Waverly Putney Collection
RH-154

Information about the Collection
The Waverly Putney collection consists of materials regarding the 38th Engineers Combat Regiment which was responsible (among other things) for the construction of the vital airbase at Ascension Island during WWII. The collection also includes a roster of the Air Force Escape and Evasion Society. This society was created to encourage veterans of WWII who had been aided by resistance groups to remain in touch after the war.

Provenance
This collection was donated to the Greenwood Library Archives by Jack Millar, nephew of Waverly Putney.

Scope and Content
This collection includes a history of the 38th Engineers Combat Regiment in 5 parts, a roster of the Air Force Escape and Evasion Society, and the WWII memories of Charles Goforth who was a member of the 38th Regiment.

Size
This collection consists of .25 cubic feet contained in 1 half-sized legal Hollinger box.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

Box 1 of 1

            Richmond Times-Dispatch article re: monument

            38th Engineers Combat Regiment, Parts I and II

            38th Engineers Combat Regiment, Supplement to Parts I and II

            38th Engineers Combat Regiment, Parts III, IV, and V

            Les Pas D’un Aviateur, a poem by Lt. James M. Cochran, Jr.

            Charles P. Goforth, WWII Memories, 1941-1945

            Air Force Escape and Evasion Society, Members and Evaders, Vol. I, A-L

            Air Force Escape and Evasion Society, Members and Evaders, Vol. II, M-Z

            Air Force Escape and Evasion Society, Friends, Vol. II

Print/Download Finding Aid

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives