Greenwood Library is arranged to maintain social distancing.  As stated in the Fall 2020 & COVID Information page, every member of the Lancer community is required to wear a mask while in public areas.  Masks are available at the front entrance.  If you would like to clean an area prior to use, please come to the Desk and we will provide cleaning supplies.

 

Note about reserving study spaces: Rooms 213-221 are now available for reservation.  Reserve a room online or scan the QR code on the individual room for availability or to reserve it.  The remaining individual or group study rooms are available on a first-come, first-served basis when the library is open.   You may also check into spaces in Upchurch University Center, Brock Student Success Center, and the newly completed Allen Hall.

Map

The Atrium

A study space with flexible furniture and a limited number of floor outlets.  It also contains two self-check machines, the recreational reading collection, and the new book shelves.

The Learning Commons

The Learning Commons contains:

  • Desktop computers (both PC and Mac)
  • The Printing station, LancerCa$h machine, and recycling
  • A charging station (with MicroUSB, USB C, Apple Lightning, and other cords available), 
  • Book scanners (patrons save their scans to a flash drive or email)
  • A variety of furniture including individual study desks (with power), comfortable seating, or large group tables (with power)
  • Reference, Newspapers and Magazines collections
  • Mobile study tools including whiteboards and Mediascapes (screens with HDMI connections) 

Group Study Rooms- 142, 153, 155

Each room has a flat screen monitor with Crestron Air Media (for wireless screen sharing via laptop, tablet and phone). Available on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Library Instruction Rooms- 147, 148, 149

The classrooms are used primarily for Library Instruction.  They are equipped with large flat screen monitors and whiteboard tables.  For the Fall 2020 semester, the rooms will remain locked when not in use for library instruction.

Group Study Area

Equipped with large tables and power sources, the Group Study Area contains the call numbers HD100- Z (Library of Congress classification system) in the main print collection.  Though the area does not have a noise restriction, please respect other students and groups.   

Quiet Study Area

Equipped with individual carrels and power sources, the Quiet Study Area contains call numbers A-HD99 (Library of Congress classification system) in the main print collection.  The Quiet Study Area is designated for students who would like a quiet study experience. 

Classroom- 209 A, 209 B

The classroom is often reserved for classes, library instruction, and club meetings.  When not in use, students are welcome to use the technology and space. The classroom is available for reservation via 25Live.

Humanities Reading Room/Graduate Student Gathering Space- 210

Located in the Group Study Area, the space is reservable by graduate students.  Contact Meagan Martz to reserve the room.  When not reserved, it is available on a first-come, first-serve basis for all students.  Crestron Air Media screen available for use either wirelessly or through HDMI cable (provided).

Study Rooms

Study Rooms are available on the back walls of the Group Study Area and the Quiet Study Area.  Each room is equipped with a table, a single chair, and a mounted whiteboard.  Room 213-221 on the Group Study Area are available for reservation, online or by scanning the QR code outside each room.  All other study rooms are available on first-come, first serve basis.

Children's Literature Room

The Children's Literature room contains the juvenile fiction and nonfiction collections, reading aids, big books, and the K-12 textbook repository.  There is group study area with whiteboard tables with portable power requiring a battery that can be checked out at the Desk.  

Computer Lab- 201

The computer lab, located in the Children’s Literature Room, has 10 desktop computers (all PC) stations.  This room is reserved for student, staff, & faculty use and requires a LancerCard for entrance.

Learning Commons Features

Mediascape - Mobile

A large flat screen that is movable to anywhere in the library with power outlet. Four HDMI cords provided with the ability to easily switch between up to four computer displays. 

Large Flatbed Scanner

The large flatbed scanner can be used to scan maps or large pictures.  For assistance using this large flatbed scanner, come to the Desk.  

Book scanner

Book Scanner

Easily scan pages from a book or documents and send them to a USB flash drive or directly to your email.  

Whiteboard tables

Whiteboard tables

Whiteboard tables can be found in the Children's Literature room.  Use dry erase markers ONLY.  Check out dry erase markers and eraser at the Desk. 

Portable Power Adaptors

Portable Power

In the Children's Literature section, on the whiteboard tables, are battery powered outlets.  Check out the batteries from the Desk -- capable to charge laptop and more. 

Movable magnetic whiteboard

Mobile magnetic whiteboard

Magnetic whiteboards on wheels makes studying wherever easier.  Use dry eraser markers ONLY on the whiteboard.  Check out dry erase markers and eraser at the Desk. 

PDF

Room Equipment

Assistive Technology

For patrons who might need access to assistive software, the Library has provided ZoomText and Kurzweil 3000 on all library computers in the Learning Commons and Computer Lab 201. If you need assistance, please see The Desk, or the Disability Resources Office at 434-395-2391.