Special Collections and Archives Buttons

 

Title

Arnaud Preot Collection
LU-171

Archives & Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives

Top Matter

Information about the Collection
Arnaud Preot, a native of Lille, France, served as the second principal of Farmville Female College from 1862-1869. He had previously taught at Walkhill Academy in Pennsylvania and was a professor of music and languages at Southworth College in Petersburg, Virginia. He moved to Buckingham County in the 1850s to teach music at the Female Collegiate Institute, which faltered and closed its doors at the beginning of the Civil War. Preot took a job as a music and French teacher at Farmville Female College and was then named president after George La Monte left the school.

Under Preot’s tenure, the faculty was enlarged and a three-year degree program for select students was instituted. Tuition and fees at the college were also increased to $63 for music and language and $64 for board. By 1864-65, enrollment at Farmville Female College increased to 87 students, in addition to a number of other scholars seeking certificates of proficiency. Preot resigned the presidency in 1869 to teach at Danville Female College. When that institution closed in 1870, he then accepted a position on the faculty of Roanoke Female College where he eventually served as principal.

Provenance
The items in this collection were originally donated (date unknown) by Arnaud Preot’s granddaughter, Mrs. W.H. Worth, to Dr. J.M. Helms of the Longwood History Department.

Scope and Content
The Arnaud Preot Collection contains sheet music that was either composed or arranged by Arnaud Preot and his French passport.

Size
This collection consists of 1.7 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1

Arnaud Preot, passport

The Royal Psalmist, composition book with sheet music arranged by Arnaud Preot

The Hunters Chorus with parts for (3) bass, (3) soprano, (3) tenor, (2) alto, (1) counter

Thou Art Crumbling to the Dust, Old Pile!, music composed by Arnaud Preot, dedicated: To the Ladies of Petersburg, VA.