The Vincent Persichetti Collection
LU-121

Information about the Collection
Vincent Ludwig Persichetti (June 6, 1915 – August 14, 1987) was an American composer, teacher, and pianist. An important musical educator and writer, Persichetti was a native of Philadelphia. He was known for his integration of various new ideas in musical composition into his own work and teaching, as well as for training many noted composers in composition at the Juilliard School.

Provenance
The Vincent Persichetti Collection was purchased by the Greenwood Library from Rudy Shackelford in 1990. Mr. Shackelford, a composer from Virginia, was responsible for collecting the majority of the materials in this collection.

Scope and Content
This collection includes the majority of Persichetti's published scores: music for piano, organ, harpsichord, orchestra, band, a variety of instrumental combinations, choral groups, and solo vocalist; published articles about the composer and his music; unpublished biographical and analytical papers; an interview with the composer; and a collection of correspondence between Persichetti and Rudy Shackelford.

Size
This collection consists of 7.5 linear feet contained in (5) legal-sized Hollinger boxes, (1) legalsized half-Hollinger box, (1) bankers box, and (3) flat archival boxes.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 10: Correspondence, Interviews, and Articles

Folder 1 – Correspondence between Rudy Shackelford and Others about Vincent Persichetti

Folder 2 – Correspondence between Rudy Shackelford and Others Concerning the Publication of his book Vincent Persichetti

Folder 3 – Booklets about Vincent Persichetti

Folder 4 – Information about Vincent Persichetti’s Music

Folders 5-6 – Articles about Vincent Persichetti

Folder 7 – Interview with Vincent Persichetti by Katy Matheson

Folders 8-12 – Correspondence between Shackelford and Persichetti

Folder 13 – Correspondence between Walter Simmons and Rudy Shackelford

   Box 2 of 10: Articles, Analyses, Scores, and Correspondence

Folder 1-2 – Vincent Persichetti, chronology

Folder 3-4 – Conversation with Vincent Persichetti (by Rudy Shackelford)

Folder 5 – Conversation with Vincent Persichetti (by Rudy Shackelford), photocopy

Folder 6-8 – Articles by, or with reference to Vincent Persichetti

Folder 9 – Awards, Commissions, and Honorary Degrees

Folder 10 – News Items and 1947 yearbook for the Philadelphia Music Conservatory

Folder 11 – The Split Fifth or Procrustes is Deaf: A Plea for the Wholistic [sic] Analysis of Music, by Hugh Aitken

Folder 12 – Information on his (Persichetti) Performance of “String Quartets Nos. 1-4” at Arizona State University

Folder 13 – Organ Composition Information

Folder 14 – Shackelford’s “Modal Harmonic Analysis of the Hymn “Drop, Drop, Slow Tears”

Folder 15 – Shackelford’s Analysis of the Chorale Prelude of Persichetti’s “Drop, Drop, Slow Tears”

Folder 16 – Shackelford’s Analysis of Persichetti’s “Sonata for Organ” and “Sonatine for Organ, Pedals Alone”

Folder 17 – Program from 1965 Performance of Organist Joan Lippincott at Westminster Choir College and Scores and Analysis of Persichetti’s “Sonata for Organ”

Folder 18 – Information on Persichetti’s “Shimah B’Koli (Psalm 130)”

Folder 19 – Photocopied Scores

Folder 20 – Program for the National Convention of the American Guild of Organists (1972)

Folder 21 – Information on Persichetti’s “Auden Variations”

Folder 22 – Persichetti’s “Shima B’Koli,” arranged for Orchestra by Rudy Shackelford

Folder 23 – Correspondence between Rudy Shackelford and David Craighead

Folder 24 – Correspondence between Rudy Shackelford and The Diapason

Folder 25 – Correspondence between Rudy Shackelford and Robert Anderson

   Box 3 of 10: Monographs and Dissertations

Folder 1 – Vincent Persichetti’s Music: A Monograph (photocopy)

Folder 2 – Vincent Persichetti’s Music: A Monograph, pgs. 1-101

Folder 3 – Vincent Persichetti’s Music: A Monograph, pgs. 102-222

Folder 4 – The Chorale Music of Vincent Persichetti, DMA Dissertation by Theodore Ishizawa and Melange of Dissertations in Music; microfilm catalog 1975

   Box 4 of 10: Music Scores donated by the Theodore Presser Co. to supplement collection.

Folder 1 – Listing of scores donated by the Theodore Presser Company

Folder 2 – Organ Prelude and Fugue in A Minor

Folder 3 – Flower Songs - Cantata No. 6

Folder 4 – Four Arabesques

Folder 5 – Little Mirror Book

Folder 6 – Second Piano Sonata

Folder 7 – 2nd Harpsichord Sonata

Folder 8 – 3rd Harpsichord Sonata

Folder 9 – 4th Harpsichord Sonata

Folder 10 – 5th Harpsichord Sonata

Folder 11 – 6th Harpsichord Sonata

Folder 12 – 7th Harpsichord Sonata

Folder 13 – 8th Harpsichord Sonata

Folder 14 – 9th Harpsichord Sonata

Folder 15 – The Little Harpsichord Book

Folder 16 – Serenade No. 15 for Harpsichord

Folder 17 – Chorale Prelude: Drop, Drop, Slow Tears

Folder 18 – Chorale Prelude: Give Peace, O’ God

Folder 19 – Sonatine for Organ, Pedals Alone

Folder 20 – Song of David

Folder 21 – Sonata for Organ

Folder 22 – Serenade No. 4 for Violin and Piano

Folder 23 – Love - S.S.A.A., A Cappella

Folder 24 – Parable XXIII for Violin, Cello, and Piano

   Box 5 of 10: Persichetti - Scores for Piano, Organ, Harpsichord, and Vocal Composition

Folder 1 – Listing of Piano, Organ, Harpsichord, and Vocal Compositions

Folder 2 – Piano, “Appalachian Christmas Carols”

Folder 3 – Piano, “Little Piano Book”

Folder 4 – Piano, “Mirror Etudes”

Folder 5 – Piano, “Parable XIX for Piano”

Folder 6 – Piano, “Parades”

Folder 7 – Piano, “Poems for Piano, Volume I”

Folder 8 – Piano, “Poems for Piano, Volume II”

Folder 9 – Piano, “Poems for Piano, Volume III”

Folder 10 – Piano, “Reflective Keyboard Studies”

Folder 11 – Piano, “Serenade No. 2”

Folder 12 – Piano, “Serenade No. 7”

Folder 13 – Piano, “Serenade No. 8”

Folder 14 – Piano, “Sonata for Two Pianos”

Folder 15 – Piano, “First Piano Sonata”

Folder 16 – Piano, “Third Piano Sonata”

Folder 17 – Piano, “Fourth Piano Sonata”

Folder 18 – Piano, “Fifth Piano Sonata”

Folder 19 – Piano, “Sixth Piano Sonata”

Folder 20 – Piano, “Seventh Piano Sonata”

Folder 21 – Piano, “Eighth Piano Sonata”

Folder 22 – Piano, “Ninth Piano Sonata”

Folder 23 – Piano, “Tenth Piano Sonata”

Folder 24 – Piano, “Eleventh Piano Sonata”

Folder 25 – Piano, “Twelfth Piano Sonata”

Folder 26 – Piano, “Sonatinas 1-6”

Folder 27 – Piano, “Three Toccatinas”

Folder 28 – Piano, “Variations for an Album”

Folder 29 – Organ, “Auden Variations”

Folder 30 – Organ, “Chorale Prelude: Drop, Drop, Slow Tears”

Folder 31 – Organ, “Do Not Go Gentle”

Folder 32 – Organ, “Dryden Liturgical Suite”

Folder 33 – Organ, “Parable for Organ”

Folder 34 – Organ, “Shima B’Koli”

Folder 35 – Harpsichord, “1st Harpsichord Sonata”

Folder 36 – Vocal, “Hilaire Belloc Songs,” “Thou Child So Wise,” “The Microbe”

Folder 37 – Vocal, “Emily Dickinson Songs”

Folder 38 – Vocal, “Harmonium”

Folder 39 – Vocal, “James Joyce Songs”

Folder 40 – Vocal, “A Net of Fireflies”

Folder 41 – Vocal, “Two Chinese Songs”

   Box 6 of 10: Persichetti, Scores for Choral, Chamber and Solo Instrument, Orchestra, Band

Folder 1 – Listing of Choral, Chamber, Orchestra, and Band Compositions

Folder 2 – Choral, “Three Canons for Voices”

Folder 3 – Choral, “Celebrations”

Folder 4 – Choral, “The Creation”

Folder 5 – Choral, ee cummings Choruses, “sam was a man,” and “this is the garden”

Folder 6 – Choral, ee cummings Choruses, “dominic has a doll,” “maggie and milly and molly and                       may,” “uncles,” and “nouns to nouns”

Folder 7 – Choral, “Glad and Very”

Folder 8 – Choral, “Hymns and Responses”

Folder 9 – Choral, “Magnificat and Nune Dimittis”

Folder 10 – Choral, “Mass”

Folder 11 – Choral, “The Pleiades”

Folder 12 – Choral, “Proverb”

Folder 13 – Choral, “Seek the Highest”

Folder 14 – Choral, “Song of Peace”

Folder 15 – Choral, “Spring Cantata”

Folder 16 – Choral, “Stabat Mater”

Folder 17 – Choral, “Te Deum”

Folder 18 – Choral, “Winter Cantata”

Folder 19 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “The Hollow Man”

Folder 20 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Infanta Marina”

Folder 21 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “King Lear”

Folder 22 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Little Recorder Book”

Folder 23 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Masques”

Folder 24 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo Flute”

Folder 25 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Brass Quintet”

Folder 26 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo Oboe”

Folder 27 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo Bassoon”

Folder 28 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Carillon”

Folder 29 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo Harp”

Folder 30 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo Horn”

Folder 31 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable XI for Solo Alto Saxophone”

Folder 32 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable XII for Solo Piccolo”

Folder 33 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo Clarinet”

Folder 34 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo Trumpet”

Folder 35 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo English Horn”

Folder 36 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable XVI for Solo Viola”

Folder 37 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo Double Bass”

Folder 38 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo Trombone”

Folder 39 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo Guitar”

Folder 40 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Parable for Solo Tuba”

Folder 41 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Pastoral for Woodwind Quintet”

Folder 42 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “1st String Quartet”

Folder 43 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “2nd String Quartet”

Folder 44 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “3rd String Quartet”

Folder 45 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “4th Strung Quartet”

Folder 46 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Serenade No. 1”

Folder 47 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Serenade No. 3”

Folder 48 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Serenade No. 6”

Folder 49 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Serenade No. 9”

Folder 50 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Serenade No. 10”

Folder 51 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Serenade No. 12”

Folder 52 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Serenade No. 13”

Folder 53 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Sonata for Solo Cello”

Folder 54 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Sonata for Solo Violin”

Folder 55 – Chamber and Solo Instrument, “Vocalise”

Folder 56 – Orchestra, “Concertino for Piano and Orchestra” 2 pianos, 4 hands

Folder 57 – Orchestra, “Concerto for English Horn and String”

Folder 58 – Orchestra, “Concerto for Piano and Orchestra”

Folder 59 – Orchestra, “Dance Overture”

Folder 60 – Orchestra, “Introit for Strings”

Folder 61 – Orchestra, “A Lincoln Address”

Folder 62 – Orchestra, “Night Dances”

Folder 63 – Orchestra, “Sinfonia: Janiculum”

Folder 64 – Orchestra, “4th Symphony”

Folder 65 – Orchestra, “Symphony for Strings”

Folder 66 – Orchestra, “7th Symphony”

Folder 67 – Orchestra, “Symphony No. 8”

Folder 68 – Band, “Bagatella”

Folder 69 – Band, “Chorale Prelude: O God Unseen”

Folder 70 – Band, “Chorale Prelude: So Pure the Star”

Folder 71 – Band, “Chorale Prelude: Turn Not Thy Face”

Folder 72 – Band, “Divertimento for Band”

Folder 73 – Band, “A Lincoln Address”

Folder 74 – Band, “Masquerade”

Folder 75 – Band, “O Cool is the Valley”

Folder 76 – Band, “Pageant”

Folder 77 – Band, “Parable No. 9”

Folder 78 – Band, “Psalm for Band”

Folder 79 – Band, “Serenade No. 11”

Folder 80 – Band, “Symphony for Band”

   Box 7 of 10: Holographs

Folder 1 – Listing of Holographs

Folder 2 – Holograph, “2nd Piano Sonata”

Folder 3 – Holograph, “1st Piano Sonata”

Folder 4 – Holograph, Vocal, “Sara Teasdale Songs, Op. 72, No. 1”

Folder 5 – Holograph, Organ, “Auden Variations”

Folder 6 – Holograph, Orchestra, “Fables for Narrator and Orchestra”

Folder 7 – Holograph, Vocal, “Carl Sandburg Songs, Op. 73”

Folder 8 – Holograph, Vocal, “ee cummings Songs, Op. 26”

Folder 9 – Holograph, Vocal, “Robert Frost Songs, Op. 49, Dust of Snow”

Folder 10 – Holograph, “English Songs, Op. 49”

Folder 11 – Holograph, “Poems for Piano, Vol. III”

   Box 8 of 10: Persichetti, Original Music Scores, Working Manuscripts

Folder 1 – Listing of Original Music Scores

Folder 2 – Persichetti, Sonata and Sonatine, working manuscript

Folder 3 – “Sonatine for Organ, Pedals Alone,” score with handwritten notations

Folder 4 – “Parable for Organ,” score with handwritten notations

Folder 5 – “Serenade No. 4 for Violin and Piano,” score

Folder 6 – “Sonata for Organ,” score with handwritten notations

Folder 7 – “Quintet,” score

Folder 8 – “Concerto for Piano, Four Hands,” score

   Box 9 of 10: Ephemera, Chronology, and Oversized Scores

Folder 1 – Vincent Persichetti 1915-1987, booklet

Folder 2 – Vincent Persichetti, chronology

Folder 3 – A Conversation with Vincent Persichetti, by Rudy Shackelford (working copy)

Folder 4 – Scores donated by Dr. Pat Lust, Longwood College, Dept. of Music

   Box 10 of 10: LPs

Folder 4 – Scores donated by Dr. Pat Lust, Longwood College, Dept. of Music

Folder 1 – Piano Quintet, performed by the New Art String Quartet and Vincent Persichetti and Harmonium, performed by Darleen Kliener and Lois McLeod

Folder 2 – Thomas Stacy, English Horn – Persichetti/Hodkinson

Folder 3 – Vincent Persichetti, Concerto for Piano, 4 Hands Op. 56 and

                        Paul Creston, Sonata for Saxophone and Piano, Op. 19

Folder 4 – Vincent Persichetti, Four String Quartets, performed by the New Art String Quartet

Folder 5 – Brian Minor play with the Chicago Symphony String Quartet and Lawson Lunde, piano

                        Vincent Persichetti – Parable XI for Solo Alto Saxophone

                        Lawson Lunde – Sonata No. 1 for Alto Saxophone and Piano

                        Leon Stein – Quintet for Saxophone and String Quartet

Folder 6 – New York Brass Quintet

                        Jan Bach – Laudes

                        Michel Leclere – Par Monts et Par Vaux

                        Vincent Persichetti – Parable for Brass Quintet

Folder 7 – University of Kansas Symphonic Band – Robert E. Foster, conductor

                        The Compositions of Vincent Persichetti

Folder 8 – Ralph Sauer Plays Music for Trombone by Milhand, Persichetti, Bassett, and Pergolesi with Alan deVeritch, viola, Ronald Leonard, cello, and Paul Pitman, piano

Folder 9 – Ithaca High School Band, Frank Battisti, conductor (includes Persichetti’s “Serenade for Band”

Folder 10 – The Philadelphia Orchestra, Eugene Ormandy, conductor William Schuman – Symphony No. 9

                        Vincent Persichetti – Sinfonia: Janiculum

Folder 11 – Temple University Trio

                        Vincent Persichetti – Serenade for Violin, Cello, and Piano, Op. 17

                        Walter Piston – Trio

                        Wallingford Riegger – Trio, Op. 1

Folder 12 – Contemporary Music for Trumpet and Organ

                        Anthony Plog – trumpet

                        Madalyn Swearington – organ

                        Barbara Bing – soprano

Folder 13 – The Dallas Brass Quintet, performs the music of Persichetti, Hovhaness, Reynolds, and Childs

Folder 14 – John Barrows-horn, Bernie Leighton and Tait Sanford-piano, Harvey Phillips-tuba

                        (includes Persichetti’s “Serenade No. 12 for tuba)

Folder 15 – New England Conservatory Wind Ensemble

                        Hindemith – Symphony in B-flat

                        Persichetti – Symphony No. 6

Folder 16 – Oboist Peter Christ with the Crystal Chamber Soloists (includes Persichetti’s “Parable for Solo Oboe”

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives