Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Longwood University Logo
Greenwood Library, Celebrate Curiosity logo with link to homepage

Doyne-Burger Funeral Home Scrapbooks: Home

 

Doyne-Burger Funeral Home Scrapbook Collection
HS-009

Information about the Collection

The Doyne Funeral Home was established in 1838 by John Doyne. The business continued under the direction of the Doyne family and descendants thereof, under the name Doyne-Burger Funeral Home, until its sale in 1993.

The scrapbooks in this collection were compiled by John Doyne’s great-grandson, John Tucker Doyne, Jr. He attended Hampden-Sydney College and was a graduate of the Cincinnati College of Embalming. When J.T. Doyne, Jr. officially joined the family business in 1941, he became the fourth generation of his family to do so.

John Tucker Doyne, Jr. was a charter member and former President of the Farmville Rotary Club. He was also a member of the Farmville-Prince Edward County Historical Society and was active in the Farmville United Methodist Church. He passed away, at the age of 96, in 2010.

Provenance

This collection was donated to the Farmville-Prince Edward County Historical Society, circa 2009, by John Tucker Doyne, Jr.

Scope and Content

The twelve scrapbooks in this collection, which date from 1939 to 1984, consist mostly of obituaries, clipped from newspapers, for people whose funerals were conducted by Doyne-Burger Funeral Home. One of the scrapbooks, which dates circa 1941 to 1945, is specifically devoted to Farmville and Prince Edward County servicemen who were injured or killed during World War II. This scrapbook also includes newspaper clippings related to the war as well as photographs of specific servicemen from Farmville and Prince Edward County.

Size

This collection consists of 2.54 linear feet contained in (1) legal-sized Hollinger box and (2) archival flat boxes.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Due to condition issues, the obituary scrapbook that covers 1946 to 1958 was digitized and the original discarded. The digitized version of this scrapbook is available upon request.

A digitized version of the scrapbook in Box 2 is available upon request.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 3

Obituary Scrapbook, 1939

Obituary Scrapbook, 1940

Obituary Scrapbook, 1942

Obituary Scrapbook, 1943

Obituary Scrapbook, 1944

Obituary Scrapbook, 1945

Obituary Scrapbook, 1979-1980

Obituary Scrapbook, 1981-1982

Obituary Scrapbook, 1983-1984

   Box 2 of 3

WWII & Company G Scrapbook, ca. 1941-1945 (scan)

   Box 3 of 3

Obituary Scrapbook, 1963-1978

Archives and Records Specialist

Profile Photo
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects: Archives