University Library Collection
LU-127

Information about the Collection
The University Library Collection consists of materials related to the business and operations of the Dabney Lancaster Library (1939-1991) and the Janet D. Greenwood Library (1991-current).

Provenance
These materials were collected by various university librarians/archivists and staff over the course of many years.

Scope and Content

The materials in this collection cover a wide variety of topics related to the Longwood University library and date from the late 1930s to the early 2000s. These materials include: correspondence, committee information, reports, workshops and programs, fiscal information, meeting minutes, staff files, partnerships, donations, and information pertaining to accessions and holdings.

Size
This collection consists of 7 linear feet contained in (11) legal-sized Hollinger boxes.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 11: Committees, Reports, and Workshops

Folder 1 – Committees, Longwood Faculty, Library, 1971-1980           

Folder 2 – Continuing Education-Course Enrollment

Folder 3 – Correspondence with ex-staff, 1960s and 1970s

Folder 4 – Correspondence, Internal

Folder 5 – Director Information

Folder 6 – Employment-Library Director Search, 1991-1993

Folders 7– Employment-Recruitment Forms

Folder 8– Opportunity for Advancement, Organizational Charts, 1991-2003

Folder 9 & 10 – Opportunity for Advancement, Personnel Classification Revisions (SCHEV), 1996-1998

Folder 11– Opportunity for Advancement, Personnel Classification, 1949-1956

Folder 12– Opportunity for Advancement, Promotion Procedure, 1956 and 1989-1998

Folder 13– Opportunity for Advancement, Salary

Folder 14– Patron Interaction-Appreciation

Folder 15 - Patron Interaction-Complaints

Folder 16 - Research; Cartographic Bibliography Grant

Folder 17 – Section Assignments, 1975

 Folder 18 – Student Assistants-Forms

Folder 19 – Student Assistants-Graduate Students, 1997

Folder 20 – Student Assistants-Handbook, 1996-1997

Folder 21 – Student Assistants-Payroll Problems, 1994

Folder 22 – Student Assistants-Survey, 1994

Folder 23 – Workshops-Diversity, 1997

Folder 24 – Workshops-Retreat, 1995

Folder 25 – Workshops-Retreat, 1996

Folder 26 – Workshops-Sexual Harassment, 1996

   Box 2 of 11: Staff Files

Folders 1-2 – Boyer, Calvin

Folder 3 – Cranston, Linda

Folder 4 – Hellmuth, Frances

Folder 5 – Kocevar-Weidinger, Elizabeth

Folder 6 – Legrand, Peggy

Folder 7 – LeStourgeon, Martha

Folder 8 – Lewis, June

Folder 9 – McCaslin, Dr. Sharon

Folder 10 – McKissick, Louise

Folder 11 – Monsell, Helen A.

Folder 12 – Murphy, Mary

Folder 13 – Ruffin, Beverly

Folder 14 – Scott, Margaret

Folder 15 – Terry, Marion C.

Folder 16 – Williams, Lydia

   Box 2 of 11: Library Science Program 

Folder 17 – Course, 1955

Folder 18 – Courses, fall 1976

Folder 19 – Courses-LS502, 1989

Folder 20 – Course Outline, LS402

Folder 21 – Library Science Program

Folders 22-23 – Department History

Folder 24 – Endorsement Guidelines

Folder 25 – Faculty Research Grant, 1963

Folder 26 – Grant Proposal-Stipend, 1994

Folder 27 – Grant Proposal-Workshops, 1992

Folder 28 – Pamphlets

Folder 29 – Periodical Holdings, 1989

Folder 30 - Student Catalog

   Box 3 of 11: Library Science Program (cont.)

Folder 1 – Workshops-LS595, 1983-1985

Folder 2 – Workshops-Reader Services, 1994

Folder 3 – Workshops-Readings for Young People, 1953

Folder 4 – Workshops-School Libraries, 1952

Folder 5 – Workshops-School Library Activities, 1954

Folder 6 – Workshops-School Media, 1980s

Folder 7 – Workshops-Summers, 1986-1989

   Box 3 of 11: Partnerships

Folder 8 – Professional-American Library Association (ALA)

Folder 9 – Professional-Internet Librarian Conference, 1998

Folder 10 – Professional-Paraprofessional Conference, 1998

Folder 11 – Professional-SOLINET

Folder 12 – Southside VA-Continuing Education Center

Folder 13 – Southside VA-Fuqua Library Network

Folder 14 – Southside VA-Grant Proposal, networking, 1989

Folder 15 – Southside VA-High School Co-op

Folder 16 – Southside VA-Library Service Expansion, 1971

Folder 17 – Southside VA-Longwood and Hampden Sydney

Folder 18 – Southside VA-Newsletter, 1992

Folder 19 – Southside VA-Southside Virginia Library Network Project

Folder 20 – Virginia-Educational Media Association (VEMA), 1978

Folders 21-24 – Virginia-Library Advisory Committee

Folder 25 – LSCA Grant, 1990

Folder 26 – Meeting for Aid

Folder 27 – Music Library Association

   Box 4 of 11: Partnerships (cont.)

Folder 1 – Virginia-Public Libraries

Folder 2 – Virginia-Region II Forum

Folder 3 – Virginia-School Library Conference, 1955

Folder 4 – Virginia-State Council on Higher Education in Virginia (SCHEV)

Folder 5 – Virginia-SCHEV Student Assessment, 1989

Folder 6 – Virginia-Educational Vendors Association (VEVA), Media Conference, 1986

Folder 7 – Virginia-The Virginia Librarian, 1966

Folder 8 – Virginia-Virginia Library Association (VLA)

Folder 9 – Virginia-VLA Paraprofessional Conference, 1996

Folder 10 – Virginia-VLA Region III Forum, 1978

Folder 11 – Virginia-VLA Spring Conference, 1969

Folder 12 – Virginia-Virginia Library Network (VLN)

Folder 13 – Virginia-Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA)

Folder 14 – Virginia-Western Region Media Committee

   Box 5 of 11: Donations

Folder 1 – Alpha Chi Rho (AXP), 1990-1992

Folder 2 – Alpha Kappa Gamma, 1966

Folder 3 – Donations to Library, 1990-1999

Folder 4 – Donor Recognition

Folder 5 – Annual Report 2013 & 2016

Folder 6 – Farmville Women’s Club

Folder 7 – Flynn-Chapman, Dr. Elisabeth, 1997

Folder 8 – Fuqua Fund

Folder 9 – Gurney, Mrs. Hobert A. – in honor of Dr. Simonini

Folder 10 – Hancock International, 1993-1994

Folder 11 – Lions Club, 1956

Folder 12 – Longwood Ambassadors, 1995

Folder 13 – Loveless, Ms. Janet, 2002

Folder 14 – Morrison, Portia Lee

Folder 15 – Panhellenic Council, 1996

Folder 16 – Ponton, Mr. Charles B., 1998

Folder 17 – Schaff, Ms. Diane G., 1998

Folder 18 – Senior Class, 1963

Folder 19 – Senior Class, 1994

Folder 20 – Simmons, Dr. Betty Jo, 1989

   Box 5 of 11: The Library

Folder 20 – Art-Damages

Folder 21 – Art-Framed Reproductions

Folder 22 – Art-Holdings, 1980

Folder 23 – Art-Loaned from VA Museum of Fine Arts, 1960s

Folder 24 – Art-Policy towards Maintaining, 1994

Folder 25 – Art-Rare Books, Imprints to 1876

Folder 26 – Building Changes-Landscape

Folder 27 – Building Changes-New Exhibit Area

Folder 28 – Building Changes-Shelving

Folder 29 – Catalog-Automation, 1984

Folder 30 – Catalog-Subject Area Guides

Folder 31 – Catalog-Notes from the 1980s

Folder 32 – Catalog-Columbia Collection

Folder 33 – Catalog-Reclassification/Relocation-Dewey/Library of Congress

Folder 34 – Catalog-User Tips

Folder 35 – Catalog-VTLS & OCLC Commands

Folder 36 – Divisions-Inter Library Loan (ILL)

Folder 37 – Divisions-Periodicals

   Box 6 of 11: The Library (cont.)

Folder 1 – Events –Brochures

Folder 2 – General Info on the Library

Folder 3 – Divisions-Reference

Folder 4 – Information-Choice Magazine feature, May 1997

Folder 5 – Information-Disaster Preparedness Plan, 1989

Folder 6 – Strategic Plan 2001

Folder 7 – Marketing Plan N.D.

Folder 8 – Information-Fine Rates

Folder 9 – Information-Hours of Operation

Folder 10 – Information-Hours of Operation, petition to extend

Folder 11 – Information-Mission Statements

Folder 12 – Information-Naming

Folder 13 – Information-Permission to Reproduce

Folder 14 – Information-Photograph Policy

Folder 15 – Information-Policy, Teaching Program

Folder 16 – Information-Security

Folder 17 – Longwood Publications

Folder 18 – Longwood, newsletter

Folder 19 – New Library Building

Folder 20 – Orientation-Freshman Catalog

Folder 21 – Orientation-Graduate Students

Folder 22 – Orientation-New Faculty

Folder 23 – Orientation-Parent

Folder 24 – Orientation-Tips for Use

Folder 25 – Orientation-User Handbook

Folder 26 – (2) videotapes, Searching Online Catalog

   Box 7 of 11: The Library (cont.)

Folder 1 – Progress-Committee on Faculty Use

Folder 2 – Progress-Consultant Report, 1992

Folder 3 – Progress-Consultant Report SACS, 2001

Folder 4 – Progress-Correspondence with Dr. Patricia Cormier, re: goals, 1996

Folder 5 – Progress-Friends of the Library, 1994

Folder 6 – Progress-Short/Long Term Goals

Folder 7 – Strategic Plan, 1994

Folder 8 – Strategic Plan, 2001

Folder 9 – Surveys-Senior Class, 1993

Folder 10 – Surveys-Student Assistants, 1997

Folder 11 – Surveys-Student, Template, 1998

Folder 12 – Technology, Academic Committee

Folder 13 – Technology-Computer Access

Folder 14 – Technology-Concerns, 1996

Folder 15 – Technology-Information Retrieval, 1987

Folder 16 – Technology-Newspaper Clippings

Folder 17 – Technology-Ordering New

Folder 18 – Technology-Telecommunications System

Folder 19 – Technology-Upgrade Proposal Z39.58, 1999

Folder 20 – Uses-Class Space

Folder 21 – Uses-Convocation, 1974, 1990-1996

Folder 22 – Uses-Diversity Forum, 2000

Folder 23 – Uses-Hollins Steering Committee, 1994

Folder 24 – Uses-President’s Reception

   Box 7 of 11: Programs

Folder 25 – At Longwood-Freshman Orientation

Folder 26 – At Longwood-Governor’s School

Folder 27 – At Longwood-National Library Week Contest, 1989

Folders 28-30 – Virginia-Poetry Correspondence

   Box 7 of 11: Accessions and Holdings

Folder 31 – Accessions-Book List, 1963

Folder 32 – Accessions-Budget for (undated)

Folder 33 – Accessions-Budget for 1977

Folder 34 – Accessions-Government Printing Office, 1972-1973

Folder 35 – Accessions-Maps

Folder 36 – Accessions-Microfiche/Microfilm, 1950-1969

Folder 37 – Accessions-Pamphlets, 1950-1969

Folder 38 – Accessions-Pictures, 1949-1969

Folder 39 – Accessions-Textbooks

Folder 40 – Accessions-Number of Titles Added, 1945-1962

Folder 41 – Holdings, 1964-1965 and 1968-1969

Folder 42 – Holdings, 1974-1976

Folder 43 – Holdings-Inventory Record, 1938

   Box 8 of 11: Accessions and Holdings (cont.)

Folder 1 – Holdings-Inventory Record, 1973

Folder 2 – Holdings-New Book Listings, 1981-1982

Folder 3 – Holdings-Pamphlets

Folder 4 – Holdings-Southern Association Guide to Periodicals

Folders 5-7 – Holdings-Library

Folder 8 – Library Leaflet, Nos. 1-21 (1947-1951)

Folder 9 – Library Leaflet, Nos. 22-31 (1951-1956)

   Box 9 of 11: Accessions and Holdings (cont.)

Folder 1 – Library Leaflet, Nos. 32-39 (1956-1959)

Folder 2 – Library Leaflet, Nos. 40-45 (1959-1961)

Folder 3 – Library Leaflet, Nos. 46-51 (1961-1963)

Folder 4 – Library Leaflet, Nos. 52-57 (1963-1964)

   Box 9 of 11: Processing Reports

Folder 5 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1979

Folder 6 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1980

Folder 7 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1985

Folder 8 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1986

Folder 9 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1987

Folder 10 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1988

Folder 11 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1989

Folder 12 – Collection statistics 1990-1995

Folder 13 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1990

Folder 14 – 1991 Collection Development Statement

Folder 14 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1991

Folder 15 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1992

   Box 10 of 11: Processing Reports (cont.)

Folder 1 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1995

Folder 2 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1996

Folder 3 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1997

Folder 4 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1998

Folder 5 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 1999

Folder 6 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 2000

Folder 7 – Processing Department, Annual Report, 2001

   Box 10 of 11: Statistics

Folder 8 – Circulation (undated)

Folder 9 – Circulation, 2003

Folder 10 – Library Usage, 1994

Folder 11 – Reserves, 1970s & 1980s

Folders 12-13 – Yearly Statistics Reports, 1938-1958

   Box 10 of 11: Fiscal Information

Folder 14 – End of Year Fiscal Report and Peer Academic Library Survey (PALS), 1981

Folder 15 – End of Year Fiscal Report, 1984

Folder 16 – End of Year Fiscal Report, 1985

Folder 17 – End of Year Fiscal Report, 1986

Folder 18 – End of Year Fiscal Report, 1987

Folder 19 – End of Year Fiscal Report, 1988

Folder 20 – End of Year Fiscal Report, 1989

Folder 21 – End of Year Fiscal Report and IPEDS, 1990

Folder 22 – End of Year Fiscal Report and IPEDS-L, 1992

Folder 23 – End of Year Fiscal Report, 1995

Folder 24 – End of Year Fiscal Report, 1996

Folder 25 – End of Year Fiscal Report and IPEDS-L, 1998

Folder 26 – End of Year Fiscal Report, 2003

Folder 27 – Funds, 1968-1969

Folder 28 – Funds-Grants, 1980s

Folder 29 – Funds-Library Foundation, 1981-1996

Folder 30 – Funds-Office of Institutional Advancement

   Box 11 of 11: Library Meetings

Folder 1 – Librarian Meetings, 1982

Folder 2 – Librarian Meetings, 1983

Folder 3 – Librarian Meetings, 1984

Folder 4 – Librarian Meetings, 1991-1992

Folder 5 – Librarian Meetings, 1993-1994

Folder 6 – Librarian Meetings, 1994-1995

Folder 7 – Librarian Meetings, 1995-1996

Folder 8 – Librarian Meetings, 1996-1997

Folder 9 – Librarian Meetings, 1997-1998

Folder 10 – Librarian Meetings, 1999-2000

Folder 11 – Librarian Meetings, 2000-2001

Folder 12 – Librarian Meetings, 2001-2002

Folder 13 – Librarian Meetings, 2002-2003

Folder 14 – Librarian Meetings, 2002-2003

Folder 15 – Librarian Meetings, 2004-2005

Folder 16 – Librarian Meetings, 2008-2009

Folder 17 – Librarian Meetings, 2009-2010

Folder 18 – Librarian Meetings, 2010-2011

Folder 20 – Librarian Meetings, 2011-2012

Folder 21 – Librarian Meetings, 2012-2013

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives