Longwood House Collection
LU-125

Information about the Collection
Longwood House is a historic home in Farmville, Virginia. It was originally owned by Scottish immigrant Peter Johnston who purchased it in 1765. The property was sold to Abraham B. Venable in 1811; following his death shortly thereafter in the Richmond Theatre fire, it was inherited by a relative, Samuel. The current house was built about 1815, and enlarged and remodeled about 1839. The site was the birthplace of two well-known Confederate officers: Johnston's grandson Joseph E. Johnston in 1807, and Samuel Venable's grandson, Charles S. Venable, in 1827.

Longwood House was purchased by what was then the State Teachers College at Farmville in 1929. Twenty years later, the school renamed itself Longwood College after the house. It has been used as the home of the university president since 1969.

It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.

Provenance
These material have been collected on an ongoing basis by staff at the Greenwood Library and other offices and departments at the university.

Scope and Content
The materials in this collection pertain to the history and contents of the Longwood House as well as information related to the upkeep of the house by Longwood University. Additionally, there is information related to events that took place at the Longwood House after it was acquired by the university.

Size
This collection consists of 1 linear foot contained in (2) letter-sized Hollinger boxes.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 2: 1926-1952

Guest book, Christmas Open House, December 13, 1987

Curtain Tassels

Appliance Warranties

Thomas Sully (painter), booklets

Longwood House inventory, (2) volumes with pictures and descriptions

   Box 2 of 2: 1953-1964

Folder 1 – “Today and Yesterday in the Heart of Virginia,” articles

Folder 2 – articles and published information

Folder 3 – booklets

Folder 4 – Appraisal Reports

Folder 5 – Easter Egg Hunt

Folder 6 – Christmas Cards used by President

Folder 7 – Open house at Christmas

Folder 8 – Letters and Memos

Folder 9 – Energy Audit, 1984

Folder 10 – Facilities Audit, 1964

Folder 11 – Evelyn Coleman’s handwritten list of gifts to Longwood Presidents, 1914-1973

Folder 12 – Inventory of Longwood House furniture, 1996 (sent to Mike Malloy, 3/14/1996) Inventory notes by Nancy Shelton

Folder 13 – Furnishings and related documents

Folder 14 – Preparations for new Presidents

Folder 15 – General Inventory

Folder 16 – Inventory of Furniture (undated)

Folder 17 – Inventories; miscellaneous

Folder 18 – Purchases, Receipts, etc.

Folder 19 – Photographs, Longwood House Furniture, September 1981

                        Color, 3.5”x5”, (10 photographs)

                        B&W, 5”x7”, (1 photograph), Sully sideboard, silver candlesticks, silver service

                        Color Post Card, 3.5”x5”, Longwood House

Folder 20 – Photographs, Longwood House Furniture and Paintings

                        Color, 3.5”x5”, (28 photographs)

Folder 21 – Photo negatives, color, (48 photographs)

Folder 22 – Photographs, furniture movers

                        B&W, 5”x7”, (9 photographs)

                   Photograph, reproduction, Charles S. Venable

                        B&W, 4”x5”, original in University of Va. Archives

Folder 23 – Copies of photographs of Longwood House

                   Photocopies of information about Longwood House

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives