Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Longwood University Logo
Greenwood Library, Celebrate Curiosity logo with link to homepage

Foster Family Correspondence: Home

 

Foster Family Correspondence
HS-026

Biographical Information

The Foster family were early residents of Prince Edward County. Robert Foster was born ca. 1739, in Amelia County, Virginia. The family became residents of Prince Edward County when it was divided from Amelia County in 1754. In 1769 Robert Foster became the first pastor of Sailor Creek Baptist Church in Prince Edward County. He died in 1796, naming his son Ezekiel as one of his executors.

Ezekiel Foster was born ca. 1765 and married Alley Murray in November 1783. The couple had (at least) four children: Joel, Nancy, Sally, and Elizabeth. Marriage records indicate that Nancy Foster married Abner Rowlett in 1807, Sally Foster married Richard F. Burks in 1815, and Elizabeth Foster married Carter Waddill in 1818. It is apparent, from the correspondence in this collection that Joel Foster left Prince Edward County sometime prior to 1812. However, it is not known what happened to him subsequently. Ezekiel Foster died intestate, ca. 1826, at which time the administration of his father’s estate was transferred to Colonel John Foster, whose family owned the Travis Tavern in Prince Edward County.

Provenance
This collection was donated to the Farmville-Prince Edward County Historical Society Archives by Ila Coss of Potomac, Maryland in 2005.

Scope and Content
This collection, which consists of a piece of correspondence from Joel Foster to his father Ezekiel Foster, dates from 1813. In the letter, posted from the Mississippi Territory, Joel Foster updates his father on crops harvested that year, the status of the draft (War of 1812), relations with the Creek Tribe, his prospects for marriage, and expectations for a better life.

Size

This collection consists of .95 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of Collection

Box 1 of 1:

Correspondence, Joel Foster to Ezekiel Foster, September 4, 1813 (scan)

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Profile Photo
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects: Archives