2016 Vice Presidential Debate
LU-143

Information about the Collection
On October 4th, 2016, Longwood University hosted the only Vice Presidential Debate for the 2016 general election. The Candidates for that year were Republican Mike Pence, running mate to Donald Trump, and Democrat Tim Kaine, running mate to Hillary Clinton. Tim Kaine was also a senator for Virginia during his campaign with Clinton. Longwood was chosen to host the debate primarily due to Farmville’s role in the Civil Rights Movement as well as the Civil War. Both the Union and Confederate armies marched through Farmville on their way to Appomattox Court House and the students who participated in the strike at Moton high school became plaintiffs in the case of Brown versus Board of Education. Hundreds of students volunteered to assist with the VP debate and they gained valuable experience working with news stations, the secret service, and many other organizations. The Vice Presidential Debate was an incredible opportunity for Longwood University to play a role in American politics and American history.

Provenance
All the items in this collection were collected by Greenwood Library with the exception of the journal in Box 3 which was donated by Nicole Perkins.

Scope and Content
Box 1 contains posters printed off by Longwood University’s printing services between the dates of September 16th, 2016 and April 4th, 2017 organized chronologically.
Box 2 contains newspaper articles published by the Rotunda and the Farmville Herald as well as Longwood University publications regarding the Vice Presidential Debate between the dates of July 22, 2016 to September 26, 2016 as well as stickers and medallions collected at Longwood University during the debate activities between October 1st, 2016 and October 2nd, 2016 all organized chronologically.
Box 3 contains Longwood website debate articles printed from the Longwood University website on August 31, 2016 and September 19, 2016, Greenwood Library correspondence printed from the email of Lydia Williams from February 1, 2016 to October 5, 2016, and ther memorabilia collected during the Vice Presidential Debate activities at Longwood University between October 1, 2016 and October 5, 2016 all organized chronologically.

Size
This collection consists of 3.7 linear feet contained in (1) archival legal-sized box and (2) archival flat boxes.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 3 - Posters from the 2016-2017 School Year

Longwood University Posters from September 16th, 2016 to April 4th, 2017

   Box 2 of 3 - Debate Articles and Memorabilia

Debate medallions

September 26th issue of the Rotunda

Joel K. Goldstein, “Cheney, Vice Presidential Power, and the War on Terror”

Greenwood Library Highlights: Annual Report 2016

Longwood Magazine fall 2015

Pre debate events

Farmville Herald, September 25, 2015

Farmville Herald, July 22, 2016

Farmville Herald, September 14, 2016

Longwood University Vice Presidential Debate Pen

   Box 3 of 3 - Debate Articles and Memorabilia Continued

Greenwood Library Correspondence Regarding the VP Debate

Longwood Website Debate Articles

Longwood Student’s Debate Journal

Longwood Magazine, fall 2016

Longwood Magazine, fall 2016

Longwood VIP guest nametag

Longwood Vice Presidential Debate t-shirt   

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives