Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Longwood University Logo
Greenwood Library, Celebrate Curiosity logo with link to homepage

Farmville Volunteer Fire Department: Home

 

Farmville Volunteer Fire Department Collection
HS-018

Information about the Collection

Formed in 1870, the Farmville Volunteer Fire Department has been protecting the citizens of Farmville, Prince Edward County, and the surrounding area for over 150 years.

Provenance

The vast majority of this collection was compiled by members of the Farmville Volunteer Fire Department and the Ladies Auxiliary to the Farmville Volunteer Fire Department. The collection was donated, on behalf of the Fire Department and the Ladies Auxiliary, to the Farmville-Prince Edward County Historical Society Archives, by Dan Pempel, in late summer 2020.

Scope and Content

This collection, which dates from 1929 to 2021, contains business records from the Farmville Volunteer Fire Department and the Ladies Auxiliary to the Fire Department, as well as membership information, newspaper clippings, ephemera, and photographs.

Size

This collection consists of 4.0 linear feet contained in (1) archival banker’s box, (3) archival flat boxes, and an archival photograph binder.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 4

Comprehensive membership list, 1929-1993

Inactive Roll and Fire School Roll Call, 1936-1938

Correspondence, 1936 & 1951-1960

Receipts and Invoices, ca. 1944

Donations made by local businesses to Fire Co. Dance, ca. 1944

Membership list, 1948

Newspaper clippings, 1950s

Fires Attended, December 1, 1950 to June 25, 1951 (includes member names with accompanying tally)

Committees, 1950-1951, 1951-1952, & 1956-1957

Constitution and by-laws, 1950

Fire Department photograph (copy) with corresponding partial list of names, ca. 1950

Meeting minutes, ledger book, 1952-1960

Treasurer’s Report, 1953-1954

Roll Call ledger, 1953-1967

Re: meeting room policy, 1956

By-laws, 1956

Speech dedicating new fire station 1956

Newspaper clippings, 1960s

Meeting minutes, ledger book, 1960-1966

Meeting minutes, ledger book, 1966-1970

Newspaper clippings, 1970s

Fire Department property acknowledgement receipts, 1973-1990

Roll Call ledger, 1974-1980

Meeting minutes, 1974-1991

Ladies Auxiliary, Constitution and By-laws, 1979

Newspaper clippings, 1980s

Roll Call ledger, 1980-1982

Meeting Roll book, 1983-1992

Training Roll book, 1984-1999

Constitution and by-laws, 1984

Executive Committee meeting minutes, 1989-1990

Newspaper clippings, 1990s

Certificates and recognition, 1990-1998

Executive Committee and Business Committee Minutes, December 1990 to June 1993

Christmas and Awards Banquet programs, 1991, 1992, & 2017

List of officers, members, and equipment, Fire Department, 1992 and List of officer and members, Ladies Auxiliary, 1992

Program, Dedication of Phillip F. Gay Firehouse, 1992 & napkins from dedication celebration

Business Meeting minutes, August 1993 – September 1996

Building Profit (magazine), Spring 1994 (includes article about Farmville Fire Station)

By-laws, 1994

By-laws, 1997

By-laws, 1998

Fire Call Reports, February 16, 1998 and March 16, 1998

Ladies Auxiliary, newsletter and convention schedule, 1998

Ladies Auxiliary, Constitution and By-laws, 1999

Newspaper clippings, 2000s

Newspaper clippings, Farmville Herald, August 16, 2000, (re: funeral procession for former Fire Chief Phillip Gay)

Phillip Gay, Sr., funeral program, 2000

“From Out These Flames, The Rededication of Ruffner Hall,” Farmville Herald, Special Supplement, April 22, 2005

Newspaper clippings, 2010s

“The Great Farmville Fire of 1898,” Farmville Herald, April 7, 2010 and June 6, 2014 (two-part series by Dr. Ray Gaskins)

Virginia Fire Services Board, Report of Findings and Recommendations, Town of Farmville, Fire and EMS Services, October 2018

Newspaper clippings, 2020s

Re: Constitution and By-laws, undated

Meeting minute notes, undated

Miscellaneous photographs (copies), undated

Notes re: fire department history

Fire Department history, information compiled by Jimmy Hurt

Meetings, drill, and fires, undated (member list with accompanying tally)

By-laws, working copies, with suggestions and revisions, undated

Membership lists with contact information, undated

The Virginia Firefighter, Vol. 7, No. 1

Application for membership, undated

Report on the 73rd Virginia State Firemen’s Convention

Newspaper clippings, undated

   Box 2 of 4

Fire Department checkbook, 1934-1944

Farmville Volunteer Fire Department, 150th Anniversary Challenge Coin

   Box 3 of 4

Ladies Auxiliary scrapbook, 1958-1966

Ladies Auxiliary scrapbook, 1970s – 1980s

   Box 4 of 4

Ladies Auxiliary scrapbook, 1980s – 1990s

Ladies Auxiliary scrapbook, 1900s

018.184 – oversize photograph, 11”x14”, color, undated. Farmville Fire Station.

   Photographs

Located in Binder HS-1:

018.001 – photograph, 6.5”x9.5”, b&w, ca. 1951. Farmville Volunteer Fire Department, group photo, standing in front of fire house.

018.002-018.006 – photographs, 3.5”x5”, b&w, ca. 1940. Fire Department training.

018.007 – photograph, 5”x3”, b&w, undated. Old horse-drawn fire engine.

018.008 – photograph, 4”x5”, b&w, undated. Farmville, downtown, ca. 1950. Banners read: “Welcome Firemen.”

018.009 – photograph, 4”x5”, b&w, undated. Three unidentified men sitting on picnic table.

018.010 – photograph, 5”x7”, b&w, undated. Large group of costumed people on stage.

018.011 – photograph, 6.25”x7”, b&w, undated. Firemen fighting house fire. (Large crease down center of photograph)

018.012 – photograph, 5.25”x7”, b&w, undated. Fireman at house fire. Inscribed on reverse: “Airport Rd. fire. Members of the Farmville VFD responded Tuesday…”

018.013 – photograph, 7”x5”, b&w, undated. Firemen climbing ladder outside unidentified building.

018.014 – photograph, 6”x5”, b&w, 1991. Fireman holding two plaques. Inscribed on reverse: “Fireman’s Banquet. Bill Orange.”

018.015 – photograph, 5”x7”, b&w, undated. Fire truck, Prince Edward County Fire Dept. Co. No. 1.

018.016 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, color, undated. Jimmy Price, portrait photograph.

018.017 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, color, undated. Robert Saunders, portrait photograph.

018.018 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, color, undated. Terry Estes, portrait photograph.

018.019 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, color, undated. Steve Pippen, portrait photograph.

018.020 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, color, undated. Steven Melson, portrait photograph.

018.021 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, color, undated. Bobby Yeats, portrait photograph.

018.022 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, color, undated. Phillip Gay, portrait photograph.

018.023 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, color, undated. Walter Flowers, portrait photograph.

018.024 – photograph, 3.5”x4.25”, color, 1986. Ladies Auxiliary, group photograph. Inscribed on reverse: “Oct. 1986, Harrisonburg, Va., State Zone Meeting.”

018.025 – polaroid photograph, 4.25”x3.5”, color, 1991. Ladies Auxiliary, group photograph. Inscribed on bottom margin, “Drew Martin, Edna Mae Southall, Dorris Newman, Elaine Flowers, Mable Casing, Rossa Gitmar, and Carolyn Yeats. Nov. 5, 1991.”

018.026 – photograph, 3.75”x7”, b&w, undated. Chief Phillip Gay and Ladies Auxiliary.

018.027 – photograph, 3.75”x4.75”, b&w, undated. House and brush fire.

018.028 – photograph, 5.25”x4.75”, b&w, undated. Chief Phillip Gay and Farmville Mayor.

018.029 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, color, undated. Chief Phillip Gay and Miss Flame.

018.030 – photograph, 10”x7.5”, b&w, undated. Farmville fire truck.

018.031 – photograph, 4.75”x7”, b&w, undated. Firemen fighting house fire.

018.032 – photograph, 4”x7”, b&w, undated. Farmville fire truck, ca. 1940s.

018.033 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Fireman in gear, standing in front of fire truck.

018.034 – photograph, 4”x6”, color, undated. Farmville fire truck.

018.035-018.036 – photographs, 3.25”x4.25”, b&w, undated. Prince Edward Co. Fire Dept. truck, Oktoberfest Clowns sitting on roof and back of truck.

018.037 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, color, undated. Fire safety dog mascot.

018.038 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Farmville Volunteer Fire Department Christmas parade float. (2 copies)

018.039 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Farmville Volunteer Fire Department Christmas parade float. (2 copies)

018.040 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Farmville Volunteer Fire Department Christmas parade float. (2 copies)

018.041 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Farmville Volunteer Fire Department Christmas parade float. (2 copies)

018.042 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Farmville Volunteer Fire Department Christmas parade float.

018.043 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Farmville Volunteer Fire Department Christmas parade float.

018.044 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Farmville Volunteer Fire Department Christmas parade float. (2 copies)

018.045 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Farmville Volunteer Fire Department Christmas parade float. (2 copies)

018.046 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Farmville Volunteer Fire Department Christmas parade float. (2 copies)

018.047 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Easter bunny cake on table.

018.048 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Close-up of Easter bunny cake.

018.049 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Large group of people at banquet.

018.050 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Group of people holding trophies on stage.

018.051 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Two women standing next to gifts at baby shower.

018.052 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Man and woman standing behind trophies on table in front of fire station.

018.053 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. Exterior, Colonial Beach Volunteer Fire Department.

018.054 – photograph, 3.5”x4.5”, color, 1968. Exterior, Washington and Lee Motel.

018.055-018.060 – 3.5”x4.5”, b&w/color, undated. Interior, Fireman’s Sports Arena.

018.061 – polaroid photograph, 4”x4”, color, undated. Fire truck instrument panel.

018.062 – polaroid photograph, 4”x4”, color, undated. Fire truck water pump.

018.063 – polaroid photograph, 4”x4”, color, undated. Firemen standing in front of fire department vehicle.

018.064 – polaroid photograph, 4”x4”, color, undated. Fire truck.

018.065 – polaroid photograph, 4”x4”, color, undated. Driver’s seat of fire truck.

018.066 – polaroid photograph, 4”x4”, color, undated. Equipment/cargo spaces on fire truck.

018.067 – polaroid photograph, 4”x4”, color, undated. Fireman standing next to Farmville Fire Department, Ladder Truck No. 1.

018.068 – polaroid photograph, 4”x4”, color, undated. Man standing on back of fire truck.

018.069 – polaroid photograph, 4”x4”, color, undated. Fire truck.

018.070-018.081 – photographs, 3.5”x4.5”, color, undated. House fire, corner of Randolph Street and Beech Street.

018.082-018.090 – photographs, 4”x6”, color, undated. House fire at unidentified location.

018.091-018.114 – photographs, 3.5”x5”, color, undated. Fireman skills competition.

018.115-018.117 – photographs, 3.5”x5”, color, undated. Awards banquet.

018.118-018.137 – photographs, 4”x6”, color, 1995. Springs Jubilee.

018.138-018.158 – photographs, 3.5”x5”, color, 1992. Awards ceremony and Fire Department Open House, February 9, 1992.

018.159-018.168 – photographs, 4”x6”, color, 1998. Anniversary party at Farmville Train Station.

018.169-018.183 – photograph, 4”x6”, color, 1998. Banquet at Fireman’s Sports Arena.

Archives and Records Specialist

Profile Photo
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects: Archives