Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Longwood University Logo
Greenwood Library, Celebrate Curiosity logo with link to homepage

Anne Atkinson Chamberlayne Collection: Home

 

Anne Atkinson Chamberlayne Collection
HS-012

Biographical Information

Anne Atkinson was born in Charlotte County, Virginia in 1877 at Gravel Hill Plantation, the home of her maternal grandfather, George C. Hannah. Her parents were Reverend William Robert Atkinson and Lucy Hannah Atkinson. Her father, a graduate of Columbia Theological Seminary in South Carolina and of the University of Virginia, was both a teacher and a Presbyterian minister. He was a professor at the Peace Institute (now William Peace University) from 1875 to 1878, was principal at the Charlotte Female Institute (now Queens University of Charlotte) from 1878 to 1890, and in 1890, he founded the Presbyterian College for Women in Columbia, S.C.

Anne Atkinson studied music at the Peabody Conservatory in Baltimore, Maryland and was an accomplished pianist. It was at the Peabody Conservatory that she met the German composer, and former student of Franz Liszt, Richard Burmeister. In 1899, Atkinson and Burmeister were married and subsequently moved to Dresden, Germany where both she and her husband performed extensively. In 1911, Anne Atkinson Burmeister returned to the United States with her daughter, Wilhelmina and in 1912 she performed a recital at the White House for President Taft. After divorcing Richard Burmeister, Anne remarried in 1915, to Robert Scott Chamberlayne, who owned and operated a tobacco business in Phenix, Virginia. Anne Atkinson Chamberlayne was a charter member of the Charlotte County Equal Suffrage League and served on their publications committee. In 1921, she ran for a seat in the Virginia House of Delegates, one of the first women in the state to run for statewide office. Anne Atkinson Chamberlayne was also a charter member in the founding of the Charlotte County branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities.

In 1936, she moved to Farmville where she continued to teach piano until her retirement. She was a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution, the Huguenot Society, and the Virginia Historical Society. Anne Atkinson Chamberlayne was also an avid genealogist who, among other projects, spearheaded a comprehensive census of tombstones in Prince Edward County, Virginia.

Anne Atkinson Burmeister Chamberlayne died in 1968 and is buried in Cub Creek Cemetery in Charlotte County, Virginia.

Provenance

This collection was donated to the Farmville-Prince Edward County Historical Society by Marie Blanton, a relative of Anne Chamberlayne, in the early 2000s.

Scope and Content

This collection, which dates from 1742 to 1963, consists of correspondence, land grants, wills, family histories, and genealogical notes related primarily to the Baldwin, Hannah, Wyllie, Blanton, and Spraggins families.

Size

This collection consists of .65 linear feet contained in (1) legal-sized Hollinger box and (1) archival photograph binder.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1:

Thomas Baldwin, land grant, 1742 (photocopy)

correspondence, Samuel Baldwin to George Hannah, 1840-1845 (photocopies)

correspondence, Samuel Baldwin to Ann Spraggins, 1842 (photocopy)

Samuel Baldwin, last will and testament, 1846

George C. Hannah, miscellaneous account statements, ca. 1850

correspondence, 1871-1888 (see full finding aid for more detail)

correspondence, 1907 (see full finding aid for more detail)

correspondence, 1912-1919 (see full finding aid for more detail)

correspondence, 1920-1929 (see full finding aid for more detail)

correspondence, 1930-1938 (see full finding aid for more detail)

correspondence, 1943-1948 (see full finding aid for more detail)

correspondence, 1950-1959 (see full finding aid for more detail)

correspondence, 1960-1963 (see full finding aid for more detail)

correspondence, undated

Flyer advertising opening of Chamberlayne-Kluenter Studios at Hampden-Sydney, September 1937

History of Gravel Hill Plantation, handwritten, undated

Hixburg Presbyterian Church, bulletin, July 1, 1951

Village Presbyterian Church, Charlotte Court House, bulletin, April 29, 1962

Indictment against prohibition, undated

Sailors Creek, battle map (copy)

Wyllie Family Tree

Colonial Dames, Richmond Chapter, year books, 1958-59, 1962-63, 1963-64

Charlotte County, Virginia, historic home brochure

Farmville, Virginia, St. George Randolph Survey (copy)

Genealogy notes (1 of 2)

Genealogy notes (2 of 2)

   Photographs:

Located in Binder HS-1:

012.001 – cabinet card, 6.25”x4.25”, b&w, undated. Inscribed on reverse: “Marion Alexander Haskell.” Taken at Hennies Photography Studio, Main Street, Columbia, S.C.

012.002 – cabinet card, 5.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Inscribed on reverse: “Grandpa.” Likely George C. Hannah. Taken at N.H. Busey Photographic Art Gallery, Baltimore, M.D.

012.003 – photograph, 3”x3.5”, b&w, ~1906. Inscribed on front top and bottom margins: “Taken about 1906. Father & six sons.”

012.004 – photograph, 2.25”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Unidentified family photograph.

012.005 – photograph, 5”x7”, b&w, undated. Unidentified group of men standing on courthouse lawn.

012.006 – photograph, 5.25”x4.5”, b&w, undated. J. Lindsay Almond on stage giving speech.

012.007-012.008 – photographs, 3.5”x5”, ca. 1955. Unveiling of John St. George Randolph headstone in Charlotte Court House, Va.

012.009-012.010 – photographs, 3.5”x5”, ca. 1955. Group of people gathered around John St. George Randolph headstone in Charlotte Court House, Va.

012.011-012.013 – photographs, 3.5”x5”, ca. 1955. John St. George Randolph headstone in Charlotte Court House, Va.

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Profile Photo
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects: Archives