Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bugg Family Collection: Home

 

Bugg Family Collection
HS-007

Information about the Collection

The Bugg family arrived in Prince Edward County in the summer of 1869. Charles Bugg, along with his wife, Martha and their six children sailed first to New York, then on to Norfolk, Virginia, and finally to City Point, Virginia before traveling, via train, to Farmville. While initially, Charles Bugg had hopes of establishing himself as a farmer, he was counseled by his fellow Englishman, Dr. B.C. Peters, to go into business instead. Heeding this advice, Bugg was, for a time, the proprietor of the Randolph House Hotel and later established a grocery business with his son, Charles F. Bugg. Additionally, Charles Bugg served as Postmaster in Farmville from 1903 to 1907 and was a member of the Town Council from 1896 to 1900.

James Luckin Bugg was the youngest son of Charles and Martha Bugg. In 1906, he married Hessie St. Clair Woodruff, from Anniston, Alabama. Woodruff had come to Farmville in 1901 to attend [then] State Female Normal School, where her sister Mary St. Clair Woodruff was a member of the faculty and the principal of the Training School. In 1908, James Luckin Bugg was hired as cashier of the newly opened People’s National Bank in Farmville. Bugg would later become manager and finally President of the bank. James Luckin Bugg and Hessie St. Clair Bugg had two children, Mary St. Clair (Bugg) Holland and James Luckin Bugg, Jr. Mary St. Clair (Bugg) Holland graduated from State Teachers College in 1944. James Luckin Bugg, Jr. graduated from Hampden-Sydney College in 1941 and subsequently earned both his Master’s degree and Phd. from UVA. In 1963, Bugg, Jr. was named the 1st Chancellor of the University of Missouri-St. Louis and in 1969 became the 2nd President of Old Dominion University.

Provenance

This collection, which relates to the families of Charles Bugg and James Luckin Bugg, Sr., was donated to the Farmville-Prince Edward County Historical Society by Anne B. Payne, a descendant of the Bugg family, in October 2018.

Scope and Content

This collection, which dates from 1876 to 1957, consists of photographs, correspondence, ephemera, stock certificates, newspaper clippings, and four scrapbooks compiled by Hessie St. Clair Bugg.

Size

This collection consists of 8.16 linear feet contained in (4) archival flat boxes, (1) oversize folder, and (1) archival photograph binder.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 4

Petition re: Misses Bush, Lee, Brimblecom, and Miner, 1887 (involves Celeste Parrish) (scan)

Farmville Town Charter, February 10, 1890

Correspondence, James Luckin Bugg to Hessie St. Clair Bugg, 1907 (re: death of Charles Bugg)

Correspondence, James Luckin Bugg, 1917-1918

          David H. Brown, American Red Cross, Potomac Div. to J.L. Bugg, 12/10/1917

          Richard H. Smith, The Central Liberty Loan Committee to J.L. Bugg, 2/26/1918

          J.L. Bugg to Richard H. Smith, 2/27/1918

          Harry F. Byrd to J.L. Bugg, 4/27/1918

          Harry F. Byrd to J.L. Bugg, 5/5/1918

          Ben P. Owen, The Central Liberty Loan Committee to J.L. Bugg, 5/9/1918

          L.M. Lee, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond to J.L. Bugg, 5/13/1918

          Harry F. Byrd to J.L. Bugg, 5/31/1918

          David H. Brown, American Red Cross, Potomac Div. to J.L. Bugg, 8/20/1918

          George J. Seay, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond to J.L. Bugg, 8/28/1918

          W.S. Battle, Jr., U.S. Railroad Administration to J.L. Bugg, 11/2/1918

          J.L. Bugg to W.S. Battle, Jr., 11/5/1918

Stock certificates, issued to James Luckin Bugg, 1902-1935

Prince Edward County, Bicentennial Celebration, Official Program, 1954

People’s National Bank, ephemera

          J.L. Bugg, business card

          People’s National Bank, Statement of Condition, 1959

          People’s National Bank, advertisement cards for safe deposit box rentals (x2)

Newspaper clippings re: death of James Luckin Bugg, 1960

 

Oversize photograph:

HS-007.001 – photograph mounted on board, 12.25”x15”, b&w, undated. Multi-generational family photograph, unidentified. Taken on front porch of Thornton House, ca. late 1800s. (scan)

   Box 2 of 4

Bugg Family Scrapbook, 1903-1960

Bugg Family Scrapbook, 1922-1964

   Box 3 of 4

Bugg Family Scrapbook, 1920-1949 (scan)

   Box 4 of 4

Loose scrapbook pages

Bugg Family Scrapbook, 1920-1927

The Rotunda (student newspaper), bound volume, 1940-1944

   Oversize Folder

Farmville Mercury (newspaper), January 20, 1876 (front page includes address to Charles Bugg, congratulating him on the successful renovation of the Randolph House hotel).

*Extremely fragile. Digitized version of this issue is available on Library of Virginia's virginiachronicle.com.

   Photographs

Located in Binder HS-1:

007.002 – photograph mounted on board, 5”x8”, b&w, undated. Family photograph, unidentified. Taken on front porch of Thornton House, ca. late 1800s. (scan)

007.003 – photograph mounted on board, 8”x9.5”, b&w, undated. Multi-generational family photograph, unidentified. Taken on front porch of Thornton House, ca. late 1800s. *Extremely fragile. Nearly complete crease down center of photograph. DO NOT REMOVE FROM SLEEVE. (scan)

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Profile Photo
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects: Archives