Dabney S. Lancaster Collection
LU-026

Information about the Collection

Dr. Dabney S. Lancaster (1889-1975) was a graduate of the University of Virginia where he studied Mathematics, French, and Latin. After graduating in 1910 he taught briefly at the Chamberlayne School for Boys (now St. Christopher’s) in Richmond, VA where he also coached football. In 1913 he attended graduate school at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech) where he studied animal sciences and taught French. Dr. Lancaster graduated from Virginia Polytechnic in 1915 and shortly thereafter began another graduate studies program at the University of Missouri. He completed this program in 1917 and soon after returned to Virginia Polytechnic as an Associate Professor in the Agricultural College.

In 1923, Dr. Lancaster joined the Virginia State Board of Education and in 1925 he was named Secretary of the State Board of Education and Assistant Superintendent. In 1929 Lancaster took a job as Dean of Men at the University of Alabama and would stay in that position for just over eight years. In the spring of 1937, however, he returned to Virginia and took a position at Sweet Briar College.

Dabney S. Lancaster was appointed by Virginia Governor James H. Price to serve as State Superintendent of Public Instruction in 1941. As superintendent, Dr. Lancaster pushed to reform education and in 1945 fought and won in the General Assembly for more funding to be allotted for public schools.

In 1946, Dr. Lancaster was appointed President of the State Teachers College at Farmville, Virginia. During his time at the institution a graduate program was added, several major buildings were built, and he oversaw the change in name to Longwood College.

In 1956 Dr. Lancaster was asked to chair the newly formed State Council for Higher Education and would continue in this role for eight years. In addition to several state board appointments, Dr. Lancaster served on the Board of Visitors for Madison College, the Medical School of Virginia, and the Virginia Military Institute.

Dr. Dabney S. Lancaster devoted over 65 years of his life to public education and left an indelible mark on both secondary and higher education in the state of Virginia. Dabney Lancaster S. Community College in Clifton Forge, VA was named in his honor in 1962. Dr. Lancaster passed away at the age of 85 on March 11, 1975.

Provenance‚Äč

The bulk of the materials in this collection were given to the Greenwood Library Archives in the fall of 2011 by Dr. Lancaster’s granddaughter, Mary Tabb Schubert. Additional materials were added to the collection in September 2018 again by Ms. Schubert.

Scope and Content

The materials in this collection date from 1848-1974 and are arranged in three main categories:

          1: Materials related to Dr. Lancaster’s father, Robert Alexander Lancaster.

                  Box 1 of 7, folders 1-58.

          2: Materials related to General George Doherty Johnston and his wife Stella Johnston.

                  Box 1 of 7, folders 59-66.

          3: Materials related to Dr. Dabney S. Lancaster.

                 Boxes 2-7.

The bulk of each of these categories consists of correspondence but also includes personal and biographical materials, business papers and receipts, writings, and speeches.

Size

This collection consists of 4.6 linear feet contained in (6) legal-sized archival boxes and (1) archival flat box.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Short biographies of those known subjects mentioned in this collection are provided, as endnotes, at the end of the full finding aid for this collection.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 7: Lancaster Family Papers

   Robert Alexander Lancaster

1 – Correspondence - 1848

2 – Correspondence - 1849

3 – Correspondence - 1850

4 – Correspondence - 1851

5 – Correspondence - 1852

6 – Correspondence - 1854

7 – Correspondence - 1855

8 – Correspondence - 1857

9 – Correspondence - 1858

10 – Correspondence - 1860

11 – Correspondence - 1862

12 – Correspondence - 1863

13 – Correspondence - 1864

14 – Correspondence - 1865

15 – Correspondence - 1866

16 – Correspondence - 1867

17 – Correspondence - 1868

18 – Correspondence - 1869

19 – Correspondence - 1870

20 – Correspondence - 1871

21 – Correspondence - 1872

22 – Correspondence - 1873

23 – Correspondence - 1875

24 – Correspondence – 1876

25 – Correspondence - 1879

26 – Correspondence - 1882

27 – Correspondence - 1885

28 – Correspondence - 1888

29 – Correspondence – 1889

30 – Correspondence - 1892

31 – Correspondence - 1902

32 – Correspondence - 1903

33 – Correspondence - 1904

34 – Correspondence - 1905

35 – Correspondence – undated

36 – Undated. Robert Lancaster, poetry.

37 – Undated. Description of Double Sporting Gun.

38 – 1850, Reminiscences of unknown writer.

39 – January 3, 1857 - Robert Lancaster, receipt for hire of slave “Jack.”

40 – 1857-1860 - Robert Lancaster, receipts from The Insurance Company of the Valley of Virginia.

41 – 1858-1860 & 1864-1865 - Robert Lancaster, miscellaneous receipts.

42 – January 1860 - Robert Lancaster, receipt for hire of slave “Mat.”

43 – 1860 - The Charter of the Richmond Railway Co.

44 – July 3, 1863 - Robert Lancaster, amended will.

45 – April 22, 1867 - Lancaster, Brown, & Co., business cards and incorporation documents.

46 – 1868 - Selden and Miller, Richmond, VA – agreement re: settlement of debt.

47 – 1870-1898 - Robert Lancaster, miscellaneous business papers and correspondence.

48 – 1873 - Robert Lancaster, inventory of household items, Baltimore, MD.

49 – 1878-1879 - Record of payments – John Wright to A.E. Sheppard.

50 – 1879-1881 - Robert Lancaster – checks written to R.B. Berkely, Farmville, VA.

51 – July 12, 1886 - The Baton, Richmond, VA - contains poem written by Robert Lancaster.

52 – 1888 - Stock Agreement, Richmond Hotel Company (Jefferson Hotel).

Signed by stockholders: Lewis Ginter, William Pemberton, P.H. Mays, Robert Lancaster.

53 – 1892 - Robert Lancaster, Delegation, National Nicaragua Canal Convention.

54 – 1895 - “Pastime Poetry,” written and self-published by Robert Lancaster. (copy)

55 – 1897 - Robert Lancaster, copy of last will and testament.

56 – 1898 - J.J. Gormley and W.R. Myers, sworn affidavit re: Atlantic, Tennessee, & Ohio Railroad.

57 – ca. 1900 - Pamphlet re: committee formed in defense of State Banks (R.A. Lancaster, Chairman).

58 – “Twas the night before leaving,” poem written by Grandmother and Grandfather Lancaster.

   Stella Johnston & Gen. George D. Johnston

59 – Correspondence - 1877

60 – Correspondence - 1885

61 – Correspondence - 1886

62 – Correspondence - 1889

63 – Correspondence - 1890

64 – Correspondence - 1891

65 – Correspondence - 1892

66 – 1862 & 1869 - George D. Johnston, receipts from Nicola Marschall.

   Box 2 of 7: Dabney S. Lancaster - Correspondence

1 – Correspondence - 1906

2 – Correspondence - 1907

3 – Correspondence - 1911

4 – Correspondence - 1915

5 – Correspondence - 1916

6 – Correspondence - 1917

7 – Correspondence - 1921

8 – Correspondence - 1930

9 – Correspondence - 1931

10 – Correspondence - 1932

11 – Correspondence - 1933

12 – Correspondence - 1934

13 – Correspondence – 1935 (1 of 3)

14 – Correspondence - 1935 (2 of 3)

15 – Correspondence - 1935 (3 of 3)

16 – Correspondence - 1936

17 – Correspondence - 1938

18 – Correspondence - 1939

19 – Correspondence - 1941

20 – Correspondence - 1942

21 – Correspondence - 1943

22 – Correspondence - 1944

23 – Correspondence - 1945

24 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: A

25 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: B

26 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: C

27 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: D

28 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: E

29 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: F

30 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: G

31 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: H

32 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: J

33 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: K

34 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: L

35 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: M

   Box 3 of 7: Dabney S. Lancaster - Correspondence (cont.)

1 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: N

2 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: O&P

3 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: R

4 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: S

5 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: W

6 – Correspondence - 1946, Surnames: Y&Z

7 – Correspondence - 1947

8 – Correspondence - 1948

9 – Correspondence - 1949

10 – Correspondence - 1950

11 – Correspondence - 1951

12 – Correspondence - 1952

13 – Correspondence - 1953

14 – Correspondence - 1954

15 – Correspondence - 1955

16 – Correspondence - 1956

17 – Correspondence - 1957

18 – Correspondence - 1958

19 – Correspondence - 1959

20 – Correspondence - 1960 (1 of 2)

21 – Correspondence - 1960 (2 of 2)

22 – Correspondence - 1961

23 – Correspondence - 1962

24 – Correspondence - 1963

25 – Correspondence - 1964

26 – Correspondence - 1965

27 – Correspondence - 1966

28 – Correspondence - 1967

29 – Correspondence - 1968

30 – Correspondence - 1969

31 – Correspondence - 1970

32 – Correspondence - 1971

33 – Correspondence - 1972

34 – Correspondence - 1973

35 – Correspondence - 1974

36 – Correspondence - undated

   Box 4 of 7: Dabney S. Lancaster - Writings

1 – 1920, “The Opportunity of the Church for Social Service in Rural Communities.”

2 – 1935-1936, articles written for the University of Alabama, Crimson-White.

3 – 1943, “The Educational Situation in Virginia.”

4 – 1943, “The Influence of Jefferson on Modern Education.”

5 – 1947, “Recent Public School Progress in Virginia.” UVA Newsletter.

6 – 1956, “The Teacher Situation in Virginia, Past & Present.” UVA Newsletter.

7 – 1956, Virginia School Boards Newsletter, statement on Gray Commission Report.

8 – undated, re: “the challenge for the church-related school.”

9 – undated, “The Contributions of Virginia’s School to the War Effort.”

10 – undated, “Education for Leadership.”

11 – undated, “Education in Virginia.”

12 – undated, “Effects of the Depression upon Student Life.”

13 – undated, re: “Farmville Female Seminary.”

14 – undated, re: high school graduates in the workforce.

15 – undated, “How Can Teachers Be Informed About Educations’ War Duties.”

16 – undated, re: the importance of education in modern democracy.

17 – undated, book review, “Madison College – The First Fifty Years, 1908-1958.”

18 – undated, “Making Democracy Work.”

19 – undated, “Needed Cooperation Between Colleges & Secondary Schools.”

20 – undated, “Problems of Public Education in Virginia.”

21 – undated, “The Relationship of the Pastor to Public Schools.”

22 – undated, “The School Program in Virginia under War Conditions.”

23 – undated, re: struggle against material forms of progress.

24 – undated, re: Thomas Jefferson on education.

25 – undated, “Thoughts on the Constitution of the United States.”

26 – undated, “Who Will Speak for Education?”

27 – undated, miscellaneous notes on Thomas Jefferson & Robert E. Lee,

28 – undated, notes regarding honor systems.

29 – undated, notes related to education.

30 – undated, notes for speeches and sermons.

31 – undated, miscellaneous notes.

32 – undated, “Jefferson’s First Plan for a System of Free Schools.” (margin notes by Dr. Lancaster.)

33 – undated, miscellaneous writings, unknown authors.

34 – undated, miscellaneous writings, miscellaneous authors.

   Box 4 of 7: Dabney S. Lancaster - Speeches & Sermons

35 – 1931, University of Alabama Centennial.

36 – 1931, “Student Life at University of Alabama, 1848-1851.”

37 – 1941, Virginia Education Association.

38 – 1942, Founders Day Address at Randolph-Macon.

39 – 1942, State Board of Education for Secondary Education.

40 – 1942, Virginia Education Association.

41 – 1943, Commencement Address at Randolph-Macon.

42 – 1944, Annual Conference of Division Superintendents.

43 – 1944, Annual Meeting of Farm Bureau, Richmond, VA.

44 – 1946, Sweet Briar College, Inauguration of President Lucas.

45 – 1947, Commencement Address, University of Richmond.

46 – 1948, “Citizenship,” Charlotte Court House.

47 – 1948, Commencement Address, State Teachers College, Farmville, VA.

48 – 1948, Union Building Directors, Roanoke, VA.

49 – 1950, Farmville High School.

50 – 1950, St. Paul’s Polytechnic, Inauguration of Dr. McClenney.

51 – 1952, “Noblesse Oblige,” Kappa Kappa Gamma Banquet.

52 – 1952, Address at Stratford.

   Box 5 of 7: Dabney S. Lancaster - Speeches & Sermons (cont.)

1 – 1954, Clifton Forge Schools.

2 – 1954, Fred M. Alexander Memorial Address.

3 – 1955, Address at Dedication of R.R. Moton High School, Farmville, VA.

4 – 1956, Commencement Address, Madison College.

5 – 1957, The Medical College of Virginia.

6 – 1957, Commencement Address, Radford College.

7 – 1957, Commencement Address, Southampton High School.

8 – 1958, Commencement Address, College of William and Mary.

9 – 1958, Commencement Address, Madison College.

10 – 1958, “On Virginia.”

11 – 1960, Commencement Address, Virginia Military Institute.

12 – 1961, 50th Anniversary of St. Christopher’s School (formerly Chamberlayne School), Richmond, VA.

13 – 1963, Annual Meeting of B.A.R.E.

14 – 1963, Easter Sermon, Sydnor’s Hill.

15 – 1967, regarding Virginia History.

16 – undated, Commencement Address, University of Alabama.

17 – undated, “What’s Next?” University of Alabama.

18 – undated, Covington Library Campaign.

19 – undated, District Vocational Association.

20 – undated, “Education for Leadership,” Alpha Kappa Gamma.

21 – undated, “Good Citizenship,” The Junior Chamber of Commerce.

22 – undated, Commencement Address, Longwood College.

23 – undated, “Women’s College of the Future,” Madison College. (In honor of retiring president, Dr. Samuel Page Duke).

24 – undated, Memorial for Carol Montgomery Newman.

25 – undated, “Noblesse Oblige,” St. Paul’s Polytechnic.

26 – undated, Phi Kappa Phi, Virginia Military Institute Chapter.

27 – undated, Commencement Address, Radford College.

28 – undated, Semi-Centennial Celebration, Radford College.

29 – undated, “The Rural Teacher in Virginia’s Changing Social Order.”

30 – undated, Tribute to Dr. Gandy.

31 – undated, “When Robert E. Lee…,” Washington & Lee College.

32 – undated, untitled sermon (pages missing).

33 – undated, untitled speech, notes.

34 – undated, Colonel T.C. McCorvey, re: the destruction of the University of Alabama in 1865.

   Box 5 of 7: Dabney S. Lancaster - Bulletins

52 – 1929, St. Paul’s Parish Register.

53 – 1931, bulletin, University of Alabama, Centennial Celebration.

54 – 1935, A Statement to Alabama Alumni from Birmingham Alumni Association.

55 – 1946, bulletin, State Teachers College. (2 copies)

56 – 1946, bulletin, State Teachers College, Alumni Issue.

57 – August 3, 1947, bulletin, Farmville Methodist Church.

58 – 1948, bulletin, State Teachers College.

59 – 1949, The Angelos of Kappa Delta.

60 – 1949, bulletin, State Teachers College.

61 – 1953, bulletin, Longwood College.

62 – 1975, bulletin, Longwood College.

   Box 6 of 7: Dabney S. Lancaster - Meetings & Conferences

1 – 1932, National Association of Deans and Advisors of Men, constitution.

2 – 1938, Association of Virginia Colleges, Annual Address.

3 – 1943, Conference of Division Superintendents, Report on Year’s Activities.

4 – 1955, Meeting Minutes, The Alumnae House Committee, Longwood College.

5 – 1956, State Council of Higher Education, Analysis & Proposals.

6 – 1958, Special Report of State Board of Education.

7 – 1958-1960, re: Madison College, capital outlay.

8 – 1959, Council for Higher Education, notes & calendar.

9 – 1959, Presidents’ Council, meeting minutes.

10 – 1959, Virginia Education Association, Conference on Teacher Education.

11 – 1959, Madison College, budget exhibit.

12 – 1959, State Council of Higher Education, agenda for council meetings:

                   March 20, 1959

                   April 13, 1959

                   June 15-16, 1959

                   July 7, 1959

13 – 1959, SCHEV meeting, Medical College of Virginia.

14 – 1959, State Council of Higher Education, Report of the Sub-committee.

15 – 1959-1960, Virginia Education Association, Education Policies Committee.

16 – 1960, Virginia State Council of Higher Education, Agenda & Utilization Study.

17 – 1960, State Affairs Committee, National Affairs Committee, Education Committee – Joint Meeting.

18 – 1963, Annual Conference of Secondary School Principals.

19 – undated, A Report to the Commission to Study Tuition Changes.

20 – undated, Policy Statement Governing Relations between State Board of Education and Institutions under its Control.

   Box 6 of 7: Dabney S. Lancaster - Press Releases

21 – 1955, press release, Longwood College, re: Dr. Lancaster’s retirement.

22 – 1960, press release, Virginia Military Institute, re: commencement address.

   Box 6 of 7: Dabney S. Lancaster - Personal & Biographical

23 – 1905-1906, Nolley’s School Catalogue.

24 – 1911-1912, Chamberlayne School, list of students.

25 – 1927, data from Dr. Lancaster’s talk.

26 – 1928, “Ingleside,” by Bessie Dunlap (Dabney Lancaster’s aunt).

27 – 1940(s), Dabney Lancaster, resume.

28 – 1941, Dabney Lancaster, Kappa Delta Pi membership card.

29 – 1944, Dabney Lancaster, hunting license.

30 – 1945, Dabney Lancaster, Certificate for Distinguished Services, War Finance Program.

31 – 1946, Dabney Lancaster, Certificate of Appointment as State Superintendent of Public Education.

32 – 1952, Civil Subpoena issued to Dr. Dabney S. Lancaster in Davis, et al v. Prince Edward County School Board.

33 – 1952, Dabney Lancaster, testimony in Davis, et al v. Prince Edward County School Board.

34 – 1955-1956, re: The Dabney S. Lancaster Scholarship Fund.

35 – 1956, re: presentation in memory of Professor Paul H. Carrington Lancaster to Johns Hopkins Library.

36 – 1959, “Dabney’s Pets” and “My Recollections of Wallawhatoola.”

37 – 1965, William C. Lancaster, obituary, New York Times.

38 – 1967, “Dabney Lancaster, Educator” by Roy C. Petty.

39 – 1970, Reminiscences of Dabney S. Lancaster.

40 – undated, The Dabney’s of Virginia Association (membership information and bulletin).

41 – undated, re: Dabney family history.

42 – undated, “The John Blair Dabney Manuscript, 1795-1868”

43 – undated, memo from President Denny re: Dr. Lancaster, leave of absence from Sweet Briar College.

   Box 6 of 7: Dabney S. Lancaster - Miscellaneous

44 – 1889, “The Cost and Outcome of Negro Education in Virginia.” (copy) (original moved into special collections)

45 – 1926, Bishop Wormley, Lines Dedicated to Members of the New York Municipal Bureau of Research.

46 – 1940, Governor James H. Price, message delivered to General Assembly.

47 – 1944, membership list of the Torch Club, Richmond, VA.

48 – 1944, “The School Aid Question,” editorial published in Charlottesville Daily Progress.

49 – 1955, “History of Longwood,” by Meade L. Shackleford, The Ironworker, Autumn 1955.

50 – 1957, note received from I.R.S. by Dr. Lankford re: his tax return.

51 – 1960(s), Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia, Lay Reader’s Licenses.

52 – 1962-1963, yearbook, The Woman’s Club, Clifton Forge, VA.

53 – undated, brochure and booklet, NYU, The Hall of Fame for Great Americans.

54 – undated, Vocational Guidance Book List.

55 – undated, Proposed Resolutions, unreferenced.

56 – undated, business card, Murat Willis Williams, Ambassador to El Salvador.

57 – undated, business card, A.S. Harrison, Jr., Virginia Senate.

58 – undated, lithograph postcards of Farmville, VA & Longwood area places.

   Box 7 of 7: Dabney S. Lancaster - Family Tree & Oversize Items

1 – Board of Visitors

        1968-1972, Certificate of Appointment, Board of Visitors, Madison College.

        1945-1947, Certificate of Appointment, Board of Visitors, Medical College of Virginia.

        1945-1947, Certificate of Appointment, Board of Visitors, Virginia Military Institute.

        1945-1947, Certificate of Appointment, Board of Visitors, Virginia Polytechnic Institute.

2 – Virginia State Board Appointments

         1941, Certificate of Appointment, Virginia State Planning Board.

         1942, Certificate of Appointment, Virginia Advisory Standardization Board.

         1942, Certificate of Appointment, Virginia State Planning Board.

         1944, Certificate of Appointment, Commission on Surplus Federal Property Which May Become Available for State Use.

3 – Virginia State Council on Higher Education

         1927, Certificate of Appointment, Delegation to the Conference on Higher Education.

         1956, Oath, State Council on Higher Education.

         1956-1960, Certificate of Appointment, State Council on Higher Education.

         1960-1964, Certificate of Appointment, State Council on Higher Education.

         1964, Resolution re: retirement of Dabney Lancaster from State Council on Higher Education.

4 – University of Virginia

         1961, Thomas Jefferson Society of Alumni membership certificate.

5 – Madison College

        1972, Recognition from Madison College as outgoing member, Board of Visitors.

6 – Virginia Education Association

        1945, Distinguished Service Award.

        1969, Distinguished Service Award.

7 – undated. Family Tree.

   Photographs

Binder #7:

      026.001 – Gulf States Paper Corp.. Tuscaloosa, AL. Deer Hunt – 1947

          (L to R) Wagner Phielens, Frank Parham, Dabney Lancaster, Harvey Searcy.

     026.002 – group photo. Reverse reads “P.B. Buck, October 11, 1969.”

     026.003 – unidentified landscape.

     026.004-026.005 – unidentified home.

     026.006 – unidentified woman seated at desk.

     026.007 – unidentified yard/garden.

     026.008-026.009 – unidentified landscape.

     026.010 – postcard. View from Fort Clinton.

     026.011 – unidentified group of men. (Dabney Lancaster, far right)

     026.012 – University of Virginia. Class of 1911, 50th Reunion. (Dabney Lancaster, top row, middle)

     026.013 – Dabney Lancaster at Virginia State Capitol Rotunda.

                           Model General Assembly Session. April 9-10, 1948.

     026.014 – Dabney Lancaster at Virginia State Capitol Rotunda.

                          Model General Assembly Session. April 9-10, 1948.

     026.015 – unidentified group of men. (photograph is extremely damaged)

Box 7 of 7:

     026.116 – Architectural rendering of Lancaster Library, Longwood College.

     026.117 – University of Alabama, Faculty & Student Body, 1929. (long format panoramic photo, extremely curled)

Download/Print Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives