Sesquicentennial Celebration Collection
LU-122

Information about the Collection

The materials in this collection relate to the celebration of the 150th anniversary of (then) Longwood College and the associated events that took place during the 1988/1989 school year.

Provenance

This collection includes print records created by the Office of Public Affairs for the purpose of marketing and promoting Longwood’s Sesquicentennial Celebration.

Scope and Content

Included in this collection are records, planning documents, meeting minutes, photographs and budgetary information.

Size

This collection consists of 2 linear feet contained in (2) archival banker’s boxes.

Notes

These materials were separated from the Dr. William Dorrill Collection due to their singular importance to the history of Longwood University.

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes with the exception of Folder 26 in Box 2 which should be removed prior to examination by researchers.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 2

Folder 1 – Background from Mr. Winker’s Files

Folder 2 – Bell

Folder 3 – Birthday Celebration/Band and Laser Show (Photographs and Information)

Folder 4 – Backgrounds

Folder 5 – Budget

Folder 6 – Birthday Celebration/Invitations, etc.

Folder 7 – Campus Beautification

Folder 8 – Celebration/General Correspondence

Folder 9 – Correspondence

Folder 10 – Cultural

Folder 11 – External Events/Organizations, Colleges

Folder 12 – Historical Reflections

Folder 13 – Letterhead

Folder 14 – Minutes

Folder 15 – 42nd Street

Folder 16 – Patrick Henry Production

Folder 17 – Photographs

Folder 18 – Publicity

Folder 19 – Specialty Promotions

Folder 20 – Symposium: Event I/September 1988 Correspondence/Background Info

   Box 2 of 2

Folder 21 – Symposium: Event I/September 1988/Background Materials

Folder 22 – Steering Committee (includes background info, guidelines, etc.)

Folder 23 – Symposium: Event II/February 1989

Folder 24 – Symposium: Event III/March 1989

Folder 25 – Symposium; excerpts from speakers lecture

Folder 26 – Symposium; speaker’s text, background (CLOSED TO RESEARCHERS)

Folder 27 – WNVT/WNVC TV Sesquicentennial Taping

Folder 28 – Sesquicentennial Budget: Commencement Expenses

Folder 29 – Sesquicentennial: Print-Outs 1988-1989

Folder 30 – Sesquicentennial Budget: Bell Restoration

Folder 31 – Sesquicentennial Budget: General Expenses

Folder 32 – Sesquicentennial Budget: Patrick Henry Expenses

Folder 33 – Sesquicentennial Budget: 42nd Street Expenses

Folder 34 – Sesquicentennial Budget: Symposium I, II, III Expenses

Folder 35 – Sesquicentennial

Folder 36 – Sesquicentennial Birthday Party

Folder 37 – Edwin Newman Symposium

Folder 38 – Sesquicentennial Billboard and PSAs

Folder 39 – 42nd Street Showbill

Folder 40 – February Symposium

Folder 41 – Sesquicentennial Breakfast Invitation

Folder 42 – Sesquicentennial Booklet

Folder 43 – Art Buchwald Reception 1989 (VHS and DVD)

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives