Special Collections and Archives Buttons

 

Faculty Senate Records
LU-034

Information about the Collection

The Faculty Senate represents the faculty and exercise the delegated authority of the faculty in the consideration of all policies that affect the academic mission of Longwood University. Faculty Senate may initiate legislation concerning educational policy. Under the final authority of the President and the Board of Visitors, Faculty Senate advises and makes recommendations on matters of curriculum, academic programs and policies; faculty development; and faculty status. The Faculty Senate may discuss, debate, and formulate position on other matters it deems appropriate.

Regular monthly meetings of the Faculty Senate are held during the academic year and special meetings may be called. The Executive Committee setts the agenda and makes it available to all faculty.

Recommendations passed by Faculty Senate will be signed by the Chair of the Senate and forwarded to the Vice President for Academic Affairs or other appropriate administrator for approval. Recommendations approved by the administration will be implemented in a timely fashion. Recommendations requiring Board of Visitors action, when approved by the President, be sent to the Board of Visitors.

Faculty Senate Committees are elected by the Senate or appointed by the Executive Committee and report to Faculty Senate. Committees include Faculty Senate and non-Faculty Senate members. All committee members have voting privileges in the conduct of committee business. Standing Faculty Senate committees will have at least one member per each academic college and no more than one member per academic department, unless there are good reasons to make exceptions.

Ad hoc committees may be established by Faculty Senate and/or the Executive Committee and last for no more than a year, unless their existence is extended by specific action of the Faculty Senate and/or Executive Committee.

More information about each committee of the Faculty Senate can be found in the Faculty Senate Reference Sheet.

Provenance

This collection was transferred to the Archives from the Administrative Assistant of Faculty Senate. Additionally, some minutes and agendas have been collected by the library staff and added to the collection.

The Faculty Senate Minutes were written by the Faculty Senate Administrative Assistant:

Susan May: 1994-2015
Nancy Scruggs
Sharon Perutelli: 2014-2016
Carl Anderson: 2016-2018
Teresa Irish: 2018-Present

Scope and Content

The Faculty Senate materials include agendas, minutes, reports, policies, and correspondence (memorandums and letters) of the Faculty Senate. This collection is organized according to Faculty Senate Minutes, Faculty Senate Reports, Faculty Senate policy proposals and Faculty Senate’s Education Policy Committee (EPC) reports.

Minute records include the agenda and minutes for meetings. The Faculty Senate Reports include Faculty Senate committee annual reports and other miscellaneous reports. The Faculty Senate Policy Proposals includes policy proposals and supporting documentation relevant to policy changes, additions, and deletions related to the Faculty Policy and Procedures Manual (FPPM). The Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee (EPC) Reports include EPC reports and curriculum proposals and supporting documentation relevant to course additions and deletions.

Size

This collection consists of 5 Hollinger Document Boxes (2.085 linear feet).

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

* denotes that items are digitized and available in the Longwood Digital Commons

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 5: Faculty Senate (1994/1995-1999/2000) 

Folder 1 Faculty Senate Minutes, 1994 – 1995*
Folder 2 Faculty Senate Correspondence, 1994 – 1995
Folder 3 Faculty Senate Minutes, 1995 – 1996*
Folder 4 Faculty Senate Correspondence, 1995 – 1996
Folder 5 Faculty Senate Reports, 1995 – 1996
Folder 6 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 1996 – 1997
Folder 7 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee (EPC) Reports, 1995 - 1996
Folder 8 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee (EPC) Curriculum Proposals, 1995 – 1996
Folder 9 Faculty Senate Executive Committee Minutes, 1995 – 1996
Folder 10 Faculty Senate Minutes, 1996 – 1997*
Folder 11 Faculty Senate Correspondence, 1996 – 1997
Folder 12 Faculty Senate Reports, 1996 – 1997
Folder 13 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 1996 – 1997
Folder 14 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee (EPC) Reports, 1996 – 1997
Folder 15 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee (EPC) Curriculum Proposals, 1996 – 1997
Folder 16 Faculty Senate Minutes, 1997 – 1998*
Folder 17 Faculty Senate Reports, 1997 – 1998
Folder 18 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 1997 – 1998
Folder 19 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee (EPC) Curriculum Proposals, 1997 – 1998
Folder 20 Faculty Senate Minutes, 1998 – 1999*
Folder 21 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 1998 – 1999
Folder 22 Faculty Senate Education Policy Committee (EPC) Curriculum Proposals, 1998 – 1999
Folder 23 Faculty Senate Minutes, 1999 – 2000*
Folder 24 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 1999 – 2000
Folder 25 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee (EPC) Curriculum Proposals, 1999 – 2000

 

   Box 2 of 5: Faculty Senate (2000/2001-2006/2007)

Folder 1 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2000 – 2001
Folder 2 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2000 – 2001
Folder 3 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2000 – 2001
Folder 4 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2001 – 2002
Folder 5 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2001 – 2002
Folder 6 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2001 – 2002
Folder 7 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2002 – 2003
Folder 8 Faculty Senate Reports, 2002 – 2003
Folder 9 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2002 – 2003
Folder 10 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports,2002 – 2003
Folder 11 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2003 – 2004
Folder 12 Faculty Senate Reports, 2003 – 2004
Folder 13 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2003 – 2004
Folder 14 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2003 – 2004
Folder 15 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2004 – 2005
Folder 16 Faculty Senate Policies, 2004 – 2005
Folder 17 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2004 – 2005
Folder 18 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Curriculum Proposals, 2004 – 2005
Folder 19 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2005 – 2006
Folder 20 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2005 – 2006
Folder 21 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2005 – 2006
Folder 22 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Curriculum Proposals, 2005 – 2006
Folder 23 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2006 – 2007
Folder 24 Faculty Senate Annual Reports, 2006 – 2007
Folder 25 Faculty Senate Miscellaneous Reports, 2006 – 2007
Folder 26 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2006 – 2007
Folder 27 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2006 – 2007

   Box 3 of 5: Faculty Senate (2007/2008-2010/2011)

Folder 1 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2007 – 2008
Folder 2 Faculty Senate Correspondence, 2007 – 2008
Folder 3 Faculty Senate Annual Reports, 2007 – 2008
Folder 4 Faculty Senate Miscellaneous Reports, 2007 – 2008
Folder 5 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2007 – 2008
Folder 6 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2007 – 2008
Folder 7 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2008 – 2009
Folder 8 Faculty Senate Nursing Program Proposal, 2008 – 2009
Folder 9 Faculty Senate Annual Reports, 2008 – 2009
Folder 10 Faculty Senate Miscellaneous Reports, 2008 – 2009
Folder 11 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2008 – 2009
Folder 12 Faculty Senate Minutes, Fall 2009, 2009 – 2010
Folder 13 Faculty Senate Minutes, Spring 2010, 2009 – 2010
Folder 14 Faculty Senate Annual Reports, 2009 – 2010
Folder 15 Faculty Senate Miscellaneous Reports, 2009 – 2010
Folder 16 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2009 – 2010
Folder 17 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2010 – 2011
Folder 18 Faculty Senate Annual Reports, 2010 – 2011
Folder 19 Faculty Senate Miscellaneous Reports, 2010 – 201
Folder 20 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2010 – 2011
Folder 21 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2010 – 2011

   Box 4 of 5: Faculty Senate (2011/2012- 2013/2014)

Folder 1 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2011 – 2012
Folder 2 Faculty Senate Annual Reports, 2011 – 2012
Folder 3 Faculty Senate Miscellaneous Reports, 2011 – 2012
Folder 4 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2011 – 2012
Folder 5 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2011 – 2012
Folder 6 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2012 – 2013
Folder 7 Faculty Senate Annual Reports, 2012 – 2013
Folder 8 Faculty Senate Miscellaneous Reports, 2012 – 2013
Folder 9 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2012 – 2013
Folder 10 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2012 – 2013
Folder 11 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2013 – 2014
Folder 12 Faculty Senate Annual Reports, 2013 – 2014
Folder 13 Faculty Senate Miscellaneous Reports, 2013 – 2014
Folder 14 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2013 – 2014
Folder 15 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, Fall 2013
Folder 16 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Curriculum Reports, Spring 2014

   Box 5 of 5: Faculty Senate (2014/2015-2016/2017)

Folder 1 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2014 – 2015
Folder 2 Faculty Senate Annual Reports, 2014 – 2015
Folder 3 Faculty Senate Miscellaneous Reports, 2014 – 2015
Folder 4 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2014 – 2015
Folder 5 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2014 – 2015
Folder 6 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Curriculum Proposals, 2014 – 2015
Folder 7 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2015 – 2016
Folder 8 Faculty Senate Annual Reports, 2015 – 2016
Folder 9 Faculty Senate Miscellaneous Reports, 2015 – 2016
Folder 10 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2015 – 2016
Folder 11 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2015 – 2016
Folder 12 Faculty Senate Minutes, 2016 – 2017
Folder 13 Faculty Senate Annual Reports, 2016 – 2017
Folder 14 Faculty Senate Miscellaneous Reports, 2016 – 2017
Folder 15 Faculty Senate Policy Proposals, 2016 – 2017
Folder 16 Faculty Senate Educational Policy Committee Reports, 2016 – 2017

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives