Faculty & Staff Vertical Files (1884-2019)
ref-334

Information about the Collection
The materials in this collection consist of newspaper clippings, biographical information, employment records, correspondence, memoranda, and photographs related to past and current Longwood faculty and staff.

Provenance
‚ÄčThese materials were, and continue to be, collected by Greenwood Library as well as other offices and departments at Longwood University.

Scope and Content
The materials in this collection range in date from 1884 through 2019 and are arranged alphabetically by last name. The photographs in this collection can be located in photograph binder #19, are arranged numerically, and can be identified by the photograph id# included in the description of each image in the attached complete finding aid.

Size
This collection consists of 4.0 linear feet contained in 4 archival bankers boxes.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

For a complete listing of folder contents please see the attached complete finding aid.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 4: Abrams-Flynn

   A

Abrams, Colonel Bernard B.

Agnew, Mary

Akre, Thomas

Allen, Edna

Alexander, Bevin

Andrews, Alleen

Andrews, Lula

Andrews, Nancy Ann

Arnold, B.W.

Ashton, Bessie C.

Atkison, William Marshall

Austin, John

   B

Baldridge, Mark

Baldwin, Pinkey, III

Banton, Lee

Barber, Patrick

Barclay, Bessie

Barksdale, Emily

Barlow, Mary

Barnes, Mary Helen

Bartkowska, Carrie

Barto, Gertrude

Bates, Brian

Bauldin, Ellen B.

Beach, Bob

Beale, Grace

Bedford, Virginia

Bell, Leon

Berkely, Fannie

Berkis, Alexander V.

Biddle, Anna E.

Bidgood, Lee

Bierbower, Ada Randolph

Bingner, Janet L.

Bishop, Barbara

Bittinger, M. Henry

Blackiston, Helen

Blackwell, Herbert R.

Blackwell, Houston

Bland, Beatrice R.

Blandy, Mary

Blanton, Annie

Blanton, Emma Bugg

Blanton, Mollie H.

Blanton, Thelma

Blasch, Robert

Blauvelt, Anna L.

Boaz, Polly

Bobbitt, Eleanor

Boggs, Earl R.

Bolding, Charles "Buddy"

Bolick, Edna Ruth

Bowles, K. Johnson

Bowman, Olive Smith

Bowman, Warren D.

Boyer, Calvin J.

Brasile, Frank M.

Breil, David A.

Bretnall, George H.

Bretnall, Lulu C.

Brimblecom, Clara M.

Bristol, George R.

Brockenbrough, Rebecca

Brooks, Frances D.

Brown, Helena

Brown, Thelma

Browning, Alma

Bruce, Carroll

Brumfield, Robert

Buford, Florence

Bugg, Mary Elizabeth

Bugg, Virgilia Irving

Bugg, Virginia

Bullock, Mary Louise

Burr, Charles G.

Bush, Celeste

Bush, Sally

Butler, Charles E.

Byrd, Arthurh W., Jr.

   C

Camper, Pauline

Capron, Eva L.

Carr, Lt. Col. John E., III

Carroll, Marguerite

Carter, Alice E.

Cash, Myrtle

Cathcart, Blanche

Chavatal, George R.

Cheatham, E. Edith

Church, Audrey

Cieplinski, Stan

Clark, Billy

Clark, Theresa

Cleaveland, Kathleen D.

Closson, Mary

Cogbill, Carolyn

Coit, Fannie L.

Compton, Myra

Cook, Martha Emily

Cooper, Fleeta

Cormier, Raymond

Coulling, Martha W.

Counts, Olive B.

Couture, Richard T.

Coyner, Martin Boyd

Coyner, Ruth Harding

Cox, Benjamin Matthew

Cox, Mary Venable

Cox, Mary White

Craddock, Ottie

Crafts, Worthy Johnson

Crawley, Hannah F.

Cridlin, William B.

Cristo, Anthony B.

Culkin, Mabel L.

Cunningham, John A.

Curley, James

Curry, Jabez Monroe

   D

Davis, Julia Johnson

Davis, Lucy Alice

Davis, S. Elizabeth

Davis, Mildred Dickinson

de los Reyes, B.W.

Dent, I.B.

Dickinson, Mildred Watkins

Diehl, Catherine M.

Diehl, Mary Frederica

Dietrich, Emma Z.

Dinturff, C. Belle

Dorrill, William F.

Drach, Florence C.

Drake, Mary Louise

Draper, Helen

Duke, S.P.

Duncan, Shirely

Dunn, Fannie Wyche

   E

Eason, Thomas Dotterer

Edwards, Jeanette F.

Eggleston, Elizabeth Carrington

Eggleston, Julia Johnson

Elliott, George

Emery, Eliza L.

Emory, Samuel

Etheridge, Elizabeth

Eubank, Mamie

Evans, Mildred

Everett, Ellen Douglas

   F

Faithfull, Clarence M.

Fallis, Androniki "Niki"

Falls, M. Elizabeth

Farman, Eleanor B.

Farmer, Berkwood M.

Fattig, Perry Wilbur

Fawcett, L.R., Jr.

Ferguson, Lynn M.

Fettig, Edwin J.

Fields, Susan W.

Fitzpatrick, Carrie

Fitzpatrick, Mary Louise Robertson

Fleming, Claudia

Floyd, Susie V.

Flynn, Elisabeth L.

   Box 2 of 4: Foolkes-Mattoon

   F

Foolkes, Dorothy May

Foster, Nancy

Fowlkes, Melinda

Frank, William

Frazer, Robert

Freeborn, Elizabeth

French, Raymond Holliday "Charlie Hop"

   G

Gaines, Elizabeth Venable

Garth, Thomas R.

Gash, Mattie Pauline

Gibbons, Raymond D.

Gibert, Elizabeth

Gilchrist, Colonel Raymond

Gilkeson, Rebecca B.

Gill, Rexie S.

Gleaves, Ruth

Graham, Blanche E.O.

Graham, Samuel Lyle, II

Grainger, Mary E.

Grainger, James M

Greenwood, Janet D.

Grenels, E. Myrtle

Gresham, Foster B.

Griffin, Nell H.

Gussett, Jim

Gwyn, Elsie

   H

Haga, Nancy

Haliburton, Margaret W.

Halliday, Jeff

Halsey, S.W.

Harbaum, Darrell G.

Harbour, William R.

Hardy, Ellen Irby

Hardy, Sadie J.

Harris, Eloise J.

Harrison, Eloise Ambler

Harriss, Phyliss

Harvey, Lelia Jefferson

Harvill, Alton M.

Hatchett, Mary Frances

Haynes, Mary Burns

Heintz, Mary A.

Helms, James

Henderlite, Rachel

Henderson, L.P.

Henry, Sibyl

Hesselink, Paul S.

Hevener, Fillmer

Hewlett, Elizabeth

Hill, M. Katherine

Hills, Laura K.

Hiner, Mary Clay

Hlad, Lawrence

Hodge, F.A.

Holladay, Genevieve B.V.

Holton, Samuel M.

Hooker, Charlotte S.

Hopper, Minnie W.

Houck, Mary Frances

Howard, Ida M.

Howe, Patricia

Hunt, Kate

Hurley, Richard V.

Hutchinson, Adele

   I

Iler, Olive T.

   J

Jackson, Elizabeth Burger

Jacques, Wilfred

Jarman, Elizabeth Parker

Jarman, Joseph Leonard

Jarrett, Ethel L.

Jeffers, Anne Shelton Meredith

Jeffers, George W.

Jennings, Ellen Lucille

Jesson, Roy

Jeter, Bessie H.

Johnson, Belle

Johnson, Edgar M.

Johnson, Josephine

Johnson, Julia T.

Johnson, Randall

Johnson, Worthy

Johnston, Edith

Jones, Bessie Gordon

Jones, Deneese

Jones, Elmer E.

Jones, Mary Phillipa

Jordan, James "Jim"

   K

Kelley, Debra S.

Kelly, Sarah Pauline

Kendrick, Evelyn

Kennedy, Elizabeth Fronde

Kennedy, Margaret

Kennerly, Mattie

Kerlin, Robert

Kidder, Betty B.

King, Katherine

Kinzer, Annie L.

Kite, George L.

Kline, Fannie Littleton

Kline, Linus W.

Koontz, C.E.

   L

Lancaster, Frances Morton

Lancaster, Natalie

Land, E. Lee

Landrum, Emily K.

Landrum, Merle Lloyd

Lane, Charles

Law, Joseph J.

Lea, Flora Lessie

Lear, J. Merritt

Lee, Frank A., Jr.

Lee, Lillian A.

Lee, Vivian M.

Lehman, Robert H.

Leitch, Nancy

Lemen, Janice

LeSturgeon, Martha

Lewis, Elizabeth

Lewis, Nannie M.

Lewis, Thomas W.

Lockwood, Patton

London, Lila

London, Willie

Long, Mary S.

Long, Raymond Victor

Lund, Michael

Lupton, Kate

Lust, Pat

Lynch, Susan

   M

Mable, Phyllis

MacDonald, Sarah Harris

Maddox, William Arthur

Magnusson, Harold K.

Mapp, Madeline

March, Blanche

Marks, Melanie

Markwith, Louis

Marshall, Edith May

Marshall, Elizabeth Glass

Martin, Elizabeth Lee Hutt

Martin, Mattie

Mason, Charles W.

Matthews, Mary S.

Mattoon, John Chester

   Box 3 of 4: McArdle-Somers

   M

McArdle, Nell Isabell

McCanless, Cathy Overby

McCorkle, Thomas Alexander

McCormick, Louise Steele

McGill, Joseph C.

McLester, Amelia

McMullan, Carolyn

McWee, Wayne

Meese, Ruth

Merkle, Don

Messenger, J. Franklin

Meyer, Florence

Millar, Gilbert John

Millican, Hazel Bernice

Millidge, Francis A.

Miner, Clara W.

Minor, Eva

Mitchell, John J.

Mix, Grace Eldridge

Moffett, Edna V.

Molnar, John W.

Monahan, Susan

Moore, Ray A.

Moran, Grace Browning

Morrison, Portia Lee

Moss, Charles George Gordon

Murphy, Ellen J.

Murphy, Margaret

Munõz, Christine E.

Murrell, Frances P.

Myers, Norman O.

   N

Neill, Eleanor B.

Nelson, James

Newman, Mamie

Nichols, Mary P.

Noone, E.T.

Norris, Georgie

Noyes, Mabel M.

Nuckols, Margaret Lynn

   O

Oppermann, Gertrude

Osborn, Marilyn

Owings, William

Overall, Lydia

Overton, Terry

   P

Pace, Robert

Palmer, Kris

Palmer, Rosan

Palmer, Suzy Szasz

Parrish, Celestia S.

Parter, Sue

Patteson, S. Gay

Paul, Jimmy H.

Peale, John

Peck, Mary E.

Penney, Ida Woodrow

Perkins, Ellen G.

Pettit, Mary G.

Pierce, Mary D.

Potts, M. Virginia

Powell, Annie M.

Power-deFul, Lissa

Preot, Arnaud

Pritchett, Sallie E.

Purdom, Lisabeth

   R

Randolph, Bessie Carter

Reed, Alice

Reese, Ruben D.

Reveley, W. Taylor, IV

Reynolds, Virginia

Rice, Minnie Vaughn

Richardson, Lelia

Ring, Gordon

Roane, R. Avice

Robertson, Beverly H.

Robertson, Jason

Robeson, Helen Minor

Robinson, Rachel C.

Rohr, Florence

Rohr, Mamie E.

Ross, Annie Lee

Ross, Charles

Ross, Mira B.

Rouillard, Paul

Rouse, Charles A.

Rubley, Earl A.

Ruffin, Beverley

Ruffner, William Henry

Russell, Abi

Russell, Grace L.

   S

Saunders, Mary Meade

Savage, Helen B.

Savage, William

Savedge, Mary Adams

Schartle, Dorothy

Schlegel, Dorothy

Schlegel, Marvin

Schoper, Sarah

Scott, Katherine

Scott, Marvin W.

Sears, Otis B.

Sedgewick, Ellory

Shackelford, Meade

Shelton, Nancy Britton

Silveira, Maria

Simkins, Francis Butler

Simonini, Rinaldo

Skidmore, Ella G.

Smith, Agnes Garfield

Smith, Barbara

Smith, Edward D.

Smith, J. David

Smith, Martha

Smith, Meredith

Smith, Ruth

Smithey, Estelle

Snead, Mary McCauley

Snow, Laetitia Morris

Snow, Rebecca R.

Somers, Grover Thomas

   Box 4 of 4: Spear-Young

   S

Spear, Edna

Spradlin, Carrie

Sprague, Rosemary

Spratley, Mabel E.

Stephens, Raphael, III

Stephenson, Georgiana

Stevens, Edith

Stokes, Lydia Overall

Stone, Mary Fredericka

Stone, Virginia

Strick, Alfred H.

Stuart, Bill

Stuart, Don

Stubbs, Florence

Supper, Philomena

Sutherland, Ethel

Sutherlin, Carrie

Sydnor, Carrie

   T

Tabb, Jennie Masters

Taliaferro, Carrie Brown

Taliaferro, Ruth

Taplin, Gardner

Taylor, Georgie Mai

Taylor, Stella Bosworth

Theroux, Alexander

Thomas, Olive Esther

Thompson, Conway

Thompson, Mary Penn

Tidyman, Willard F.

Tillman, Maud Inez

Topham, Kristen

Treakle, Frances C.

Tucker, Callie

Tucker, Sarah Boyd

Tupper, Katherine

Turner, Helen May

Turner, Morris K.

   V

Van Ness, Gordon

Vassar, Edwin

Vaughan, Mary Walters

Vest, Quentin

Vick, Nancy Harper

Vickroy, Clara E.

vonSchilling, Ilma

   W

Wacker, Phyllis Gee

Wainwright, Margaret

Walker, Annie Cato

Walker, Lula V.

Walmsley, James Elliott

Walton, Annie

Wamsley, Jacob Haigler

Waterbury, Alberta E.

Waters, Frances

Watkins, Asa Dickinson

Watkins, Laura D.

Watkins, Mary Wisely

Webber, Robert P.

Welch, Deborah

Welker, Gertrude

Wellard, James

Wells, Bertha E.

Wells, Carolyn

West, M.C.

Wheeler, Leola

Whitfield, Alice M.

Whiting, Marie Louise

Wilkins, Ruth

Wilkinson, Anne C.

Willett, Henry

Williams, Lyon

Williams, Rodney

Williams, Thomas

Williams, Vera

Williamson, Pauline

Wilson, Jean C.

Wilson, Ruth B.

Winkler, Donald

Winston, Lulie G.

Witschey, Walter

Woodburn, Robert J.

Worster, Kathy

Wygal, Fred O.

Wynne, Anne Curry

Wynne, John Peter

   Y

Yarbrough, James M.

Yost, Jennie A.

Young, Douglas

Download/Print Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives