College of Education and Human Services Collection
LU-119

Information about the Collection
The College of Education and Human Services at Longwood University is comprised of the following programs: Education (Bachelor’s and Master’s), Special Education, Reading, Literacy and Learning (M.Ed.), School Librarianship (M.Ed.), and Autism Spectrum Disorders Graduate Certificate.

Provenance
‚ÄčThe materials in this collection were received from the College of Education and Human Services in June 2012 and September 2012.

Scope and Content
The materials in this collection consist of reports, committee meeting minutes, studies, and publications dating from the early 1990s - 2012.

Size
This collection consists of 3.8 linear feet contained in 7 archival boxes.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1a of 7: Ireland, Technology and Innovative Practices

Folder 1 – Ireland Project, Fall 1997

            2 – Bi Gnóthach, Dr. Frank Howe, 1999

Folders 3-4 – Carol Inges, 1999-2000

             5-6 – Carol Inges, 2000-2001

Folder 7 – Carol Inges, “Longwood College Institute for Teaching through Technology and Innovative Practices,” 2004 (2 discs)

   Box 1b of 7: Committees

Folders 8-14 – DAC Meeting, 2000-2001

Folder 15 – Self Study Curriculum Sub-Committee, Fall 2001

Folders 16-19 – DAC Meeting, 2001-2002

Folder 20 – DAC Meeting, 2003

Folder 21 – DAC Meeting and Materials, 2005-2006

   Box 2 of 7: Office of the Dean and Superintendent’s Network (1995-1998)

Folder 1 – Dean’s Grants, second round, 2003-2004

            2 – International Studies

            3 – TPPT, Final Report

            4 – Title II, State Report

            5 – Dean’s Faculty Development Award, 2002-2003

Folders 6-7 – Dean’s Awards, first round, 2002-2003

Folders 8-10 – Dean’s Awards, second round, 2002-2003

Folder 11 – IITS, Information and Instructional Tech

Folders 12-13 – Dean’s Grants, first round, 2003-2004

             14-15 – Christina McAuliffe Award Recipients, 2004

Folder 16 – Superintendent’s Network, 1995-1996

            17 – Superintendent’s Network, 1996-1997

Folders 18-19 – Superintendent’s Network, 1997-1998

   Box 3 of 7: Superintendent’s Network (1998-2001) and Teachers for Tomorrow

Folder 1 – Superintendent’s Network, 1998-2000

            2 – Superintendent’s Network, 2000-2001

Folders 3-4 – Superintendent’s Network, 2001-2002

Folder 5 – Superintendent’s Network, 2002-2003

            6 – Superintendent’s Network, 2005-2006

            7 – Superintendent’s Network, 2007-2008

            8 – Superintendent’s Network, 2009-2001

Folders 9-12 – Teachers for Tomorrow, 1998-1999

Folder 13 – Teachers for Tomorrow, April 12, 2000

            14 – Teachers for Tomorrow, 2001-2002

            15 – Teachers for Tomorrow, 2002-2003

            16 – Teachers for Tomorrow, 2004

            17 – Teachers for Tomorrow, brochure

   Box 4 of 7: Undergraduate Social Work Program and Accreditation

Longwood University, Undergraduate Social Work Program, Self-Study: Vol. 1, 2007

Longwood University, Undergraduate Social Work Program, Self-Study: Vol. 2, 2007

Longwood University, Undergraduate Social Work Program, Self-Study: Vol. 3, 2007

Longwood University, Undergraduate Social Work Program, Self-Study: Vol. 4, 2007

Longwood University, Undergraduate Social Work Program, Self-Study: Vol. 5, 2007

Longwood University, Undergraduate Social Work Program, Self-Study: Vol. 6, 2007

Longwood University, Undergraduate Social Work Program, Self-Study: Vol. 7, 2007

Longwood University, Accreditation Review, Brief: Response, 2007

   Box 5 of 7: Grants, Projects, Records, Scholarship Banquets, and Reports

Virginia’s State Improvement Plan for Special Education (SIP) State Improvement Grant (SIG), Interim Report for Grant-Funded Project

  • February 15, 2001 (2copies)
  • August 20, 2001 (2 copies)
  • February 1, 2002

Longwood College, Graduate Studies Strategic Plan, January 31, 2001

American Heart Association, Learn and Live: 2005-2006, Hoops for Heart Teachers, Resource Guide and Virginia Standards of Learning

Communication Sciences and Disorders

Longwood University, Professional Education Unit-Wide Assessment Documents, Spring 2006 Drafts

Longwood University, College of Education and Human Services and the College of Arts and Sciences Education and Human Services Needs Assessment Survey Results, February 2006

Department of Education, Special Education, Social Work and Communication Disorders, Adjunct Faculty Guide, 2006/2007

Bridging the Gap, Newsletter, Vol. XX, Spring 1997

Bridging the Gap, Newsletter, Vol. XX, Spring 1998

Longwood University’s Twentieth Annual Scholarship and Awards Banquet, 2004

Longwood University’s Twenty-first Annual Scholarship and Awards Banquet, 2005

Longwood University’s Twenty-second Annual Scholarship and Awards Banquet, 2006

Longwood University’s Twenty-third Annual Scholarship and Awards Banquet, 2007

Longwood University’s Twenty-fifth Annual Scholarship and Awards Banquet, 2009

Longwood University’s Twenty-sixth Annual Scholarship and Awards Banquet, 2010

The Mission, Vision, and Five-Year Strategic Plan of Longwood College [1998 draft, written under the leadership of the new president, Dr. Patricia Cormier]

Liberal Studies, Special Education Five Year Program, 2001-2002, School of Education and Human Services

Banner, Longwood’s Implementation Strategy for Success (BLISS): Banner Finances Self-Service Training, 2006

Longwood College, Principal’s Institute, July 2000

Longwood College, Principal’s Institute, July 23-25, 2001

Final Report and Recommendations of the Ad Hoc Committee for Department Restructuring, February 2, 2007, College of Health and Human Services Department of Education, Special Education, Social Work, and Communications Disorders

Virginia Writing, Vol. 14, No. 2, 2001, Longwood College, Farmville, Virginia

“A Brief Look at Longwood College,” 1999/2000

Partnership Handbook, Department of Education, Special Education, Social Work, and Communication Disorders

Standards for Reading Professionals: Revised 2003; Professional Standards and Ethics Committee of the International Reading Association

The Southside Virginia Learning Network: Engaging Connections, May 1999, Longwood College, Saint Paul’s College, Governor’s Best Practice Center, and School Divisions of Southside Virginia (2 copies)

Nurturing the Parent-Teacher Alliance, 2005, Frank Howe and Betty Jo Simmons

Applications for Candidacy for Graduate Education Program in Speech-Language Pathology, 2005

Applications for Candidacy for Graduate Education Program in Speech-Language Pathology, Step IV, 2007, Dr. Deneese Jones

   Box 6 of 7: Programs, Newspaper Clippings, Memos, Accreditation, and Reports

Educators in the Workplace Program, Virginia Business and Education Commission

Executive-in-Resident Program Series, 2004-2005 – College of Business and Economics

Longwood Conference on Teaching and Learning: Educators as Reflective Leaders, March 24, 2001

The Farmville Herald, “School News,”  “Librarians Meet at Longwood College,” September 30, 1992

Southside Virginia Library News, Spring 1993

Hull Chat, Vol. 1, Issue 1, Spring 1999

The Educational Leader, Vol. 1, No. 1, Spring 1998

The Rotunda, Vol. 83, No. 1, November 6, 2003

Longwood College School of Liberal Arts and Sciences, newsletter, Fall 2001

Longwood College Academic Program Review Guidelines, 1996-1997, Office of Vice-President for Academic Affairs

Memorandum, August 22, 1996

NCATE Announcements, 2004

Miscellaneous NCATE items; 50 years of NCATE Accreditation Ceremony/Celebration (2004), Photos and brochures of the event, NCATE expense sheets, and correspondence to/with               Dr. Patricia Cormier

The Conceptual Framework and NCATE Institutional Report of the Longwood Professional Education Unit, August 2003

Lee Search, 1997/1998

Mary Ames Lee, finalists and second choice lists, 1994

NITPR Beginning and Halifax Proposal

“Lee Prof. G. Littler”

Setting Goals to Meet the Challenges of Literacy Instruction, Summer Leadership Institute, July 9, 2004

Summer Leadership Institute, 2003: Improving Teacher Quality through Courageous Conversations – Child Left Behind, Partnership with Glenn Singleton

Final Report and Recommendations of the Ad Hoc Committee for Department Restructuring, February 2, 2007

   Box 7 of 7: Reports, Newsletters, and Accreditation

Longwood University, Athletic Training Education Program Progress Report, May 2006

Longwood University, Therapeutic Recreation Program, May 2007

Longwood University, Athletic Training Education Program Progress Report, June 2007

Longwood University, Athletic Training Annual Report, October 7, 2002

Department of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance: Bylaws of the Department [1996 revision]

Longwood College, Athletic Training Education Program Curriculum Handbook, 1998/1999

Longwood University, Environmental Expedition Information Packet, May 10-June 4, 2004

Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation “A Tribute to Legendary Dancers,” January 19-21, 1996

The Lance: The Athletics Newsletter of Longwood College, Vol. 14, No. 4, July 1995

Longwood College Health Fair, 1998

TREC Accreditation, 2004

Athletic Training Accreditation, 2009-2010

Athletic Training Accreditation, 2003-2004

Procedural Guidelines for the Accreditation Process, 1992, 1995, and 1996

NRPA/AALR Council on Accreditation Twenty-Year Accreditation Review, March 18-20, 2002

NRPA/AALR Accreditation Visitation Response to Review, May 20, 2002, prepared by Dr. Glenda P. Taylor, CTRS

Athletic Training Program, 2007-2008

Athletic Training Accreditation Visit, March 5-7, 2000

Fuqua School Sports Medicine Day, March 10, 2000

JRC-AT Self-Study Report, draft, April 2000

JRC-AT Self-Study Report, program response, April 25, 2000

Longwood College, program report, May 1, 2001

Athletic Training Accreditation Visit, February 27-March 1, 2005

Athletic Training SCHEV Report, 2008

“Recent Longwood Alumnae… Where are They Now?” 2000 and 2003 graduates

Report of the Clinical Faculty Committee, Winter Semester 1997

   Located in Newsletter Box

The Alumni and Friends of the School of Business and Economics at Longwood, Winter, Summer, and Fall; 2002

Longwood Library’s Campus Newsletter, Fall 1993

Longwood Library’s Campus Newsletter, Spring 1996

Southside Virginia Library News, Spring 1993

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives