Integration: Through Teachers’ Eyes – Oral History Collection
LU-155

Information about the Collection
Integration: Through Teachers’ Eyes is an oral history project undertaken in 2003 by the Sociology 320: Sociology of Education class at Longwood University. The students in this class conducted 12 interviews with teachers who had experienced firsthand the struggle for school integration in the United States prior to and after the Brown v. Board of Education decision in 1954. The interviews also cover the closing of the schools in Prince Edward County and the 1951 student strike at the Robert Russa Moton High School in Farmville, Virginia.

Provenance
These transcripts were sent to the Greenwood Library Archives by Dr. Larissa Fergeson from the Longwood University History Department.

Scope and Content
This collection consists of transcripts from 12 oral history interviews conducted in 2003. These interviews cover topics that include: the 1951 student strike in Farmville, VA, the struggle for integration, Brown v. Board of Education, and other civil rights related issues.

Size
This collection consists of .15 linear feet and is housed in (1) legal-sized Hollinger box.

Notes
Currently, the Greenwood Library Archives does not have access to the recordings associated with these transcripts.

All consent and release forms for these materials are present and there are no restrictions to access or use of these materials for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

            Interview 2003.01, Vera Allen (transcript)

            Interview 2003.02, Hortense W. Bouldin (transcript)

            Interview 2003.03, Patsy Franklin (transcript)

            Interview 2003.04, Helen Gregory (transcript)

            Interview 2003.05, George Marshall (transcript)

            Interview 2003.06, Thomas Mayfield (transcript)

            Interview 2003.07, Erenest E. Miller (transcript)

            Interview 2003.08, Elizabeth Pickett (transcript)

            Interview 2003.09, Mary Rideout (transcript)

            Interview 2003.10, LaVerne B. Spurlock (transcript)

            Interview 2003.11, Robert Trumbull (transcript)

            Interview 2003.12, Carol Turner (transcript)

 

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives