Schlegel Slide Collection
LU-120

Information about the Collection

Marvin W. Schlegel and Dorothy Badders met at Columbia University in 1933 and married 8 years later. Both were from Pennsylvania, but moved to Virginia around 1943. In about 1948, Marvin earned a position as an Associate Professor of History at Longwood College; a few years later in 1954, Dorothy joined the Longwood faculty as an assistant professor of English. Marvin was active with several student organizations including, Pi Delta Epsilon, Pi Gamma Mu, The Rotunda, the Canterbury Club, and the Student Government Association. Dorothy was also active outside the classroom serving as advisor to Theta Sigma Epsilon, Boerc Eh Thorn (the Honorary English Society) as well as an advisor to the Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA). Both left Longwood College around 1966 and moved to the Virginia Beach area.

Provenance‚Äč

This collection came to the Greenwood Library Archives as a gift from the estate of Dr. Dorothy Schlegel.

Scope and Content

The collection consists of photographic slides taken about 1949-1967, the photos cover a wide array of campus, student and classroom activities.

Size

This collection consists of 913 slides in 1 photographic binder (.35 linear feet). Slides are housed in slide sleeves.

Notes

There are no restriction to access or use for research purposes.

The Robert T. Brumfield Collection, LU -257 contains slides with similar dates and activities; some may provide different angles of the same events.

* after a slide description indicate that slide is digitized.

Digitized content from this collection is available on the Longwood University Digital Commons.

Contents of the Collection

   120.001-120.100

120.001 - May Day 1950*
120.002 - Theta Sigma Upsilon, sorority function* 
120.003 - Theta Sigma Upsilon, sorority function*
120.004 - Theta Sigma Upsilon, sorority function* 
120.006 - Theta Sigma Upsilon, sorority function* 
120.007 - Theta Sigma Upsilon, sorority function* 
120.008 - Theta Sigma Upsilon, sorority function* 
120.009 - Theta Sigma Upsilon, sorority function* 
120.010 - Theta Sigma Upsilon, sorority function* 
120.011 - Theta Sigma Upsilon, sorority function*
120.012 - Theta Sigma Upsilon, sorority function* 
120.013 - Freshman Skit, 1954* 
120.014 - Freshman Skit, 1954* 
120.015 - Freshman Skit, 1954* 
120.016 - Freshman Skit, 1954* 
120.017 - Freshman Skit, 1954* 
120.018 - Freshman Skit, 1954* 
120.019 - Freshman Skit, 1954* 
120.020 - Freshman Skit, 1954* 
120.021 - Freshman Skit, 1954* 
120.022 - Freshman Skit, 1954* 
120.023 - Circus, 1955, Sophomores
120.024 - May Day, 1955* 
120.025 - May Day, 1955* 
120.026 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.027 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.028 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.029 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.030 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.031 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.032 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.033 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.034 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.035 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.036 - Fiesta, 1955
120.037 - Fiesta, 1955
120.038 - Fiesta, 1955
120.039 - Fiesta, 1955
120.040 - Fiesta, 1955
120.041 - Fiesta, 1955
120.042 - Fiesta, 1955
120.043 - Fiesta, 1955
120.044 - Fiesta, 1955
120.045 - Fiesta, 1955
120.046 - Fiesta, 1956
120.047 - Fiesta, 1956
120.048 - Circus, 1956, practice
120.049 - Circus Parade, 1956* 
120.050 - Circus Parade, 1956* 
120.051 - Circus Parade, 1956* 
120.052 - Circus Parade, 1956* 
120.053 - Circus Parade, 1956
120.054 - Class Day, 1956* 
120.055 - Class Day, 1956
120.056 - Class Day, 1956
120.057 - Class Day, 1956* 
120.058 - Class Day, 1956
120.059 - Class Day, 1956
120.060 - Class Day, 1956
120.061 - President's Reception, 1956* 
120.062 - Founder's Day, 1956, Jimmy Helms* 
120.063 - Founder's Day, 1956, Procession into Jarman Hall* 
120.064 - Water Pageant, 1956
120.065 - Water Pageant, 1956
120.066 - Water Pageant, 1956
120.067 - Water Pageant, 1956
120.068 - Water Pageant, 1956
120.069 - Jousting Tournament, Horse Parade, 1956
120.070 - Jousting Tournament, Horse Parade, 1956
120.071 - Jousting Tournament, Horse Parade, 1956* 
120.072 - Jousting Tournament, Horse Parade, 1956* 
120.073 - Jousting Tournament, Horse Parade, 1956* 
120.074 - Jousting Tournament, Horse Parade, 1956* 
120.075 - Jousting Tournament, Horse Parade, 1956* 
120.076 - Jousting Tournament, Horse Parade, 1956* 
120.077 - Jousting Tournament, Horse Parade, 1956* 
120.078 - Jousting Tournament, Horse Parade, 1956* 
120.079 - Rotunda, from Randolph Street* 
120.080 - Rotunda, May Day* 
120.081 - Rotunda and Colonnades* 
120.082 - Rotunda, from the Colonnades* 
120.083 - Longwood College campus, from the East* 
120.084 - Dorm Room (unknown building, unknown student)* 
120.085 - Junior Building (North Cunninghams)* 
120.086 - Junior Building (North Cunninghams)* 
120.087 - Longwood House, May Day, 1956* 
120.088 - Venable House (rear), 1956 (home was adjacent to Main Cunningham, prior to the building of South Cunningham)* 
120.089 - Venable House (front), 1956 (home was adjacent to Main Cunningham, prior to the building of South Cunningham)* 
120.090 - Elementary School (Hiner Building) (taken from Main Cunningham entrance)*
120.091 - Pine Street* 
120.092 - Pine Street* 
120.093 - West Wing* 
120.094 - Mrs. Gills' crepe myrtle.* 
120.095 - Rat Day 1956, Mary Davis Smith (center)* 
120.096 - May Day, 1956 * 
120.097 - Hardy House, wisteria* 
120.098 - Hardy House, wisteria* 
120.099 - Hardy House, back lawn* 
120.100 - St. Anne's Church, Appomattox* 

   120.101-120.200

120.101 - Lily Pond*
120.102 - Lily Pond, close-up of lily pad
120.103 - Flower show.
120.104 - Flower show.
120.105 - Flower show.
120.106 - Flower show.
120.107 - Flower show.
120.108 - Lancaster Library* 
120.109 - Founder's Day, 1957, alumnae
120.110 - Founder's Day, 1957, speaker
120.111 - Founder's Day, 1957, Nancy Lea Harris
120.112 - Founder's Day, 1957, speaker
120.113 - Founder's Day, 1957, Class of 1952 Reunion* 
120.114 - May Day, 1957, May Queen* 
120.115 - May Day, 1957, dancers performing* 
120.116 - May Day, 1957, dancers performing
120.117 - May Day, 1957, May Pole* 
120.118 - May Day, 1957, May Court
120.119 - May Day, 1957, "Indians"
120.120 - May Day, 1957, "Indians"
120.121 - May Day, 1957, May Court* 
120.122 - May Day, 1957, Sword Dance* 
120.123 - May Day, 1957, Sword Dance
120.124 - May Day, 1957, Sword Dance* 
120.125 - May Day, 1957, Sword Dance
120.126 - May Day, 1957, May Court* 
120.127 - May Day, 1957, May Queen departing*
120.128 - May Day, 1957, chorus
120.129 - May Day, 1957, dancers performing* 
120.130 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.131 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.132 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.133 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.134 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.135 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.136 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.137 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.138 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.139 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.140 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.141 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.142 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.143 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.144 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.145 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.146 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.147 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.148 - Rotunda* 
120.149 - Circus Parade, 1958
120.150 - Circus Parade, 1958* 
120.151 - Circus Parade, 1958, Freshman Marching* 
120.152 - Circus Parade, 1958, Sophomore Float* 
120.153 - Circus Parade, 1958, Sophomores
120.154 - Circus Parade, 1958, Juniors* 
120.155 - Circus Parade, 1958, Junior Float
120.156 - Circus Parade, 1958, Senior Float* 
120.157 - Circus Parade, 1958, Nancy Jane Striplin on horseback.* 
120.158 - Circus Parade, 1958, Alpha Kappa Gamma car.* 
120.159 - Circus Parade, 1958, Clown* 
120.160 - Rotunda in snow.* 
120.161 - Hardy House.* 
120.162 - Rotunda in snow.* 
120.163 - Confederate Statue, High Street.* 
120.164 - John's Memorial Church* 
120.165 - Hardy House.* 
120.166 - Farmville, welcome billboard (out of focus)
120.167 - John's Memorial Church* 
120.168 - Confederate Statue, High Street.* 
120.169 - Confederate Statue, High Street.* 
120.170 - Lancaster Library, front steps, students* 
120.171 - Lancaster Library* 
120.172 - Campus (as seen from the front of the Alumnae House)* 
120.173 - Rotunda, from High Street.* 
120.174 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing* 
120.175 - Lancaster Library* 
120.176 - Founder's Day, 1959, Alumnae House* 
120.177 - Founder's Day, 1959, Alumnae House* 
120.178 - Founder's Day, 1959, Alumnae House* 
120.179 - Founder's Day, 1959, Alumnae House front porch* 
120.180 - Founder's Day, 1959, Jarman Auditorium front steps, Dr. Dabney Lancaster* 
120.181 - Founder's Day, 1959, Procession, Dr. Francis Simkins (out of focus)
120.182 - Founder's Day, 1959, Procession, Faculty* 
120.183 - Founder's Day, 1959, Procession, Faculty, Students* 
120.184 - Founder's Day, 1959, Procession, Seniors, Minnie Lee (in foreground)* 
120.185 - Founder's Day, 1959, President's House, Ruth Gleaves* 
120.186 - May Day, 1959
120.187 - May Day, 1959* 
120.188 - May Day, 1959
120.189 - May Day, 1959* 
120.190 - May Day, 1959
120.191 - May Day, 1959
120.192 - May Day, 1959* 
120.193 - May Day, 1959
120.194 - May Day, 1959
120.195 - May Day, 1959
120.196 - May Day, 1959
120.197 - May Day, 1959
120.198 - May Day, 1959
120.199 - May Day, 1959
120.200 - May Day, 1959* 

   120.201-120.300

120.201 - May Day, 1959* 
120.202 - May Day, 1959
120.203 - May Day, 1959
120.204 - May Day, 1959
120.205 - May Day, 1959
120.206 - May Day, 1959, May Pole* 
120.207 - May Day, 1959, May Pole* 
120.208 - May Day, 1959, May Pole* 
120.209 - May Day, 1959, May Queen
120.210 - May Day, 1959, May Queen
120.211 - May Day, 1959, May Queen
120.212 - May Day, 1959, May Court
120.213 - Dorothy Schlegel, Jo ________, Pat Jones* 
120.214 - Final Exams (photo partially obscured by glare)* 
120.215 - Daisy Chain, 1959* 
120.216 - Daisy Chain, 1959* 
120.217 - Dorothy Shlegel, Emily ______, Sara Hastings* 
120.218 - Little Sisters, Commencement, 1959* 
120.219 - Commencement, Procession, 1959* 
120.220 - Commencement, Procession, Seniors, 1959* 
120.221 - Commencement, Procession, Seniors, 1959* 
120.222 - Little Sisters, Commencement, 1959* 
120.223 - Little Sisters, Commencement, 1959* 
120.224 - Commencement, overflow crowd outside Jarman, 1959* 
120.225 - Rotunda* 
120.226 - Rotunda* 
120.227 - Tennis, Jennette Marie Talbott* 
120.228 - Tennis, Jennette Marie Talbott* 
120.229 - Tennis, Jennette Marie Talbott* 
120.230 - Rat Day, 1959* 
120.231 - Rat Day, 1959* 
120.232 - Rat Day, 1959* 
120.233 - Rat Day, 1959* 
120.234 - Rat Day, 1959* 
120.235 - Rat Day, 1959* 
120.236 - Rat Day, 1959* 
120.237 - Rat Day, 1959* 
120.238 - Rat Day, 1959* 
120.239 - Rat Day, 1959* 
120.240 - Student Government, 1959* 
120.241 - Student Government, 1959
120.242 - Student Government, 1959* 
120.243 - Rotunda and Confederate Statue.* 
120.244 - Convocation, 1959, James Wellard, Robert Brumfield* 
120.245 - Convocation, 1959, Procession
120.246 - Convocation, 1959, Procession
120.247 - Convocation, 1959, Procession* 
120.248 - Convocation, 1959, Procession* 
120.249 - Convocation, 1959, Procession* 
120.250 - Convocation, 1959, Procession* 
120.251 - Convocation, 1959, Procession* 
120.252 - Convocation, 1959, Procession* 
120.253 - Convocation, 1959, Procession, Dorothy Schlegel, James Helms, Gardner Taplin* 
120.254 - Convocation, 1959, Procession, Seniors* 
120.255 - Convocation, 1959, Procession, Seniors* 
120.256 - Circus, 1959, Junior Skit
120.257 - Circus, 1959, Junior Skit
120.258 - Circus, 1959, Junior Skit
120.259 - Circus, 1959, Junior Skit
120.260 - Circus, 1959, Junior Skit
120.261 - Circus, 1959, Sophomore Skit
120.262 - Circus, 1959, Sophomore Skit
120.263 - Circus, 1959, Sophomore Skit
120.264 - Circus, 1959, Sophomore Skit
120.265 - Circus, 1959, Freshman Skit
120.266 - Circus, 1959, Freshman Skit
120.267 - Circus, 1959, Freshman Skit
120.268 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.269 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.270 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.271 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.272 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.273 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.274 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.275 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.276 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.277 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.278 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.279 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.280 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.281 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.282 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.283 - Circus Parade, 1959
120.284 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.285 - Circus Parade, 1959
120.286 - Circus Parade, 1959
120.287 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.288 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.289 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.290 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.291 - Circus Parade, 1959
120.292 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.293 - Circus Parade, 1959
120.294 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.295 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.296 - Circus Parade, 1959
120.297 - Circus Parade, 1959* 
120.298 - Circus Parade, 1959
120.299 - Circus Parade, 1959
120.300 - Circus Parade, 1959* 

   120.301-120.400

120.301 - Circus Parade, 1959*
120.302 - Circus Parade, 1959
120.303 - Circus Parade, 1959*
120.304 - Circus Parade, 1959
120.305 - Circus Parade, 1959
120.306 - Circus, 1959, Joann G. (dressed as clown) playing organ. (out of focus)
120.307 - Circus, 1959, Circus Ringmaster
120.308 - Circus, 1959, Senior Skit
120.309 - Circus, 1959, Senior Skit
120.310 - Circus, 1959, Senior Skit
120.311 - Circus, 1959, Senior Skit
120.312 - Circus, 1959, Senior Skit
120.313 - Circus, 1959, Senior Skit*
120.314 - Circus, 1959, Senior Skit*
120.315 - Circus, 1959, Senior Skit*
120.316 - Circus, 1959, Senior Skit
120.317 - Circus, 1959 (out of focus)
120.318 - Circus, 1959, Circus Ringmaster*
120.319 - Circus, 1959, Circus Ringmaster*
120.320 - Circus, 1959 (out of focus)
120.321 - Circus, 1959, Circus Queen*
120.322 - Circus, 1959, Junior Skit
120.323 - Circus, 1959, Junior Skit
120.324 - Jousting Tournament
120.325 - Jousting Tournament
120.326 - Jousting Tournament
120.327 - Jousting Tournament
120.328 - Jousting Tournament
120.329 - Jousting Tournament
120.330 - Jousting Tournament
120.331 - Jousting Tournament
120.332 - Jousting Tournament
120.333 - Jousting Tournament
120.334 - Jousting Tournament
120.335 - Jousting Tournament
120.336 - Jousting Tournament
120.337 - Jousting Tournament
120.338 - Jousting Tournament
120.339 - Jousting Tournament
120.340 - Jousting Tournament
120.341 - Jousting Tournament
120.342 - Jousting Tournament
120.343 - Jousting Tournament
120.344 - Dr. Moss walking toward Ruffner Hall (from High Street).*
120.345 - Rotunda, Christmas Tree, 1959*
120.346 - Rotunda, Christmas Tree, 1959*
120.347 - Rotunda, Christmas Tree, 1959*
120.348 - Rotunda, Christmas Tree, 1959*
120.349 - Unidentified building. Likely Hampden-Sydney.
120.350 - May Day, 1960*
120.351 - May Day, 1960*
120.352 - May Day, 1960*
120.353 - May Day, 1960
120.354 - May Day, 1960
120.355 - May Day, 1960
120.356 - May Day, 1960*
120.357 - May Day, 1960
120.358 - May Day, 1960*
120.359 - May Day, 1960
120.360 - May Day, 1960
120.361 - May Day, 1960
120.362 - May Day, 1960
120.363 - May Day, 1960
120.364 - May Day, 1960
120.365 - May Day, 1960
120.366 - May Day, 1960
120.367 - May Day, 1960
120.368 - May Day, 1960
120.369 - May Day, 1960
120.370 - May Day, 1960
120.371 - May Day, 1960
120.372 - May Day, 1960
120.373 - Dr. Moss, home on High Street.*
120.374 - Rotunda in snow.*
120.375 - Rotunda in snow.*
120.376 - Class outdoors. Front lawn of Ruffner Hall.*
120.377 - Easter Vacation. Cars and bus loading students on High Street.*
120.378 - Circus, 1960, Circus Skits
120.379 - Circus, 1960, Circus Skits
120.380 - Circus, 1960, Freshman Skit
120.381 - Circus, 1960, Freshman Skit
120.382 - Circus, 1960, Freshman Skit
120.383 - Circus, 1960, Sophomore Skit
120.384 - Circus, 1960, Sophomore Skit
120.385 - Circus, 1960, Sophomore Skit
120.386 - Circus, 1960, Sophomore Skit
120.387 - Circus, 1960, Junior Skit
120.388 - Circus, 1960, Junior Skit*
120.389 - Circus, 1960, Junior Skit*
120.390 - Circus, 1960, Junior Skit*
120.391 - Circus, 1960, Senior Skit
120.392 - Circus, 1960, Senior Skit*
120.393 - Students in classroom.*
120.394 - Unidentified coastal road. Ocean in background.
120.395 - Unidentified homes.*
120.396 - Unidentified home.*
120.397 - Unidentified home.
120.398 - Unidentified home.*
120.399 - Unidentified home.*
120.400 - South Carolina State Capitol building.*

   120.401-120.500

120.401 - Unidentified pasture road and farmhouse.*
120.402 - Unidentified office window looking out over snowy campus.*
120.403 - Freshman production.
120.404 - Freshman production.
120.405 - Freshman production.
120.406 - Freshman production.
120.407 - Freshman production.
120.408 - Freshman production.
120.409 - Freshman production.
120.410 - Freshman production.
120.411 - Freshman production.
120.412 - Freshman production.
120.413 - Lancaster Library renovation.*
120.414 - Wheeler Hall, forsythia.*
120.415 - North Cunningham, forsyhtia.*
120.416 - James Wellard, Mary Wellard, and Dorothy Schlegel*
120.417 - James Wellard, Mary Wellard, and Dorothy Schlegel*
120.418 - James Wellard and Dorothy Schlegel*
120.419 - James Wellard, Mary Wellard, and Dorothy Schlegel*
120.420 - Jousting Tournament
120.421 - YWCA Welcome, 1961, Ruffner Hall, Rotunda*
120.422 - YWCA Welcome, 1961, Ruffner Hall, Rotunda*
120.423 - YWCA Welcome, 1961, Ruffner Hall, Rotunda*
120.424 - Rotunda, Rat Day, 1961*
120.425 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.426 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.427 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.428 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.429 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.430 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.431 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.432 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.433 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.434 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.435 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.436 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.437 - Rat Day, 1961*
120.438 - John's Memorial Church and Confederate Statue.*
120.439 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.440 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.441 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.442 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.443 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.444 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.445 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.446 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.447 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.448 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.449 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.450 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.451 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.452 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.453 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.454 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.455 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.456 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.457 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.458 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.459 - Circus, 1961, Circus Parade*
120.460 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.461 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.462 - Circus, 1961, skit*
120.463 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.464 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.465 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.466 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.467 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.468 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.469 - Circus, 1961, skit*
120.470 - Circus, 1961, skit*
120.471 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.472 - Circus, 1961, skit*
120.473 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.474 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.475 - Circus, 1961, skit*
120.476 - Circus, 1961, skit*
120.477 - Circus, 1961, skit*
120.478 - Circus, 1961, skit
120.479 - Circus, 1961, skit*
120.480 - Circus, 1961, skit*
120.481 - Circus, 1961, Circus Ringmaster*
120.482 - Easter Vacation, students packing to leave.*
120.483 - Rotunda in snow.
120.484 - Rotunda in snow.
120.485 - Rotunda in snow. Students playing in snow.*
120.486 - Forsythia branches. Ruffner Hall obscured in background.
120.487 - Forsythia branches. Ruffner Hall in background.*
120.488 - Dogwood and forsythia blooming.
120.489 - Dogwood and forsythia blooming.
120.490 - Ruffner Hall. Taken from across High St.*
120.491 - Ruffner Hall. Taken from across High St. Judas Tree blooming.*
120.492 - Tulips in Hardy House lawn.
120.493 - Circus, 1962, Clown on stage.*
120.494 - Circus, 1962, Clown on stage.
120.495 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.496 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.497 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.498 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.*
120.499 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.*
120.500 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.*

   120.501-120.600

120.501 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.502 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.*
120.503 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.*
120.504 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.505 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.506 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.507 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.508 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.509 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.510 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.511 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.*
120.512 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.513 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.514 - Circus, 1962, Circus Skit.
120.515 - Convocation, 1962, Procession leaving Lancaster Library.*
120.516 - Convocation, 1962, Procession*
120.517 - Convocation, 1962, Procession*
120.518 - Convocation, 1962, Procession*
120.519 - Convocation, 1962, Procession*
120.520 - Convocation, 1962, Procession*
120.521 - Convocation, 1962, Procession*
120.522 - Convocation, 1962, Procession*
120.523 - Convocation, 1962, Procession*
120.524 - Convocation, 1962, Procession*
120.525 - Convocation, 1962, Procession
120.526 - Convocation, 1962, Procession
120.527 - Convocation, 1962, Procession
120.528 - Convocation, 1962, Dabney Lancaster leaving Jarman Auditorium.*
120.529 - Convocation, 1962, Dabney Lancaster leaving Jarman Auditorium.
120.530 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.531 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.532 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.533 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.534 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.535 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.536 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade
120.537 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.538 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade
120.539 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.540 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.541 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.542 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.543 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.544 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade
120.545 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.546 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.547 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.548 - Circus, 1962, Circus Parade*
120.549 - Lancaster Library*
120.550 - Advisees, 1962.*
120.551 - Wheeler Hall.*
120.552 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing*
120.553 - Ruffner Hall, Judas Tree blooming.*
120.554 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing*
120.555 - Hardy House*
120.556 - Hardy House*
120.557 - Hardy House*
120.558 - Hardy House*
120.559 - Hardy House*
120.560 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing, forsythia blooming.*
120.561 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing, forsythia blooming.*
120.562 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing, forsythia blooming.*
120.563 - Hardy House*
120.564 - Hardy House*
120.565 - Hardy House*
120.566 - Rotunda (newspaper) Office, Old Science Building, Home Economics Building, Stevens Hall, North Cunningham, Wheeler Hall, Pine Street.*
120.567 - Lancaster Library (rear)*
120.568 - Lancaster Library (rear)*
120.569 - Lancaster Library (rear)*
120.570 - Lancaster Library (rear)*
120.571 - North Cunningham, Wheeler Hall, Jarman Auditorium*
120.572 - Baptist Collegiate Ministry*
120.573 - Cox Residence Hall*
120.574 - Two students leaving Cox Dormitory*
120.575 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing, forsythia blooming.*
120.576 - Hardy House
120.577 - Hardy House*
120.578 - Hardy House*
120.579 - Hardy House*
120.580 - Hardy House
120.581 - Hardy House
120.582 - Hardy House
120.583 - Hardy House
120.584 - Rotunda in snow.
120.585 - Rotunda in snow.
120.586 - Rotunda in snow.*
120.587 - Confederate Statue and Methodist Church in snow.*
120.588 - Rotunda in snow.*
120.589 - Rotunda in snow.*
120.590 - Rotunda in snow.
120.591 - Rotunda in snow.
120.592 - Longwood Campus in snow.*
120.593 - Hardy House (Randolph St. apt.), in snow.*
120.594 - Hardy House*
120.595 - Hardy House
120.596 - Hardy House
120.597 - Hardy House
120.598 - Flowers.
120.599 - Commencement, 1966, Wheeler Hall*
120.600 - Commencement, 1966, Wheeler Hall*

   120.601-120.700

120.601 - Commencement, 1966, Wheeler Hall*
120.602 - Commencement, 1966, Wheeler Hall*
120.603 - Commencement, 1966, Wheeler Hall*
120.604 - Commencement, 1966, Wheeler Hall*
120.605 - Hardy House, dogwood blooming*
120.606 - Hardy House, dogwood blooming, Dorothy Schlegel standing in front.*
120.607 - Hardy House (Randolph St. apt.)*
120.608 - Commencement, 1967, Wheeler Hall*
120.609 - Commencement, 1949, Ruffner Hall*
120.610 - Commencement, 1949, Ruffner Hall*
120.611 - Fiesta, 1955, Longwood College
120.612 - Fiesta, 1955, Longwood College
120.613 - Fiesta, 1955, Longwood College
120.614 - Fiesta, 1955, Longwood College
120.615 - Fiesta, 1955, Longwood College
120.616 - Fiesta, 1955, Longwood College
120.617 - Fiesta, 1955, Longwood College
120.618 - Circus, 1955, Circus Parade, Freshman Float*
120.619 - Circus, 1955, Circus Parade, Junior Float
120.620 - Circus, 1955, Circus Parade, Senior Float
120.621 - Circus, 1955, Circus Queens
120.622 - Circus, 1955, Junior Skit
120.623 - Circus, 1955, Senior Skit
120.624 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.625 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.626 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.627 - Water Pageant, 1955
120.628 - Lantern Parade, 1956*
120.629 - Ruffner Hall, front lawn, students sitting on benches.*
120.630 - Convocation, 1956, Francis G. Lankford*
120.631 - Sophomore History Class, 1956*
120.632 - Founder's Day, Alumni House, Franckis G. Lankford on front steps.*
120.633 - Founder's Day, 1956, Procession*
120.634 - Water Pageant, 1956
120.635 - Water Pageant, 1956
120.636 - May Day, 1956, May Court
120.637 - May Day, 1957, May Pole*
120.638 - Water Pageant, 1957
120.639 - Circus, 1959, Circus Parade*
120.640 - Circus, 1959, Circus Parade
120.641 - Circus, 1959, circus skit
120.642 - Daisy Chain, 1959, walking down High Street.*
120.643 - Daisy Chain, Convocation, 1959, Procession.*
120.644 - Rat Day, 1960, Freshman Rats washing Joanie on the Pony.*
120.645 - Freshman Parents outside Ruffner Hall.*
120.646 - Inaugural Procession leaving Lancaster Library.
120.647 - Inaugural Procession walking down High Street (towards Jarman Auditorium)*
120.648 - Inaugural Procession, Colgate Darden, Francis G. Lankford*
120.649 - Inaugural Procession, Francis Simkins, Floyd F. Swertfeger*
120.650 - Inaugural Procession, Seniors.*
120.651 - Inaugural Procession walking down High Street (towards Jarman Auditorium)*
120.652 - Inaugural Procession entering Jarman Auditorium.*
120.653 - Inaugural Procession entering Jarman Auditorium.*
120.654 - Inaugural Procession leaving Lancaster Library.
120.655 - Inaugural Procession leaving Jarman Auditorium.
120.656 - Inaugural Procession entering Jarman Auditorium.*
120.657 - Inaugural Procession entering Jarman Auditorium. Dorothy Schlegel.*
120.658 - Inaugural Procession entering Jarman Auditorium.
120.659 - Inaugural Procession leaving Jarman Auditorium. Colgate Darden.
120.660 - Freshman history class.
120.661 - Longwood College Field Hockey, goalie save.*
120.662 - Wheeler Hall, Senior Building
120.663 - Lancaster Library*
120.664 - Lancaster Library
120.665 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing
120.666 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing
120.667 - Girls painting sidewalk. High Street.*
120.668 - Jarman Auditorium.
120.669 - Home Management House (aka B.M. Cox home)*
120.670 - Alumni House, entrance (interior)
120.671 - Alumni Council*
120.672 - Alumni Council*
120.673 - Alumni House*
120.674 - Alumni House*
120.675 - Alumni House
120.676 - Longwood Campus, from High Street.*
120.677 - Confederate Statue and Rotunda in snow.*
120.678 - Rotunda in snow.
120.679 - Rotunda in snow.
120.680 - Rotunda in snow.
120.681 - Rotunda, Christmas Tree.
120.682 - Longwood House and Field Hockey Field*
120.683 - Francis Simkins and James Helms.*
120.684 - Mary Jo Davis (1969) reading newspaper in library.*
120.685 - Students on stage. (image is overexposed)
120.686 - Possibly Circus Parade (likely 1956). Car decorated with Eisenhower presidential campaign slogans and posters. (Image severely out of focus)
120.687 - Snack bar.*
120.688 - Stubbs House.
120.689 - Hardy House.
120.690 - Hardy House.
120.691 - Hardy House.
120.692 - Hardy House.
120.693 - Hardy House.
120.694 - Hardy House.
120.695 - Hardy House.
120.696 - Hardy House.
120.697 - Hardy House.
120.698 - Joanie on the Pony. Methodist Church in background.*
120.699 - Joanie on the Pony. Methodist Church in background.*
120.700 - Snowman in front of Ruffner Hall.

   120.701-120.800

120.701 - Confederate statue and Rotunda.
120.702 - Confederate statue and Rotunda.
120.703 - Rotunda.
120.704 - Rotunda in snow.
120.705 - Student government.*
120.706 - Student government.*
120.707 - Student government.*
120.708 - Francis Butler Simkins*
120.709 - Midsummers Night Dream
120.710 - Midsummers Night Dream
120.711 - Midsummers Night Dream
120.712 - Midsummers Night Dream
120.713 - Founder's Day, Madrigal Singers
120.714 - Longwood College, historical marker, High Street.*
120.715 - May Day, dancers.
120.716 - John's Memorial Episcopal Church*
120.717 - John's Memorial Episcopal Church
120.718 - Lancaster Library
120.719 - Longwood House*
120.720 - Longwood House*
120.721 - House on Longwood Avenue, flowers
120.722 - House on Longwood Avenue, flowers
120.723 - Lancaster Library, clock tower
120.724 - Hampden-Sydney (old) Library*
120.725 - Longwood College, historical marker, High Street*
120.726 - Circus, Circus Parade float, 1956*
120.727 - Jousting tournament, horse parade.*
120.728 - Jousting tournament, horse parade.*
120.729 - Jousting tournament, horse parade.*
120.730 - Jousting tournament, horse parade.*
120.731 - Jousting tournament, horse parade.*
120.732 - Jousting tournament, horse parade.*
120.733 - Jousting tournament, horse parade.*
120.734 - Jousting tournament, horse parade.
120.735 - Jousting tournament, horse parade.*
120.736 - Jousting tournament, horse parade.
120.737 - Circus, Circus Parade, 1953*
120.738 - Gill House, High Street, Farmville*
120.739 - House on High Street, Farmville*
120.740 - President's Home (now Longwood Bed & Breakfast)*
120.741 - Unidentified Farmville home.
120.742 - Unidentified Farmville home.
120.743 - Unidentified yard.
120.744 - Unidentified yard.
120.745 - Unidentified Farmville home.*
120.746 - Unidentified children and home.* 1953
120.747 - Unidentified Farmville home.* 1953
120.748 - John's Memorial Church, stained glass window.
120.749 - John's Memorial Church, stained glass window.
120.750 - Joanie on the Pony and Colonnades.*
120.751 - Circus, Junior Skit
120.752 - Circus, Senior Skit
120.753 - Circus, Senior Skit
120.754 - Jarman Auditorium
120.755 - Jarman Auditorium
120.756 - John's Memorial Church*
120.757 - Francis Butler Simkins*
120.758 - May Day
120.759 – West Wing (Grainger) Hall*
120.760 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall
120.761 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall*
120.762 - Cunningham, main entrance
120.763 - South Cunningham*
120.764 - North Cunningham*
120.765 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall
120.766 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall
120.767 - Farmville Methodist Church*
120.768 - Fay __________*
120.769 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall
120.770 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall
120.771 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall, forsythia blooming
120.772 - Mary "Mamie" Nichols*
120.773 - Hampden-Sydney College, unidentified building
120.774 - Leola Wheeler and C. Gordon Moss in Longwood College car.*
120.775 - Unidentified sorority party.*
120.776 - Unidentified sorority party.*
120.777 - Unidentified sorority party.*
120.778 - Unidentified sorority party.*
120.779 - Unidentified sorority party.*
120.780 - Unidentified sorority party.*
120.781 - Unidentified sorority party.*
120.782 - Gill House (rear)*
120.783 - Gill House, Mrs. Gill*
120.784 - Gill House, children playing in yard.*
120.785 - Gill House, children playing in yard.*
120.786 - John's Memorial Church, stained glass window.*
120.787 - John's Memorial Church, side*
120.788 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing*
120.789 - Anne Caldwell (1957)*
120.790 - Anne Caldwell (1957)*
120.791 - Judy ___________*
120.792 - Judy ___________*
120.793 - Longwood College, historical marker, High Street*
120.794 - Longwood College, historical marker, High Street*
120.795 - President's home. (Longwood Bed & Breakfast)*
120.796 - Joanie on the Pony and Colonnades.*
120.797 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall
120.798 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall
120.799 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall
120.800 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall

   120.801-120.913

120.801 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall
120.802 - Lancaster Library
120.803 - Lancaster Library
120.804 - Lancaster Library
120.805 - Lancaster Library and High Street street sign.*
120.806 - Lancaster Library
120.807 - Lancaster Library
120.808 - Lancaster Library
120.809 - Longwood College campus.
120.810 - Student Building (French Hall)*
120.811 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing, forsythia blooming.
120.812 - Ruffner Hall, West Wing, forsythia blooming.
120.813 - Hardy House
120.814 - Hardy House
120.815 - Hardy House
120.816 - Hardy House
120.817 - Hardy House
120.818 - Hardy House
120.819 - Hardy House
120.820 - Hardy House*
120.821 - Hardy House
120.822 - Hardy House
120.823 - Hardy House
120.824 - Rotunda and daffodils.*
120.825 - Rotunda and daffodils.*
120.826 - Rotunda and daffodils.
120.827 - H221 Class outdoors. High Street, Moss home, and Crafts House in background.*
120.828 - H112 Class outdoors. Episcopal Church in background.*
120.829 - H112 Class outdoors. Methodist Church and Confederate statue in background.*
120.830 - H112 Class outdoors. Episcopal Church in background.*
120.831 - The Crucible.
120.832 - The Crucible.
120.833 - The Crucible.
120.834 - The Crucible.
120.835 - The Crucible.
120.836 - The Crucible.
120.837 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall.
120.838 - Rotunda, Ruffner Hall.
120.839 - Dr. Charles Gordon Moss standing on sidewalk in front of his home.*
120.840 - Lancaster Library, Pine Street in foreground.*
120.841 - Lancaster Library, Pine Street in foreground.*
120.842 - Lancaster Library.
120.843 - Dabney Lancaster Home.*
120.844 - Unidentified table setting.
120.845 - Unidentified group of women.
120.846 - Unidentified group of women.
120.847 - Unidentified group of women.
120.848 - Unidentified group of women.
120.849 - Dorothy Schlegel.*
120.850 - Pat Jones.
120.851 - Pat Jones.*
120.852 - Unidentified table setting.
120.853 - Unidentified room.
120.854 - Unidentified woman reading.
120.855 - Unidentified woman.
120.856 - Unidentified group of women.
120.857 - Unidentified group of women.
120.858 - Unidentified group of women.
120.859 - Unidentified group of women.
120.860 - Unidentified group of women.
120.861 - Dorothy Schlegel and man in clerical collar.
120.862 - Building in Charlotte Court House.
120.863 - Home in Charlotte Court House.
120.864 - Gravel Hill Plantation Home. Annefield, VA.
120.865 - Gravel Hill Plantation Home. Annefield, VA.
120.866 - Unidentified group of women.
120.867 - Unidentified group of women.
120.868 - Unidentified group of women.
120.869 - Dorothy Schlegel and man in clerical collar.*
120.870 - Parish House*
120.871 - Unidentified room.
120.872 - Front yard of Gill House, man raking leaves. High Street and Lancaster Library in background.*
120.873 - Front yard of Gill House. High Street and Lancaster Library in background.
120.874 - Alumni House, taken from front yard of Gill House.
120.875 - Front yard of Gill House, man raking leaves.
120.876 - Lancaster Library, taken from front yard of Gill House.
120.877 - Lancaster Library, taken from front yard of Gill House.*
120.878 - John's Memorial Church, Farmville (rear of building)*
120.879 - Jackie Wall, standing in front of Episcopal Church Parish House. High Street, Grainger Hall in background.*
120.880 - John's Memorial Church, Farmville*
120.881 - Longwood College, historical marker, High Street.
120.882 - Grainger Hall (West Wing)
120.883 - Tulips.
120.884 - Potted plant. Yard at Hardy House.
120.885 - Hardy House.
120.886 - Mary Ann King and Pat Altwegg
120.887 - Hiner Building, and the back of West Wing and Ruffner
120.888 - New Auditorium (Jarman) near the end of construction
120.889 - Longwood Colonnades
120.890 - Circus Parade
120.891 - Circus Parade
120.892 - May Day, 1955
120.893 - May Day, 1955
120.894 - May Day 1955
120.895 - May Day 1955
120.896 - May Day Court, 1956
120.897 - May Day Coronation 1956
120.898 - May Day Court arriving 1956
120.899 - May Day knights dancing 1956
120.900 - May Pole, 1956
120.901 - May pole, 1956
120.902 - Circus skit 1957
120.903 - Circus Skit 1957
120.904 - Circus Skit 1957
120.905 - May Day 1957
120.906 - May Day, 1957
120.907 - Circus Skit, 1959
120.908 - H20 (Water) Pageant, girl diving into the pool
120.909 - Commencement Ceremony 1969
120.910 - May Day
120.911 - May Day
120.912 - May Day
120.913 - May Day

Resources

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives