Greenwood Library Construction Project
LU-124

Information about the Collection
The materials in the collection are related to the planning and construction of the Janet D. Greenwood Library (1980-1991).

Provenance
These materials were collected by the librarians and staff of the Greenwood Library as well as various offices and departments of the university.

Scope and Content

This collection contains materials from 1980-1991.

Size
This collection consists of 4 linear feet and is contained in (8) legal-sized Hollinger boxes and (1) oversize folder.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 8: Preplanning

Folder 1 – RFP, Preplanning Study (original)           

Folder 2 – Planning Folder

Folder 3 – Preplanning Proposal

Folder 4 – Floor Plans

Folder 5 – ODELL Preliminary Specifications for the New Library

Folder 6 – Private Vendors

Folders 7-8 – Cutbacks on Construction Budget

Folder 9 – Financial Information

   Box 2 of 8: Correspondence

Folder 1 – Correspondence between Longwood and University Products, Inc.

Folder 2 – Correspondence between Longwood and the IFB

Folder 3 – Correspondence between Longwood and Kloke Transfer

Folder 4 – Correspondence between Longwood and Key Office Supply Company

Folder 5 – Correspondence between Longwood and WIN Laboratories

Folder 6 – Correspondence between Longwood and Shelving Companies

Folder 7 – Correspondence between Longwood and Lindgeist Associates

Folder 8 – Correspondence between Longwood and Metrocom Satellites

Folder 9 – Correspondence between Longwood and ODELL

Folder 10 – Correspondence between Longwood and Walker, Richer, and Quinns and Warner Boyd Associates

Folder 11 – Correspondence between Longwood and Jerry’s Upholstering

Folder 12 – Correspondence between Longwood and L&J Construction

Folder 13 – Correspondence between Longwood and Virginia Correctional Enterprises and VTLS

   Box 3 of 8: Shelving

Folder 1 – Shelving Overview

Folder 2 – Library Shelving; moving and bids

Folder 3 – Storage Shelf Movement

Folder 4 – Shelving Packets

Folder 5 – Second Floor Shelving

Folder 6 – Acme Filing Concepts

Folder 7 – Final Stack Analysis

   Box 4 of 8: Furniture Analysis

Folder 1 – Furniture Budget

Folder 2-3 – Refurbishing Furniture

Folders 4-5 – Final Furniture Analysis

Folder 6 – Miscellaneous Furniture Details

   Box 5 of 8: Space Analysis

Folder 1 – Equipment Space

Folder 2 – Equipment Requests

Folder 3 – Space Analysis Overview

Folder 4 – “New Library Building” Materials

Folder 5 – Main Floor Materials

Folder 6 – Periodicals

Folder 7 – Library Reader Space

Folders 8-9 – Expenditures on Equipment

   Box 6 of 8: Security Systems and Audio Visual Equipment

Folder 1 – Library Records: Security Systems

Folder 2 – Security Systems

Folder 3 – Automation Fund

Folder 4 – Phones, Data Lines, and Electrical Outlets

Folder 5 – Bids for Electrical Lines

Folder 6 – Refinishing Bids

Folder 7 – Computer and AV Equipment

Folder 8 – Phones Lines and Electrical

Folder 9 – Satellite Dish Information

Folder 10 – Water Damages

   Box 7 of 8: Project Manuals

Folders 1-2 – ODELL Project Manuals, August 1988

Folder 3 – ODELL Project Manual, September 1988

   Box 8 of 8: Miscellaneous Materials

Folder 1 – Memos and other Documents

Folder 2 – Moving Needs

Folder 3 – Recommendation from Information System Consultants, Inc.

Folder 4 – Measurements

Folders 5-7 – Miscellaneous Notes

   Oversize Folder

Architectural Floor Plans and Shelving Plans for the new Library

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives