Subject Vertical Files (1860-2019)
ref-336

Information about the Collection
The materials in this collection consist of newspaper clippings, records, publications, memoranda, ephemera, and photographs related to various departments, offices, and events at Longwood University as well as its past incarnations as Farmville Female College, State Female Normal School, State Normal School for Women, State Teachers College, and Longwood College.

Provenance
‚ÄčThese materials were, and continue to be, collected by Greenwood Library as well as other offices and departments at Longwood University.

Scope and Content
The materials in this collection range in date from 1860 through 2019 and are arranged alphabetically by category. Within each category, materials are further arranged both alphabetically and chronologically. Photographs associated with this collection can be found in binder #19, are arranged numerically, and can be identified by the photograph id# included in the description of each image.

Size
This collection consists of 7.3 linear feet contained in (13) legal sized archival boxes.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 13: 50th Anniversary - Academic Affairs

   50th Anniversary

invitations and RSVP cards, 1934

news clipping, Richmond News Leader, 1934

news clipping, Rotunda, 1934

news clippings, 1934

program, 1934

promotional brochure, 1934-35

Virginia Journal of Education, Vol. XXVII, No. 6, 1934

   75th Anniversary

75th Anniversary, news clippings, 1959

75 Years of Teacher Education, 1959

Acceptance Card and tickets for 75th Convocation and Symposium, 1959

commencement, program, 1959

convocation and symposium, programs, 1959

envelopes with commerorative 75th Anniversary stamp, 1959

invitation to 75th Convocation and Symposium, 1959

   100th Anniversary

speeches, comments, House Joint Resolution no. 178, 1984

re: Teacher Education Centennial

   150th Anniversary (Sesquicentennial)

article re: 150th Anniversary, Richmond News Leader, 1989

re: planning and events, 1989

Sesquicentennial year activities, 1988-89

   Academic Affairs

Analysis of Failures, 1950-51

Candidates for degrees, Summer Session, 1962

Dean’s List, 1946 – 1948/49

Dean’s List, 1949/50 – 1958/59

Dean’s List, 1960/61

Dean’s List, 1961/62

Dean’s List, 1962/63

Dean’s List, 1963/64 – 1968/69

Dean’s List, 1971/72 – 1979/80

Dean’s List, 1980/81 – 1989/90

Dean’s List, 1990/91 – 1995/96

Dean’s List, requirements

Dean’s List, statistics, 1988-1994

Departmental Majors, 1961-1962

Distribution of Majors, 1962-1963

Honors Council Awards Ceremony, invitation, undated

re: preparation of teachers, miscellaneous reports, 1949-1959

Presidents’ and Dean’s List, 1996/97

Presidents’ and Dean’s List, fall 2001, spring 2003, spring 2007

re: proposed Wynne Learning Center

re: Summer Session, 1963

staffing changes, 2015-2016

students with no unexcused absences, 1954/55 – 1955/56

Suggested Guide for Departmental Self-Study, 1962-1963

   Box 2 of 13: Administration

   Administration

absence reporting procedure & student directory with number of absences, 1961-1962

absence reporting procedure & student directory with number of absences, 1963

Affirmative Action Plan for Equal Employment Opportunity, 1978

Application for Licensing of Federal Property, 1955

articles re: Longwood’s response to Virginia Tech massacre, 2007

re: budget crisis, 2002

Council of Higher Education, meeting, April 7, 1982

re: distribution of grades, 1st Semester, 1954/55

Faculty Meeting Minutes, July 1929

Faculty Meeting Minutes, 1930

Faculty Meeting Minutes, 1931

re: Five Year Plan, 1998-2003

Grand Jury report re: purchasing procedures, 1979

Longwood College: a Numerical Picture, 1978-1983

Longwood College, Achievements, Needs & Opportunities, 1984-1986

Longwood College, Assistance and Evaluation Study, 1979

Longwood College, capital budget needs, 1984-1986

Longwood College, organization chart, 1968

Longwood College, restructuring plan, 19942

Longwood University, organization chart, ca. 2004

Memoranda from Dean of the College, Charles Gordon Moss, 1963-1964

Memoranda from Dean of Students, Richard Brooks, 1964

Memoranda from Dean of Students, Richard Brooks, 1967

Memoranda from Dean of Women, Ruth Wilson, 1964-1967

Memorandum from Dr. Lankford re: visiting speakers, 1962

Memoranda from Office of the Dean, 1966-1967

Memorandum of Understanding, Biennium Budget Agreement, 1982-1984

Memorandum re: the evaluation program, 1962/63

Memorandum re: parking for students, summer session, 1962

Memorandum re: state-mandated holidays, December 1962

Mission Statement and Five Year Strategic Plan, 1998

The Mission, Vision, and Five Year Strategic Plan, 1999

Mission, Vision, and Five Year Strategic Plan Goals, 2007

parking survey and results, 2004-2005

re: Place Matters, master plan, 2005

proposed administrative reorganization, 1986

re: purchase of fire truck for Town of Farmville, 1974-1978 (includes photographs: #336.001-336.005)

   Box 3 of 13: Administration (ctd.) - Art

   Administration

Response to the Higher Education Study Commission, 1973

Senior survey, questions and results, 1979

Seniors with unlimited cuts, 1962/63

Strategic Plan, drafts and working copies, 1989

re: Strategic Plan, 2002-2007

Study of Student Retention and Withdrawal, 1957-1962

Survey of 1959-1961 Longwood graduates in teaching positions, 1961-1962

Teacher Education issue papers and memo re: discussion meeting, 1982

Teacher Handbook, ca. 1929

Vocational Interest Survey, 1946

   Admissions

“College Choice: A Guide Just for Juniors,” recruitment brochure (undated)

Orientation Program for New Students, 1961

Orientation Program for New Students, 1962

Rank in Class for Freshmen, 1956/57 – 1961/62

Summary of Degrees held by Transfer Students, fall 1986

Transfer Credit Guide, 1997

   Alumni Association

Alumnae Association Meeting Minutes, 1948-1953

Alumnae Association, State Female Normal School, constitution and by-laws, 1915

Alumnae Association, voting ballot & questionnaire, 1941

Alumnae Banquet, program/menu, 1909

Alumnae Fund, record of contributions, 1939-1947

Alumnae Fundraising brochure, 1966

Alumnae Meeting Flyer, 1891

Alumnae Reception, program, 1906

Alumnae Record, 1895

Alumnae Record, Vol. I., No. 1, July 1890

Alumni Association Awards Dinner, 2017

Alumni Association Awards Dinner, 2018

Alumni Chapter Reports, ca. 1975

Association Budget Proposals, 1958/59

Association Budget Proposals, 1967/68

Class of 1912, contact information

correspondence to alumnae re: efforts to convince Dr. Jarman to remain as president of the State Teachers College, December 1930

correspondence with H.E. Williams re: portrait of Benjamin Matthews Cox, 1926

re: Longwood Alumnae named: 5 Outstanding Young Women of America, ca. 1965

Longwood Association of Alumnae and Friends, charter information

reunion classes, March 1959

State Teachers College Calendar (featuring images of Longwood), 1948

   Alumni Engagement

Mega Reunion, program, 2017

Men of Longwood, newsletter, Vol. 1, No. 1, 1952

   Andy Taylor Center

brochure, 2017

   Anthropology

news clippings and alumni updates, 1997

   Art (Department of)

art exhibits, 1968

Calendar of art exhibits, 1966/67

Ceramic and Sculpture Exhibit, Lancaster Library, 1967

A Directory of Portraits and Other Art on Campus, 1958

Exhibit of Local Artists, 1949

Junior/Senior Art Exhibit, catalogue, 1959

re: Waverly Cole Collection and Gallery, 2005

   Box 4 of 13: Assessment - Campus Events

   Assessment & Institutional Research

CIRP Freshman Survey, 6 Year Study, 1987-1992

Longwood College Fact Book, 1989-1990

   Athletics

baseball, schedules, news & box scores, 2016/17

basketball, men, schedules, news & box scores, 2016/17

basketball, men, Tip-off Reception, 2017

basketball, women, schedules, 2015/16 – 2016/17

Big South Softball Championship Tournament, 2017

cross-country, men, schedule, 2016/17

cross-country, women, roster & schedule, 2017

field hockey, schedules, news & box scores, 2016/17

golf, men, schedule, news and scores, 2016/17

golf, women, roster and schedule, 2016/17

NCAA Division I reclassification celebration, 2006

news releases re: NCAA Division I reclassification, 2003

re: selection of “Lancers” as team name, 1976-1977

soccer, men, roster & schedule, 2016

soccer, women, roster & schedule, 2016

softball, Big South Championship Tournament, All-Access Pass, 2017

softball, roster & schedule, 2017

tennis, men, roster & schedule, 2016/17

tennis, women, roster and schedule, 2016/17

   Biological & Environmental Sciences

contract with Virginia Department of Game & Inland Fisheries, 1996

informational brochure, 2000

   Board of Visitors

Longwood College, Statement of Rights and Responsibilities, 1969

Maddux, Jane – obituary, 2014

Resolution naming core curriculum (Civitae), May 23, 2018

   Business Office

Financial Statements for Fiscal Year, June 30, 1989

Jacob H. Wamsley, memoranda, 1963-1966

John E. Carr, memoranda, 1967

memos re: cashing checks and outgoing mail, 1962

Ronald G. Lawhorne, memoranda

   Brock Experiences

re: program selection committee, 2017

   Campus Events

Alumnae Concert, program, 1901

Armistice Day Observance, program, ca. mid-1940s

The Art of Storytelling, symposium program, 1989

Asa Dickinson Watkins, unveiling of portrait, 1947

Audio-Visual Institute, conference program, 1946

Baccalaureate Sermon, program, 1910

Baccalaureate Sermon, program, 1926

Banned Books, program, 2016

Calendar of Events, 1960

Calendar of Events, 1961

Calendar of Events, 1962

Calendar of Events, 1963

Choral Club and Instrumental Ensemble, recital, 1936

Choral Concert, April 20, 1961

Citizen Leader Awards, nominations booklet, 2017

Class Day, program, 1895

Class Day, program, 1924

Class Day, program, 1926

Class Night, program, 1893

Class Night, program, 1894 (includes insert re: death of student and cancellation of exercises)

Class Night, program, 1907

Class Night, program, 1910

Class Night, program, 1911

Class Prophecy, program, 1908

College Dinner, program & menu, 1944 (honoring: Mary White Cox, Sarah Boyd Tucker, Lisabeth Purdom, Mary Macauley Snead, Rachel Royall, Richard G. Hallisy, Mildred Y. Hallisy, Georgiana E. Stephenson, Alfred L. Wingo, C.L. Ramsey)

concert, Henri Honegger, program, 1961

concert, The Highwaymen, 1965

concerts, 1945

concerts, 1946

concerts, 1948

concerts, 1949

Cotillion Club, dance, program, 1953

Cotillion Club, dance, program, 1959

Dedicatory Exercises, program, 1951 (Jarman Auditorium, Jarman Organ, Stevens Science Hall, Tabb Dormitory)

Dr. Jordan’s Bonfire, invitation, undated

Employee Service Awards, 2015

Employee Service Awards, 2017

Employee Service Awards, 2018

faculty invitation, 4th of July dinner at Longwood Estate, 1966

Festival of the Fine Arts, program, 1958

Festival of the Fine Arts, news clippings, 1959

Festival of the Fine Arts, program, 1959

Festival of the Fine Arts, program, 1960

Festival of the Fine Arts, program, 1961

Festival of the Fine Arts, schedule, Robert Penn Warrren, March 1976

Festival of Music, program, 1938

Festival of the Arts, schedule, 1972

film presentation, schedules, 1962-1963

Fine Arts and Visiting Scholar Program, 1973/74

   Box 5 of 13: Campus Events (ctd.) - Counseling

   Campus Events (ctd.)

Flower festival, program by Practice School Students, 1894

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, spring 1980

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, fall 1980

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, spring 1981

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, fall 1981

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, spring 1982

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, spring 1983

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, fall 1983

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, spring 1984

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, fall 1984

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, fall 1986

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, spring 1987

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, fall 1987

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, fall 1988

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, spring 1989

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, spring 1992

Francis Butler Simkins Lecture Series, news clippings, 1979-1986

French University Presidents visit to Longwood, 1983

Global Democracy Conference, 2007

High School Student Cooperative Association, convention, 1952

Jane Goodall, lecture, program, 1999

Jarman Banquet, program and menu, May 23, 1946

Junior Festival of Music, program, 1931

Junior/Senior Banquet, program and menu, 1913

“The Lost Generation of Prince Edward County,” film showing, 1969

Miss Longwood, program, 1988

“Monsieur Beaucaire,” 1930

The Music of Chopin, Theodore Ullman, pianist, 1962

Normal School Day, program, 1922

Ralph Nader, news clipping re: lecture at Longwood, 1974

Red Cross Blood Drive, 1966

Senior Banquet, program and menu, 1962

Senior Banquet, program and menu, 1963

Senior Class Exercises, program, 1901

Senior Dance, program, 1946

Shakespeare Evening, program, 1910

Slam Poet, Neil Hilborn, 2016

speakers and programs, 1962-1963

The Summer Artist Series presents: Virginia Botkin, 1962

Teacher’s Round Table, 1905

Tenth Anniversary of Co-education Celebration, 1986

Training School, May Festival, program, 1923

University Center in Virginia, visiting scholars, 1967-1968

Virginia Intercollegiate Press Association Convention, 1932

Virginia Intercollegiate Press Association Convention, 1951

Virginia Journal of Education, re: May Day 1947

Who’s Who Among Students, recognition ceremony, 1998

   Career Services

Placement Bureau, Longwood College, report, September 1961

re: placement, Longwood graduates, 1961

   Chemistry & Physics (Department of)

Informational Brochures, 2000

   College of Business & Economics

Impact Study, 1979

Longwood Business Innovation Center, grand opening, 1986

recruitment brochure, 1986/87

Small Business Development Center, brochure, undated

   College of Graduate & Professional Services

Graduate degree programs, brochure, undated

Graduate Research Symposium, 2017

Graduate Research Symposium, 2018

Graduate Study at Longwood, preliminary announcement, 1954

Information for Graduate Students, summer 1955

Information for Graduate Students, 1957

Information for Graduate Students, 1959

Library, Graduate Theses policy, 1958

Proposal, M.Ed., Education of the Hearing Impaired, 1990

   Commencement

Commencement, news clipping, Richmond Times Dispatch, January 1909

notice to faculty about academic procession, 1962

   Committees

AAUP Committee on Insurance, Report on Major Medical Insurance, 1961-62

Ad Hoc Committee on Final Exams, 1966

Art Committee, budget transfers, 1967

Campus Fees Committee, 1958-1960

Cultural Planning Committee, proposals, 1964

Committee for the Purchase of Art by Contemporary Virginia Artists, 1967

miscellaneous committee reports, 1966/67 – 1967/68

Report of the Committee on the Graduate Program, 1967

Student Advisory Committee, memos, 1990-1992

re: Student-Faculty Committee, 1962-63

   Continuing Education

Halifax County/South Boston Continuing Education Center, 1994

   Convocation

Convocation Announcement, 1963

Convocation Announcement, sign-up form, and program, 1965

Convocation Announcement, 2006

Convocation, program, 1959

Convocation, program, 1966

Convocation, program, 1967

Convocation, program, 2016

Convocation, program, 2018

transcription of address by Dr. Joseph Robert, 1964

   Cormier Honors College

brochure, undated

Celebration of Scholarship, fall 2017

   Counseling & Psychological Services

Food for Thought, program, fall 2016

   Box 6 of 13: Dining Services - Founders Day

   Dining Services

A.R.A. – Slater, announcement of new management, 1963

informational brochure, ca. 2000

Slater Food Service Bulletin, December 1957

   Education (Department of)

Education 300 & 400, course descriptions, 1956/57

Methods and Standards of Rating Prospective Teachers, 1954

Southside Development Center, proposal, 1989

Two-session Report on the Developmental Reading Program, 1961/62

   English & Modern Languages (Department of)

French Student Assistants, 1944-1963

“Glimpses,” Miss Everett’s English Two Classes, 1924

   Faculty & Staff

re: current faculty, 1926-1927

Faculty Activities, 1961/62

Faculty Activities, summer, 1964

Faculty Meeting, agenda, September 16, 1961

Faculty Meetings, 1962-1963

Faculty programs on WRFK FM, May 1962

Faculty salary schedules, 1953-1961

“Meritorious Awards go to Two Former Teachers,” Farmville Herald, 1967 (Olive Iler and Mary Barlow)(includes photograph: #336.006)

New Faculty, 1927

New Faculty and Staff, 1957-1958

New Faculty and Staff, 1958-1959

New Faculty and Staff, 1959-1960

New Faculty and Staff, 1961-1962

New Faculty and Staff, 1962-1963

New Faculty and Staff, 1963-1964

New Faculty and Staff, 1964-1965

New Faculty and Staff, 1965-1966

New Faculty, announcement, 1989

news clipping re: new faculty, Farmville Herald, 1967

news clipping re: professors earning doctorates, Farmville Herald, 1974

re: reception for Richard Carlyon, 1975

Report on Faculty Writing and Research, 1960/61

Report of the Activities of Longwood faculty, summer 1961

Retiring Faculty and Staff, banquet, 1944

Staff and Faculty Announcement, 2007/08

Staff Roster, 1965

   Faculty & Staff Organizations

AAUP, salary study, 2002

AAUP, salary study, 2004

AAUP, salary study, 2008

The Colonnade Club, 1968-1969

The Colonnade Club, 1969-1970

The Colonnade Club, 1970-1971

The Colonnade Club, 1971-1972

The Colonnade Club, constitution and by-laws

The Old Timers Club, member list (ca. mid-1960s)

The Old Timers Club, dinner invitation and program, 1960

The Old Timers Club, dinner invitation, program, and guest list, 1963

The Old Timers Club, memo re: “Charlie Hop,” and dinner program, 1965

The Old Timers Club, dinner program, 1966

The Old Timers Club, dinner program, 1969

The Old Timers Club, dinner invitation, 1977

The Old Timers Club, dinner invitation, 1996

Report on duties of faculty advisors to student organizations, 1965

   Founders Day

“The College Speaks,” poem in honor of golden jubilee, Founders Day, 1934

Founders Day hymn, undated

Founders Day program, 1922 (1st Annual Founders Day)

Founders Day program, 1924

Founders Day speech, 1927

Founders Day program, 1929

Founders Day program, 1932

Founders Day program, 1933

Founders Day program, 1934

Founders Day program, 1937

Founders Day program, 1939

Founders Day program, 1944

Founders Day program, 1947

Founders Day program, 1950

Founders Day program, 1952

Founders Day news clippings, 1953

Founders Day program, 1953

Founders Day program, 1954

Founders Day program, 1955

Founders Day program, 1956

Founders Day program, 1957

Founders Day program, 1958

Founders Day address, “Education in Colonial Virginia,” 1958 (Dr. Thomas Jefferson Wertenbaker)

Founders Day program, 1959

invitation and schedule of events, Founders Day, 75th Anniversary, 1959

Founders Day program, 1960

Founders Day program, 1961

Founders Day program, 1962

Founders Day, news releases, 1963

Founders Day program, 1963

Founders Day program, 1964

   Box 7 of 13: Founders Day (ctd.) - Marketing & Communications

   Founders Day (ctd.)

Founders Day Address, John O. Marsh, Jr., 1965

Founders Day, faculty notice, 1965

Founders Day program, 1965

Founders Day program, 1966

Founders Day, news releases, 1967

Founders Day program, 1967

Founders Day, news clippings, 1968

Founders Day program, 1968

Founders Day, news clippings, Farmville Herald, 1969

Founders Day, news clippings, Rotunda, 1969

Founders Day, news releases, 1969

Founders Day program and building dedication invitation, 1969

Founders Day program, 1983

Founders Day and Class of 1938 Reunion, 1988

Founders Day, news releases, 2002

   Girls State

Girls State, program booklet, 2010

Girls State, program booklet, 2013

History of Virginia Girls State

news clipping, Farmville Herald, 1979

news release re: Girls State speakers, 2012

The Virginia Girl, newspaper, June 21, 2008

“Your Role in the Waves,” workshop program, 2000

   Health & Fitness Center

Health and Fitness Center events

   Institute of Southern Culture

program schedule, 1960-1961

program schedule, 1961-1962

program schedule, 1962-1963

“Co-education and Co-ordination vs. the Traditional Woman’s College,” lecture by Eudora Ramsey Richardson, 1962

“Higher Education in the Traditional Woman’s College,” lecture by Otis I. Singletary, 1962

“Origins of Higher Education for Women in the South to 1860,” lecture by Fletcher M. Green, 1962

“Quality Education for Southern Women,” lecture by Althea K. Hottel, 1962

   Institutional Advancement

“6 More Reasons to Love your Longwood,” brochure, undated

re: gift of stock

Love your Longwood Day, 2018

   Library

art exhibition, Nell Blaine, January 1963

Collection Relocation Project Completion Celebration, 1993

Greenwood Library, Student Assistant Handbook, 2005-2006

Greenwood Library, Student Assistant Handbook, 2009-2010

Greenwood Library, Student Assistant Handbook, 2013-2014

library events, news clippings, 1950s

library events and programs, 2017

Library Science courses offered at Longwood, brochure, summer 1954

Library Science Department, reports, 1948-1958

list of readings on the Civil War in the library’s collection, 1961

Reorganization of Departments and library response to proposed changes, 1981- 1982

School Library Conference, programs, 1950-1955

   LCVA (Longwood Center for the Visual Arts)

Community Achievement in the Arts Awards, 2018

LCVA events and programs, 2016-2017

LCVA promotional materials, undated

reception flyer, March 17, 2003

   Local History

Mrs. Mollie Jackson, album pages, 1863 (copies)

Self-guided Walking Tour, undated

V-E Day Union Service, Farmville Baptist Church, May 8, 1945

A Walking Tour of Historic Farmville, brochure, undated

   Longwood Foundation

article re: local business support appeal, Farmville Herald, 1972

re: The Jarman Society

Jarman Society Dinner, invitation and program, 1983

Jarman Society Dinner, invitation and program, 1986

Jarman Society Dinner, invitation, 1987

Jarman Society, invitation, 1976

Jarman Society, invitation, 1977

Scholarship and Benefactor Dinner, program, 2017

   Marketing & Communications

Calendars of Events, 1964-1967

Calendars of Events, 1967-1968

“Facts and Figures,” promotional brochure, 2013

Longwood College, informational brochure, 1987

Longwood College, informational brochure, 1997

Longwod College, “True or False” Fact Book, undated

Longwood University branded solar eclipse glasses, 2017

press release regarding Eleanor Bobbitt, 1961

press release regarding closed circuit television, December 1962

press releases, 1962-1963

press releases, 2002

State Teachers College, informational brochure, ca. late 1920s

re: White House Conference on Youth, news release, December 3, 1980

   Box 8 of 13: May Day - Registrars Office

   May Day

May Day, announcement and news release, 1969

May Day, committee notes and production script, 1931

May Day, May Court, news clipping, 1970

May Day, May Court, news clipping, 1972

May Day, news release, 1970

May Day program, 1930

May Day program, 1931

May Day program, 1932

May Day program, 1934

May Day program, 1935

May Day program, 1936

May Day program, 1937

May Day program, 1938

May Day program, 1945

May Day program, 1947

May Day program, 1950

May Day program, 1952

May Day program, 1953

May Day program, 1954

May Day program, 1955

May Day program, 1956

May Day program, 1957

May Day program, 1958

May Day program, 1959

May Day program, 1961

May Day program, 1968

May Day program, 1971

May Day program, 1972

May Day program, 1973

May Day, script, 1954

   Miscellaneous

babysitting list, 1962

Community Events, 2017

re: other places with the name “Longwood”

   Moton Museum

events and programs, 2017

The Moton School Story, brochure and museum map, undated

museum promotional materials and membership information, undated

   Multicultural Affairs

MLK Celebration Week, 2017

Social Justice in Action Leadership Summit, 2017

   Music (Department of)

1st Annual Band and Orchestra Clinic, program, 1950

8th Annual First Night Faculty Gala Recital, 2018

Annual Christmas Concert, program, 1961

Choral Concert, program, 1962

Conservatory of Music, brochure, 1912-1913

Department of Music, recitals and concerts, 1950-1959

Department of Music, recitals and concerts, 1960-1969

Department of Music, recitals and concerts, 2016

Department of Music, recitals and concerts, 2017

Elizabethan Music, 1962

Holiday Dinner and Concert, program, 2002

Holiday Dinner and Concert, program, 2010

Holiday Dinner and Concert, program, 2012

Holiday Dinner and Concert, program, 2019

Honors Jazz Ensemble and Honors Concert Band, program, 2018

Joseph L. Jarman, recital, program, 1933

Junior Festival of Music, program, 1931

The Madrigal Singers, program, 1961

Music Department, Chamber Music Series, 1989-1990

Summer Music Program, 1962

   Nursing

Pinning Ceremony, program, 2017

   Office of Leadership Development

Citizen Leader Awards, 2015/16

Citizen Leader Awards, 2016/17

   Office of Professional Services

student teacher placement, fall semester, 1961

re: student teaching and evaluation, 1961-1962

Student Teaching Assignments and Manual, 1962-1963

Student Teacher Assignments, 1963-1964

Student Teachers (list with placements), 1967

Supervising Teachers, policies, and requirements, 1961-1962

   Radio

Radio Committee, report for the session, 1949-1950

re: radio program at Longwood College

Radio Programs for the Academic Year, 1961/62

   Registrars Office

Academic Calendars, 1967/68 – 1968/69

Candidates for Graduation (list), 1967

Examination schedule, summer session, 1962

Examination schedule, second semester, 1962/63

Examination schedules, 1964/65 – 1966/67

memo re: faculty participation in registration, fall 1966

memo re: turning in grades and registration, 1963

re: new advisory system, 1966/67

pre-registration procedure, fall 1965/66

Program of Honors Courses, 1961

registration procedures, 1961

re: registration, 1962/63

registration information, summer 1962

registration information, summer 1964

registration schedule, summer 1965

registration procedure, spring 1967

registration information, summer 1967

registration schedule, spring 1968

registration information summer 1968

registration and schedule of classes, summer 1965

   Box 9 of 13: Registrars Office (ctd.) - Student Organizations

   Registrars Office

Schedule of Classes, 1957/58

Schedule of Classes, 1959/60

Schedule of Classes, 1961/62

Schedule of Classes, 1962/63

Schedule of Classes, 1963/64

Schedule of Classes, 1964/65

Schedule of Classes, 1966/67

Schedule of Classes, 1967/68

Student Directory, 1964-1965

Survey of Virginia Colleges re: grading policies, ca. 1957

Winter/Holiday Schedule, 1963

   Sociology (Department of)

Proposal, Master of Science, Sociology, July 1990

Proposal, Master of Science, Sociology and accompanying documents for SCHEV, August 1990

   Spanish

Student Assistants in Spanish, 1944-1958

Virginia Workshop for Teachers of Spanish, 1947

Virginia Workshop for Teachers of Spanish, June-July 1948

   Speech, Hearing, & Learning Services

Literacy Fair, 2014 and 2016

Speech Correction, cooperative program, 1961-1970

   State Board of Education

re: books adopted, 1938-1943

Bulletin, State Board of Education, Teachers Reading Courses, 1934-35 – 1954-55 (missing 1949-50 – 1952-53)

   Student Conduct & Integrity

Honor and Integrity Ceremony, 2016

Honor and Integrity Ceremony, 2017

Honor and Integrity Ceremony, 2018

   Student Organizations

Activities at Longwood, “Longwood in Action, 1959-60” (booklet includes description of each organization as well as a list of officers)

Activities at Longwood, “Longwood in Action, 1961-62” (booklet includes description of each organization as well as a list of officers)

Alpha Kappa Alpha, event flyers, 1980s

Alpha Kappa Alpha, news clippings

Alpha Kappa Gamma, 1959-1960

Alpha Kappa Gamma, events, 1960s

Alpha Kappa Gamma, re: prizes for Christmas Decorations, 1962

Alpha Sigma Alpha, Annual Banquet, program and menu, 1958

The Angelos of Kappa Delta, magazine, January 1958 (featuring Longwood chapter)

articles re: campus ministry, Farmville Herald, 1975

Athletic Association, voting ballot, 1966-67

Canterbury Club, Lenten sermons, 1966

Daughters of Virginia Literary Society, 1893

Debate Club, meeting minutes, 1942-43

Dramatic Club, playbills, 1935-1947

Dramatic Club, “She Stoops to Conquer,” playbill, 1917

Granddaughters Club, roster, 1931-32

Geist, re: Christmas decorations, 1967

Glee Club, program, “Cricket on the Hearth,” 1923

Judicial Board, voting ballot, 1966-67

Kappa Delta News, anniversary issue, 1947

Kappa Delta, garage sale flyer, 1979

Kappa Delta, news clippings, 1966-1979

Kappa Delta, re: reactivation of Alpha Chapter, news clipping, Richmond Times Dispatch, 1949

   Box 10 of 13: Student Organizations (ctd.) - University History

   Student Organizations (ctd.)

Latin Club, Vergil, 2000th birthday celebration program, 1930

Longwood Library League, ledgers, 1952-1961

Longwood Library League, 1958-1960

The Lychnos Society presents Dr. Loren C. Petry, program, 1959

Margaret J. Preston Literary Society, program, 1876

Margaret J. Preston Literary Society, announcement, 1881

Nathaniel Macon Society, visiting speaker Oswaldo Lamar, 1963

Pi Gamma Mu presents lecture by Henry E. Garrett, 1963

Pi Kappa Omega (absorbed by Kappa Delta Pi), correspondence, 1918-1930

Pi Kappa Omega, song/pledge, undated

Rush statistics, 1974-75

Sigma Alpha Iota, Incorporation Day Musicale, program, 1959

Sigma Alpha Iota, events, 1965/66

Student Government Association, constitution and bylaws, 1926/27

Virginia Normal League, constitution, 1897

The Virginian (yearbook), correspondence, 1966, 1967, 2005, 2010

The Wesley Foundation, invitation to dedication of new building, 1967

YWCA, budget, 1923/24

YWCA, Installation Service, 1919

YWCA, Mother’s Day Program, 1917

YWCA, Religious Emphasis Week, 1948

YWCA, Religious Emphasis Week, 1950-1959

YWCA, Religious Emphasis Week, 1961

YWCA, Religious Emphasis Week, lecture, 1963

   Summer Literacy Institute

13th Annual Summer Literacy Institute, program, 2016

15th Annual Summer Literacy Institute, program, 2018

   Theatre

History of Theatre at Longwood, 1903-2003

Longwood Players, ticket information, 1966

Longwood University Theatre, season schedule, 2017-2018

Playbills, 1907

Playbills, 1931

Playbills, 1934

Playbills, 1935

Playbills, 1946

Playbills, 1948

Playbills, 1950

Playbills, 1951

Playbills, 1952

Playbills, 1953

Playbills, 1954

Playbills, 1955

Playbills, 1956

Playbills, 1957

Playbills, 1958

Playbills, 1959

Playbill, 1961

Playbill, 1962

Playbill, “Cinderella in Flowerland,” unknown year (ca. 1915)

   Training School

Christmas Pageant, program, 1939 (cover includes photograph of training school students)

College High School, Latin Club newsletters, 1929-1930 (includes several newsletters from Curdsville High Latin Club)

College High School, reunion, 1979

Confederate Memorial, program, 1911 (2 copies)

Criterion of a Model Lesson, ca. 1894

“Know Your Own State,” publication by 3rd Year History Class, 1927

Training School Announcement, 1930-31

“Ye Olde English Maye Festival,” program, 1915

   Undergraduate Research Conference on Medieval Studies

Conference Programs, 2016, 2018, 2019

   University History

Acts of Assembly establish the school, 1884 (copy)

Alma Mater, 1930

Alma Mater, by Tabb and Potts, correspondence re: copyright, 1930

Application for Admission (blank), 1910

articles re: campus growth, 2002

re: authorization for new degree programs, Farmville Herald, May 28, 1975

   Box 11 of 13: University History (ctd.)

   University History (ctd.)

re: campus fire, 1949

Class of 1952, Junior Songbook

Class Songs, 1938

Class Songs, undated

clipping from Rotunda re: last days of Civil War, 1930

re: commencement exercises, 1904

copy of act establish University status, 2002

“A Directory of Portraits and other Works of Art at Longwood College,” 1958

enrollment data, 1884-1968

re: enrollment, Virginia Journal of Education, 1936

Farmville Female College stock certificate, ca. 1860

re: Farmville Female College stock certificates destroyed by Union Army, 1865

Farmville Herald article re: State Female Normal School, 1903

re: fire, news releases and news clippings, April 2001

re: fire, March 2007 (student apartment, resulted in 2 fatalities)

re: Hampden-Sydney panty raid, 1953

“The History of Longwood (house),” Sallie Bruce Dickinson, typescript, undated

histories, pre-Normal School (1884), undated

History of the June Class of 1894 (multiple authors, written 1945-1947)

History of the Class of 1960

History of the Class of 1961

John A. Cunningham, report to Board of Trustees, 1888

John A. Cunningham, report to Board of Trustees, 1893

Joseph L. Jarman, report to the Board of State Teachers Colleges, 1926

Joseph L. Jarman, report to the State Board of Education, 1932

Joseph L. Jarman, report to the State Board of Education, 1944

letter and report to Superintendent of Public Instruction, 1929

Longwood College map, ca. mid 1980s

re: new Alma Mater, The Rotunda, November 1980

The New Commonwealth, advertisement for Farmville Female College, 1871

news clippings re: co-education at Longwood, 1975

news clippings, re: fire, various sources, 1923

news clippings re: fire, April 2001

news clipping, “Longwood Students, Work Hard, Play Hard,” Richmond Times Dispatch, February 8, 1953

Norfolk and Western Railway, dinner menu, undated (Lancaster Hall on cover)

notice re: $5 medical fee, 1912

re: opening of 25th session at State Female Normal School, 1909

“Outstanding State Teachers Colleges,” article, Peabody Journal of Education, vol. 5, 1928

President’s report to Virginia State Normal School Board, 1919

records of books donated to Helen Wiley Jarman Library, 1930-32

re: recovery from 2001 fire, news releases, 2001-2003

Reminiscences for the 25th Anniversary at Farmville (unknown author), 1909

re: renaming of school, article, Richmond News Leader, 1949

resolution re: Authorizing State Teachers Colleges to grant A.B. degrees, 1935

response to shooting at Virginia Tech, 2007

re: school seal, changes over time

school songs and class songs, undated

State Female Normal School, enrollment information, 1907

re: State Female Normal School, Richmond Times Dispatch, 1905

Southside music event, article, Richmond Times Dispatch, 1929

State Female Normal School, Annual Report, 1888

State Female Normal School, Annual Report, 1889-90

statement concerning appropriation for State Female Normal School, 1908 (2 copies)

re: Summer Normal at Farmville, Richmond Times Dispatch, 1906

re: surplus property auction, 1959

   Box 12 of 13: University History (ctd.) - University Publications

   University History (ctd.)

Teacher Education Centennial, 1984

Time Capsule, memorandum, 1988

re: transition to University status, 2002

Venable, Jennie – account of State Female Normal School beginnings, recorded in 1948 (includes photograph of Ariadne Miller, ca. 1897, photo id #336.007)

Virginia School Journal, May 1895 (contains ad for State Female Normal School)

Virginia School Report, 1884 (copy)

Virginia School Report, section dealing with State Female Normal School, 1885

Virginia School Report, 1886-1887 (copy)

Virginia School Report, 1888 (copy)

Virginia School Report, 1889 (copy)

Virginia School Report, 1890 (copy)

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1891/92 – 1892/93

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1893/94 – 1894/95

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1895/96 – 1896/97

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1897/98 – 1898/99

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1899/00 – 1900/01

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1901/02 – 1902/03

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1903/04 – 1904/05

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1905/06 – 1906/07

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1907/08 – 1908/09

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1909/10 – 1910/11

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1911/12

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Female Normal School, 1912/13

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Normal School for Women, 1913/14

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Normal School for Women, 1914/15

Virginia School Report, sections dealing with State Normal School for Women, 1915/16

“We Teach to Teach,” article, Farmville Herald, March 8, 1935

William H. Ruffner, House Document II, Report Concerning State Normal School, 1885

William H. Ruffner, Report of the Principal to the Trustees, 1885

re: White House Hall, fire, news clippings, 1949

Year in Review, 2012

   University Publications

Achievements, Longwood College, 1982

Alma Mater, 1927

Bulletin of the State Normal School for Women, Vol. VI, No. 2, 1919

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXI, No. 3, 1935

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXIII, No. 3, 1937

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXVI, No. 3, 1940

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXVII, No. 3, 1941

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Alumnae Edition, Vol. XXVIII, No. 1, 1942

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXVIII, No. 3, 1942

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXIX, No. 3, 1943

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXXI, No.1, 1945

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXXI, No. 3, 1945

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXXII, No. 3, 1946

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXXIII, No. 1, 1947

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXXIII, No. 4, 1947

Bulletin, State Teachers College, Vol. XXXIV, No. 4, 1948

Bulletin, Longwood College, Vol. XLII, No. 4, 1950

Bulletin, Longwood College, Vol. XXXVII, No. 4, 1951

Bulletin, Longwood College, Vol. XLI, No. 4, 1955

Bulletin, Longwood College, Vol. XLV, No. 4, 1959

Economic Impact Study, 2002

Economic Impact Study, 2008

Five Year Report, 1981-1986

Freshman Register, 1978

Freshman Register, 1980

“Longwood College, A Teaching Faculty,” brochure, 1974

New Student Register, 1986

The Normal Record, Vol. I, No. 3, 1897

The Normal Record, Vol. II, No. 1, 1897

The Normal Record, Vol. II, No. 3, 1898

   Box 13 of 13: University Publications (ctd.) - Wynne Campus School

   University Publications

Our Alma Mater (school history), by Jennie Tabb, 1929

Pre-Nursing Study at Longwood College, 1951

Priorities for Profess at Longwood College, 1968-1970

promotional brochure, photos selected from 1935 yearbook, 1935

promotional brochure, 1938

promotional brochure, 1939

promotional brochure, 1940

promotional brochure, 1942

promotional brochure, 1944

promotional brochure, Longwood College, Highlights for 1958-59

promotional brochure, "What’s So Special about Longwood?," 1987

Prospective Longwood College Freshmen, brochure, 1960-61

recruitment brochure, 1962-63

recruitment brochure, 1986-87

recruitment brochure, 1988-89

reprints from The Virginian (yearbook), 1933

report detailing number of graduates by county, 1934

Report of the Committee on Relationships in the Training School, 1909

Salient Facts about Farmville, 1932

songbook, “Singing on the Steps at Longwood,” 1937

The Strategic Plan, 1989

Student Handbook, 1917

Student Handbook, 1929-30

Student Handbook, 1932-33

Student Handbook, 1933-34

Student Handbook, summer session, 1962

Summer Calendar of Events, 1959

Summer Quarter, brochure, 1929

Summer Quarter, brochure, 1931

Summer Quarter, brochure, 1932

Summer Quarter, brochure, 1936

Teachers Handbook, 1917-18

Teachers Handbook, 1928

re: university status, 2002

Washington Bicentennial, program, 1932

   Virginia Childrens Book Festival

program and schedule, 2017

   Vice Presidential Debate - 2016

Debate Fun Facts, 2016

   Wynne Campus School

Analysis of Campus School Utilization, 1978-79

article re: Reading Institute, Farmville Herald, November 26, 1975

Campus School, report, 1975-76

Educational Specifications for the Longwood College Laboratory School (undated)

Flyers (2) drawn by Vince Gilligan, 1979 and 1980

Flyers, Campus School events, 1977-1983

Media Center, general objectives, undated

reports and statistics, ca. 1975

Strange Magic, book of student writings, 1977-1978

news clippings, 1960s

news clippings, 1970s and 1980s

schedules and calendars, 1972-1976

re: Wynne Learning Center, news clipping, 1981

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives