 1871), Helen Mercer (b. 1873), Mary Eliza (Mamie) (b. 1875), and Charles Archer (1877-1879). Owen died in Richmond on October 8, 1921.

Provenance
This item was donated to the Farmville-Prince Edward County Historical Society Archives in March 2021 by a representative of the Mint Hill Historical Society in Mint Hill, North Carolina.

Scope and Content
This collection consists of a family Bible published in 1892, that was owned by the Owen Family. The Bible contains inscriptions regarding the birth, marriage, and death of immediate family members. Also included are three items previously inserted between pages of the Bible.

Size
This collection consists of 1.0 linear foot contained in (1) archival flat box.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

The pages which contain inscriptions have been digitized and can be seen here: (scans)

Both covers and some pages of the Bible are separated from the spine.

Contents of Collection

Box 1 of 1:

Owen Family Bible, 1892

          Inscribed pages: (scans)

Previously inserted between pages:

          Newspaper clipping, “A Veto Congress”. Unknown publication, unknown date.

          Flyer advertising meeting re: charter changes at Chimborazo School in Richmond, 1918

          Handwritten notes regarding when specific books in the bible were written.

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Profile Photo
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects: Archives