Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Longwood University Logo
Greenwood Library, Celebrate Curiosity logo with link to homepage

Farmville-area Business Ephemera & Memorabilia: Home

 

Farmville-area Business Ephemera & Memorabilia
HS-033

Information about the Collection

This collection of ephemera and memorabilia was produced and distributed by Farmville-area businesses as promotional items.

Provenance

This is an artificial collection of objects collected and donated by historical society members to the Farmville-Prince Edward County Historical Society Archives.

Scope and Content

This collection, which dates from the early 1900s through the early 2000s, consists of ephemera and memorabilia from (47) Farmville-area businesses.

Size

This collection consists of 1.25 linear feet contained in (1) banker's box.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1

Baldwin’s Dept. Store, shipping bag (x2)

Doyne-Burger Funeral Home, almanac, 1988 (x2)

Dove’s Shoe Shop, hand fan

Dr. Chas. Carter, card, announcing opening of new practice (x2)

Farmville Colonial Stores Grocery, full-page newspaper sales ad

Farmville Herald Cookbook, undated

Francisco Auction Co.

       Flyer advertising auction at New Randolph Tobacco Warehouse, 1978

Martin, the Jeweler

        -wicker hand fan

        -punch card (x3)

State and Lee Theatres, program, December 1956

W.E. England Dry-Cleaners, wooden hanger

   Box 1a of 1

Business Cards

       Animal Portraits by Mary Ann

       Aris Gallery

       Cumbey Jewelers

       Dr. J.H. Cocks

       Farmville Baptist Church

       Hearthside Heritage

       H.W. Walker, Real Estate (x2)

       Suzi’s Antiques

       The Sheltered Workshop in Farmville, Inc.

       Total Image Hair & Body Salon

Pencils and Pens

       Briarwood Auto Sales

       Carter’s Flower Shop

       David Simpson, Crop Insurance

       Don “Donnie Mac” MacEachran, The Vernon Co.

       Farmville Area Bus (FAB) (x2)

       Farmville Chiropractic Center (x2)

       The Farmville Herald (x2)

       Farmville Towing (x2)

       Juice’s Tee-Rifik Creations

       Longwood Well Drilling

       Midtown Mailboxes

       Poulston T.V. & Appliance, Inc.

       Prince Edward County Middle School

       Prince Edward Volunteer Rescue Squad

       Real Living Cornerstone

       Rochette’s Florist

       Southside Community Hospital

       Southside VA Historical Preservation

       Surgical Associates

       WFLO AM/FM (x2)

       Wilck’s Lake Storage Sheds

       The Wooden Heart, Inc.

   Box 1b of 1

Barrett Plumbing & Heating Supply Co., Inc.

       -first aid kit

Farmers Cooperative, Inc.

       -thermometer

Kilkare Laundry

       -ashtray

Newman Tire Company

       -ashtray

       -Christmas card with 1973 calendars

Watkins Awning & Sign Company

       -notepad

       -pencil

       -rain bonnet

W.C. Newman, Inc.

       -icepick

       -Christmas card

Archives and Records Specialist

Profile Photo
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects: Archives